We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent atmosphere, service, location and value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astor Private Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Astor Private Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hobart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lakes Entrance, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent atmosphere, service, location and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

A great place to stay close to CBD and the Salamanca place Constitution Dock area. We thoroughly enjoyed the quaint ambiance of this old style Private Hotel with special features including a separate lounge area and old style lift. The manageress Tildy is especially helpful and accommodating of requests and provides great company to the many travellers passing through the doors. Rooms are clean and have comfortable beds. We loved the inviting dining room for our simple but friendly breakfast every morning. We even gleaned the latest fishing advice from Tildy which was very accurate. Highly recommend this treasure.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    77
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
120
55
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

This place was awesome with its beautifully decorated quaint rooms, excellent location and most importantly Tildy! Tildy the owner is really such an unique person - one can easily spend an hour talking to her! We enjoyed our stay thoroughly, with all our needs being met at a very affordable price.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_R333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverstone, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed 3 nights as soon as you walk in the front door your senses are excited, beautiful scent fills this hotel. Tildy is very welcolming and helpful. Rooms are basic but very clean and with comfy beds. We had breakfast every morning consisting of cereal, toast, stewed fruit, tea, coffee and orange juice which you serve yourself. Great central location. Would definetly stay here again. Thanks Tildy for you hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

The misses and I stayed at the Astor, the Henry Jones, Grand Vue and The Elms. We wanted variation in area, budget, and atmosphere so we spent 2 days in each on our 8 day trip to Hobart. We really enjoyed all 4 accommodations and the Astor surprised us most. We had read reviews both here and in Lonely Planet but were still pleasantly surprised at how fresh and clean the Astor was.It was by far the least expensive yet easily competes due to both its character and personalised management style. Tildy is good at what she does, she puts you at ease and then runs her hotel efficiently and professionally while at all times maintaining a warm human approach.

Room Tip: We had a corner room ensuite, lots of natural light, big windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sticky d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Astor for a night and were warmly welcomed to an extremely clean hotel, with a lovely room and a super comfortable bed. It was so close to town and very homely. Thanks Tildy for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed at the Astor for a few nights having completed the Sydney-Hobart race this year. The accommodation was warm, comfortable and clean - and a welcome rest after the race. Tildy (the manager) was brilliant and made me feel very welcome. The hotel was great value and exactly what I expected from the website. Close to downtown and 5-10 minutes from the marina. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Most rooms do not have en suite - you need to ask for these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johners26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Astor Private Hotel for a night in January and then returned for a few nights after an adventure in Cygnet. This was our second stay at the Astor and it lived up to our memories. We were in a double room with a shower (No toilet). The bed was ridiculously comfortable, there was a simple breakfast every day and the shared toilets were always available and well kept. Tildy is a gem. She's funny and chatty with a keen awareness of her guests' needs.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackandjill83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Private Hotel

Property: Astor Private Hotel
Address: 157 Macquarie St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Astor Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Astor Private
Astor Private Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing