We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Astor Private Hotel
Ranked #1 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed 3 nights as soon as you walk in the front door your senses are excited, beautiful scent fills this hotel. Tildy is very welcolming and helpful. Rooms are basic but very clean and with comfy beds. We had breakfast every morning consisting of cereal, toast, stewed fruit, tea, coffee and orange juice which you serve yourself. Great central location. Would definetly stay here again. Thanks Tildy for you hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

The misses and I stayed at the Astor, the Henry Jones, Grand Vue and The Elms. We wanted variation in area, budget, and atmosphere so we spent 2 days in each on our 8 day trip to Hobart. We really enjoyed all 4 accommodations and the Astor surprised us most. We had read reviews both here and in Lonely Planet but were still pleasantly surprised at how fresh and clean the Astor was.It was by far the least expensive yet easily competes due to both its character and personalised management style. Tildy is good at what she does, she puts you at ease and then runs her hotel efficiently and professionally while at all times maintaining a warm human approach.

Room Tip: We had a corner room ensuite, lots of natural light, big windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sticky d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Astor for a night and were warmly welcomed to an extremely clean hotel, with a lovely room and a super comfortable bed. It was so close to town and very homely. Thanks Tildy for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed at the Astor for a few nights having completed the Sydney-Hobart race this year. The accommodation was warm, comfortable and clean - and a welcome rest after the race. Tildy (the manager) was brilliant and made me feel very welcome. The hotel was great value and exactly what I expected from the website. Close to downtown and 5-10 minutes from the marina. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Most rooms do not have en suite - you need to ask for these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johners26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Astor Private Hotel for a night in January and then returned for a few nights after an adventure in Cygnet. This was our second stay at the Astor and it lived up to our memories. We were in a double room with a shower (No toilet). The bed was ridiculously comfortable, there was a simple breakfast every day and the shared toilets were always available and well kept. Tildy is a gem. She's funny and chatty with a keen awareness of her guests' needs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackandjill83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed at the Astor Hotel last weekend for two nights and enjoyed our time there. The hotel decor is old and charming with a warm and friendly atmosphere. Tildy at the front desk was bubbly and helpful. The rooms are basic but have all that you need. The bathroom facilities are shared but they were very clean; we didn't see any other guests using the bathrooms during our stay so it wasn't an issue. The continental breakfast was sufficient with coffee/tea, toast and cereals. The best thing about the Astor is the location, within walking distance to pretty much everything which we thought was great value considering the low cost per night to stay here compared with others close by. We had no issues with parking and found a free spot right out the front. We will definitely be back to stay at the Astor and would recommend it to anyone. Loved Hobart so much, a great little city!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crawfento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed 2 nights at the Astor, & found it fine as a quirky old style private hotel.
Rooms are plain & clean, with no ensuite. Floorboards are creaky, so there's no sneaking about! (Lol)
Breakfast in the dining room was simple but more than adequate. Service very friendly, & handy City location.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
Thank Philip_Pollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
739 reviews
0.5 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Hobart
Ibis Styles Hobart
#18 of 47 in Hobart
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Private Hotel

Address: 157 Macquarie St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range: £62 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Astor Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Astor Private
Astor Private Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing