We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Value"”
Review of Gregory House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gregory House
Ranked #11 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Located on a residential street within walking distance to the Salamanca district which is a major tourist area for restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Gregory House is also one block from Sandy Bay Road which has many local shops and eateries. The rooms are good size and very clean. Beds very comfortable, nice bathroom, TV, central lounge room and dining area. The continental breakfast was over the top as far as continental breakfasts go. Vera was there to set up with choices of cereal, fresh fruit salad, yogurt, assortment of breads, juice and coffee. Meeting Vera was a highlight. She was kind, efficient and informative. We will stay there again when in Hobart.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baldur13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gregory House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Sedona,

Thank you for your great review of Gregory House following your recent stay with us. I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your kind words about our host, Vera, and please be assured your praise has been passed on. We are lucky to have Vera at Gregory House as she takes such pride in perfectly presenting the property and really looking after all our guests.

We do hope to welcome you back to Gregory House again, and until then happy travels.

Kind regards,

Kat and the Gregory House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Gregory house was a nice surprise! From the outside it doesn't strike you as something large but has a lovely cottage feeling to it. We stayed in a twin room. The room was spacious, the mattresses and bedding excellent! The room is also well equipped and clean. The bathroom is not large but fits in well with the architecture of the house and the shower was big enough.

Lovely breakfasts, plenty of fruit salad and choices of morning drinks. The chocolate and port is a nice touch!

Supermarket is only around the corner with cheap eateries on sandy Bay Rd, Salamanca and Battery Point are 10-15 minutes walk away. We stayed 2 nights and found Gregory House to be very comfortable and Vera helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Viktoria2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gregory House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Viktoria,

Thank you for your lovely review of Gregory House. I'm thrilled your enjoyed your stay! Yes, Gregory House can be deceiving from the outside - a gorgeous heritage cottage yet inside is a sleek, modern retreat. We are so well located, right in the heart of the Sandy Bay village with lots of shops and eateries nearby.

Thank you again for sharing your impressions with the TripAdvisor community and we do look forward to welcoming you back to Gregory House again.

Kind regards,

Kat and the Gregory House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Gregory House was perfect for our stay in Hobart. Ideally located within easy walk of most things whilst still in quiet suburban street. Staff were lovely and went out of their way to help us arrange stuff. Rooms were immaculate, continental breakfast was perfect (especially the homemade jam!)

Room Tip: Only six rooms and from what we saw they were all great. No lifts, rowdy crowds, pubs outside or any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gregory House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Craig,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Gregory House. It was great to read you enjoyed your stay! We are so well located, right the heart of the Sandy Bay village, yet in a very quiet street. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and please be assured that your praise has been passed on.

I couldn't agree with you more - with only 6 rooms we offer a quiet retreat with lots of privacy. I'm so pleased you had an enjoyable stay, and we do look forward to welcoming you back to Gregory House.

Kind regards,

Kat and the Gregory House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Gregory House is a pretty weatherboard cottage that has undergone a high-gloss modern makeover. Our room (#3) was a good size and the bed very comfortable. Gregory House has a group dining table occupying part of the excellent guest lounge. The free wi-fi was a bit flaky but the advice provided by Vera, our very friendly Red Awnings Group host, was excellent.
Sandy Bay was the ideal location to base ourself in Hobart for 4 nights. An easy 15 minute walk got us to Salamanca Place, the ferry wharves or the city centre. We at fish & chips, pizza and Indian at local Sandy Bay restaurants and all were friendly, good value options.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ijenkins99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gregory House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear ijenkins99,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of Gregory House with the TripAdvisor community. It was lovely to read you enjoyed your stay with us! We are very proud of Gregory House and it's great that we have the opportunity to share this wonderful heritage property with our guests. Thank you for your kind words about our host, Vera. Vera works so hard to ensure that the property is perfectly presented and all our guests are well looked after.

Thank you again for your great review, and we do look forward to welcoming you back to Gregory House again. Until then, happy travels.

Kind regards,

Kat and the Red Awnings team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Really nice place to stay. Simple, clean & comfortable. Staff were great, giving suggestions on places to go or his to get around. Nice lounge area to relax in with a free port and chocolate. A good way to finish the evening. Breakfast was good with home made poached pears. Rooms were smallish and the ensuite tiny. Good location - a 20 minute walk to the docks

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gregory House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Mike,

Thank you for your review of Gregory House; our very first TripAdvisor review since we took over and renovated this beautiful bed and breakfast! I was so glad to read you enjoyed your stay. I absolutely agree with you; we've a fantastic location and the rooms are all newly renovated. Being a colonial property the ensuites are not the largest around, however they are really well appointed and clean. I'm so pleased you enjoyed the complimentary Tasmanian fudge and port in the lounge room!

Thank you again for taking the time to write about your impressions and we do hope to welcome you back to Gregory House again in the future.

Kind regards,

Kat and the Gregory House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Takayuki73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KNSkobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Clydesdale Manor
Clydesdale Manor
#22 of 47 in Hobart
277 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.2 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation
0.5 mi away
Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Battery Point Manor
Battery Point Manor
#10 of 28 in Hobart
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gregory House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gregory House

Address: 24 Gregory St, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range: £74 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gregory House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gregory House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gregory House Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing