We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just perfect in Hobart”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Astor Private Hotel
Ranked #1 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“just perfect in Hobart”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

we stayed three night at "Tildy's castle" in Hobart. The hotel is in easy walking distance to all city attraction in Hobart, especially Salamanca market. Tildy is a great host and gives you all sort of advices about what to do in Hobart. The only thing you have to know is that there are no free parking spaces around the hotel. Just in case you want to hire a car. The hotel has a free Wifi. The room was huge (Queen room en suite) and clean. It was just a perfect stay and definetely a very good price for the value. We can recommend that!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristianW25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    78
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
120
57
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Wonderful, warm and welcoming. This is Tildy - will bend over backwards for you (while calling it as she sees it!). Organise postage of items unable to be carried on board our flight - cheese knives etc. Will give recommendations of the best places to see, do and when. Accommodation has been maintained to the era in which it was built, but added comfort of the latest beds and modern (ensuite) bathrooms. Neat and tidy with loads of character. Have a read of newspapers from the 30s sitting in big old couches. Simple breakfast (cereal, toast etc), but that leaves you to explore the wonderful cuisines of Hobart. Close to everything - docks, markets and city centre. Brilliant!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAJS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney (formerly Redditch, UK)
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stopped at the Astor on what turned out to be the coldest wettest November weekend in Hobart since the settlers arrived!!! This was not ideal when considering the main reason for being in Hobart was to watch the Australia A v England cricket match!!!!
The hotel is well located, right in the centre of Hobart close to Salamanca and the seafront. It has character and was very clean and tidy. Tildy was welcoming, helpful and friendly (but to the point!!!) which makes a change from some of these global hotel chains!!!!

Room Tip: We went for rooms with a shower in, probably not necessary as there are plenty of showers out in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whiteensign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
227 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My daughter did the research and found this in minutes on Trip Advisor. You need to be the type that can handle shared bathroom facilities, which somehow works, since I never saw anyone else using the bathrooms or toilets. The key to this place is the lady who runs it - I think her name is Tildey. She is straight off the theatre stage. Larger than life and a hoot with all her Australianisms, some I have not heard since I was a kid. She told me "I am about as oudoor as a chandelier". The rooms are spartan but all you need. Pricing is therefore on the low side and great value, since it includes a light reakfats. The other guests I saw looked like high earners so the reason they are there isn't price. Tildey told me they even have regulars from overseas. The restaurant in the hotel is very good, location is about as good as you can get with plenty of parking. Tildey has an eye for errant cheese buyers like me and quickly re-packed my Tassie cheeses (a must try!!) for the refrigerator. I think for foreign guests you would count a stay here as some of the best accommodation experiences you will ever have in Australia. Ask her a hard question and expect a detailed response, with jokes. Some of the rooms are on the road near some noisy bars, so you might ask for a quiet room.

Room Tip: Rooms along the side road will be subject to some noise from a nearby bar or night club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mister8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Astor is a wonderful, quirky, comfortable shoe (with the emphasis being on comfort). It is owned and managed by the larger-than-life, effervescent, incredible Tildy, who immediately makes you feel at home in the fashion of a big sister or zany Aunt.
The Astor is not just a place to stay, its an experience! We would never stay anywhere else whilst in Hobart, and would recommend the Astor to anyone. It is a must-do on any Tassie holiday!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisanJethro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed at the Astor mid-week, an really enjoyed our stay. We arrived late, and it was no problem for the lovely and charming hostess, Tildy. She made us feel at home, had a great chat with us and then we headed to our room (via the old style lift...fantastic!!! The best sober ride in Hobart for under ten bucks!) The room was lovely, comfy queen bed, fantastic day bed, nice bathroom, and most definitely value for money in the middle of Hobart. We spent two nights, an will most certainly stay here again on our next visit. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weclom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We arrived on a Thursday night and were greeted by Tildy who I immediately loved! She is warm friendly and so accomodating. Tildy took us and showed us two rooms to choose from as the bigger suites were available 2 days later. We chose the second room (both were lovely) because the bed was bigger and my bf is 6"3. The room was charming and full of character with lovely basin inside the room and the shower and toilet just a step away outside the door. We had a great sleep there for 2 nights the bed was so comfy. We got engaged in Hobart on our second night and we came back to the hotel and shared the news with Tildy who was over the moon for us and even gave me a flashing mood ring to celebrate! The next night we upgraded to the suite which was 5 times bigger than our original room and just beautiful. Had a tv with dvd (tildy even lend us dvds to watch ) and a large bathroom and gorgeous bed. We stayed for 3 more nights in this room, and loved every minute. I even went downstairs and chatted to Tildy for around 40 minutes about engagement rings :) Breakfast was simple but lovely - toast and fruit and cereals as well as juice and hot drinks (exactly what we have every morning ) I want EVERYONE to visit the Astor Private Hotel - it made our experience in Hobart superior and I am reccommending my parents and my bf's parents all to stay here as well as any newcomer or regular vistor to Tassie. It was our first trip and I am definitely staying there again if we go back to Hobart. I even asked Tildy to come to our wedding! Highly recommmend and cannot speak highly enough of the service and the hotel - absolutely charming in every regard! Love ya Tildy xxxxx

Room Tip: all rooms are great but the suite is gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellegirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#6 of 48 in Hobart
657 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
505 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 48 in Hobart
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Private Hotel

Property: Astor Private Hotel
Address: 157 Macquarie St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Astor Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Astor Private
Astor Private Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing