We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault a thing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Astor Private Hotel
Ranked #1 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can't fault a thing”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights with a group of 8 friends from Melbourne. From the time we walked in the front door we were made to feel like old friends in for a visit. The most charming and friendly staff, beautiful rooms and delightful breakfast room. Rooms are sparkling clean and plenty of comfy furniture. Our room had everything we needed including Wi-Fi, coffee and tea facilities, fridge, TV and large sitting area. Bathroom is spacious and gorgeous. I would highly recommend a stay in this wonderful hotel if you get the chance.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Merrilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    78
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
120
57
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

From the moment we stepped into the Astor, I knew we had made a good accommodation choice. We have always preferred a smaller, personal hotel and this was the best! Location, beds, breakfast and of course Tildy's vibrant and welcoming manner, make this the pick for hotel accommodation in Hobart. Can't recommend this place highly enough!

Room Tip: We had a double room with en suite - recently refurbished and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Welcoming, friendly, spotlessly clean. Tildie is a gem, great humour a unique personality and so suited to this business. She is The Astor. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else when in Hobart.
Have recommended to friends who normally look for 5 star with return comments What a great place to stay

Room Tip: Request an ensuite early in booking process. Rooms overlooking the side street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillianmarcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
150 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

After reading reviews on Trip Advisor we booked into the Astor Private Hotel this visit, previous visits it's been a self service apartment, fancy hotel, but from now on it will always by the Astor.
It is lovely from the moment you walk in, Tildy is amazing, just love having conversations with her. Our room was huge, we opted for an ensuite and we could swing half a dozen cats no prob. It is extremely clean, comfy and beautifully decorated. There is a bar fridge, jug, tea and coffee, heated towel rack in the bathroom, hairdryer, all up a great bathroom, plus TV - which we have been too busy too turn on even, lovely flowers, and breakfast included. For the value it just can't be beaten. Also a room heater, essential in winter. We can totally recommend the Astor, also it's very conveniently located, 10 mins max walk to Salamanca markets or the MONA ferry.

Room Tip: Room 34 was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acutlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Tildy the manager was really friendly and nice, she really likes singapore noodles i think. You can ask her what attractions to go for and she will gladly help you!

We stayed in a double room on level 2 without an attached bathroom but with an attached sink. The room was spacious and clean. The bathrooms and toilets were right outside our room (it was shared). You never really had to worry about getting a empty bathroom or toilet.

The hotel is centrally located, just within walking distance of salamanca market (1 or 2 streets down). The hotel has a few parking lots for your rental car if you did rent.
The hotel also has a very old school lift, really cool!

Very value for money for it's location, friendly manager and room!

Room Tip: Even if you do not get a attached bathroom, it is still okay. do not worry about the toilets being o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoongwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We got a nice cosy hotel room. There are plenty of bathroom in the corridor if you are not staying in a room with a bathroom.

The owner of the hotel, Tildy was really friendly and provided good recommendations on where to go and what to eat.

The hotel is located near salamanca market, which is just 2 streets down!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wxjxjxj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I booked on recommendation from this forum and very pleased I did. Tildy the manager greeted me like an old friend upgrading my room to one with a shower for only a small increase
.
Centrally located walking distance to the best Hobart landmarks.. The Astor is ideal for those who like to be in the centre of things.
Continental breakfast of toast cereal fruit and juice included in the reasonable tariff.

Built in 1921 it has retained many original features in keeping with the character of Hobart Clean cosy and quiet it offers outstanding accommodation at a budget price.
It is my first choice for next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north get the winter sun which in Hobart is a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#6 of 48 in Hobart
657 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 48 in Hobart
1,207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Private Hotel

Property: Astor Private Hotel
Address: 157 Macquarie St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Astor Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Astor Private
Astor Private Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing