We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oh dear”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I recently had a 4 night stay in this hotel. It was a very mixed bag. Firstly the staff were excellent, lots a friendly people who multi tasked and did things very well. Cheers to Debra! The position of the hotel is excellent , just a 15 minute, pleasant walk to the Salamanca area, and that is if you are dawdling. The breakfast is very good quality, and the eggs were very well cooked and presented every morning. Unfortunately the area is only staffed by one, yes one staff member. There was one day, Saturday, and it was standing room only, with one lady serving. She is an excellent worker, bur it is an abuse of the staff and the guest to expect this to work for anyone. The hotel needs to boost staff according to the day of the week. The room was as expected for a small hotel. Bony mattress, blankets I could see through, and the satin edge of the blanket was just hanging off in long loops of ribbon. A pair of undies were dropped outside the lift, and even after I had told management twice, they were still there when we left , 24 hours after first notifying staff. Toilet paper which was run out in my room wasnt replaced, and there was no spare roll left either. My hire car was damaged in the hotel car park, but there are no cameras to catch action in the main carpark, just the entrance. So if you are prepared to have a warm room, good tv, no wi fi, good breakfast, but can cope with the downside, then this is for you. The staff again, were excellent, probably let down by management trying to squeeze staff, though they have a full house.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 65mustangsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

Spent three night at this hotel on the start of out Tasmanian holiday,great location for out needs, the reception team were very friendly and helpfull I consider this Hotel very good value for money and the meal in the restaurant we had one evening was an example of good old fashion cooking. The only complaint was the Hobart city street sweeper would wake us up at 6am every morning I suppose it's a small price for clean streets.

Room Tip: Book a room away from the main streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We decide not having the kids for the night to book into the spa room. got into our room around 9:30 curtains still open and room cold. Decided to turn the heater on. after myself trying and then husband trying I rang reception to be told have the hotels heating was down and if i wanted an extra blanket I could come and get one. Room was nice but not a great experience. Staff not very helpful or friendly and dont try and get in contact with GM as calls or emails are not returned!

Room Tip: before booking check if the heating is working as half the hotel heating is down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank romack47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Spent one night at the hotel for business.
Plenty of parking.
The reception team was pleasant and checked me very quickly.
The rooms are a little dated but it was suitable for what I needed.
Just a bit small.
The location was fabulous, close to all areas of Hobart.
You pay for what you get and for less than $100 I was satisfied.
There are a number of restaurants within a short walk.
Remember, many restaurants in Hobart are closed on Mondays.
There is a restaurant downstairs that can offer you the basics for breakfast or dinner.
Can charge to the room.
Overall, it was fine for somewhere to sleep for the night.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mork001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Paid $110 for a queen room for one night. Location was great right in the centre as the name suggested. Property has free parking plenty of spaces but you have to get in early as you may miss out. Room was clean and jut the right size for 2 of us. Bed was one of the worst i have slept in - althought this could be a mstter of opinion i found it to be quiet hard, but was a good size. The Lady this morning at check out was nice and friendly . But the 2 males on night duty were rude, and did not aknowledge us we came and went. We were on the 4th floor and did not have any outdoor noise, however inside the hotel the walls are thin!!

Overall a nice budget place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuckMuck15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Rooms are outdated and can be noisy: it's not so much the traffic but the guiding sounds from the pedestrian crossing - there's this beeping sound every time it's green. Our fellow travellers resorted to turning the A/C on in order to not hear the noise... Otherwise the rooms look and feel old, and it's good to keep the windows open occasionally or use the A/C as the indoor air is anything but fresh. We stayed for a week and were a little unhappy with the cleaning: some days the room was not cleaned and when it was not even the bed was properly made.

You can easily walk everywhere from the location, however going for a second time I'd choose a place closer to the sea.

Room Tip: Higher floor & away from the pedestrian crossing (towards Criterion street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We spent one night at the Quality Hotel. It cost $132 for a very small basic room. We had planned to spend 2 nights but decided to find another hotel as we could get a similar sized room at a hotel a few blocks over at a better price. Location and service were good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srikantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
1,261 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Rydges Hotel Hobart
#29 of 47 in Hobart
768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Hobart
Central Hotel Hobart
#35 of 47 in Hobart
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hobart
Best Western Hobart
#23 of 47 in Hobart
861 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Balmoral Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity

Address: Cnr. Elizabeth & Bathurst Streets, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range: £64 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing