We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable and Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Astor Private Hotel
Ranked #1 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Affordable and Convenient location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We got a nice cosy hotel room. There are plenty of bathroom in the corridor if you are not staying in a room with a bathroom.

The owner of the hotel, Tildy was really friendly and provided good recommendations on where to go and what to eat.

The hotel is located near salamanca market, which is just 2 streets down!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wxjxjxj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    77
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
120
55
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I booked on recommendation from this forum and very pleased I did. Tildy the manager greeted me like an old friend upgrading my room to one with a shower for only a small increase
.
Centrally located walking distance to the best Hobart landmarks.. The Astor is ideal for those who like to be in the centre of things.
Continental breakfast of toast cereal fruit and juice included in the reasonable tariff.

Built in 1921 it has retained many original features in keeping with the character of Hobart Clean cosy and quiet it offers outstanding accommodation at a budget price.
It is my first choice for next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north get the winter sun which in Hobart is a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Very old hotel but well maintsined and very clean. very nice atmospher. We booked as TripAdvisor rated high and it didn't fail.
bath rpom is shared and may result some people nit attracive. But we didn't have any problem and very clean. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I really enjoyed my stay in this very particular, at times even a bit peculiar place.
This old-fashioned, a bit antiquated hotel radiates with good vibe, it is full of old furniture and various little decorative objects, it is very centrally and conveniently located right in the centre of Hobart close to the waterfront, Salamanca market, restaurants, everything.
It is immaculately managed by Tildy who takes care of it as it it were her own little kingdom.
If you want to experience something special, something different to all those contemporary, more-of-the-same-stuff hotels, this is a place for you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakes Entrance, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

A great place to stay close to CBD and the Salamanca place Constitution Dock area. We thoroughly enjoyed the quaint ambiance of this old style Private Hotel with special features including a separate lounge area and old style lift. The manageress Tildy is especially helpful and accommodating of requests and provides great company to the many travellers passing through the doors. Rooms are clean and have comfortable beds. We loved the inviting dining room for our simple but friendly breakfast every morning. We even gleaned the latest fishing advice from Tildy which was very accurate. Highly recommend this treasure.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

This place was awesome with its beautifully decorated quaint rooms, excellent location and most importantly Tildy! Tildy the owner is really such an unique person - one can easily spend an hour talking to her! We enjoyed our stay thoroughly, with all our needs being met at a very affordable price.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_R333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverstone, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed 3 nights as soon as you walk in the front door your senses are excited, beautiful scent fills this hotel. Tildy is very welcolming and helpful. Rooms are basic but very clean and with comfy beds. We had breakfast every morning consisting of cereal, toast, stewed fruit, tea, coffee and orange juice which you serve yourself. Great central location. Would definetly stay here again. Thanks Tildy for you hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Private Hotel

Property: Astor Private Hotel
Address: 157 Macquarie St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Astor Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Astor Private
Astor Private Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing