We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
Ranked #43 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Convenient”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Biggest attraction of this hotel is its location which as the name suggests is centrally located. It provides clean and comfortable digs with helpful and efficient reception and service. Good choice of rooms and I have stayed in several and they are all clean and well maintained.It has its own cafe and we ate there on our last visit and the food was fresh and tasty. Parking is convenient around the back of the hotel and in a secure car park which is good. An ideal business hotel with reasonable rates and in walking distance of most things central Hobart. Recommended.

Room Tip: Try one of the spa rooms on top level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonrock1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    90
    97
    49
    28
See reviews for
43
114
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The location is great, the room was clean. The food was like yesterday's leftovers. It was so bad I complained but still got charged. It's a great old 1970s style hotel with a great location for business however i wasn't impressed.

Room Tip: There are many great restaurants in Hobart. Skip the in house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The rooms are good value for money, the location is central, close to the shops and a nice walk to the harbour. However our room was located beside the lift, which didn't stop all night, these lifts were extremely noisy, when we complained to reception they didn't offer an alternative room or any discount to make up for the lack of sleep, if I was staying here again I would make sure to get a room as far away from the lifts as possible

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillia97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel is in a great central location, just up the road from the Salamanca Markets. It is a bit older but it was clean and had all the amenities - tea & coffee facilities, bathtub and a great view.
But we stayed there in the middle of winter and the heating was not up to scratch. There was a reverse cycle air conditioner in the room but it was old, noisy and smelly. We didn't use it because it smelled so bad and it didn't heat the place anyway. There was only a thin blanket on the bed which was nowhere near warm enough and the electric blanket on the mattress was broken so it would only heat on high. As a result; when we were sleeping we were freezing on top and boiling hot underneath! We both had a horrible nights sleep and I caught a cold.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildArrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Eliza, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Spent one night here on a recent business trip. I had low expectations of this place based on other reviews and only chose it because it was the closest hotel to where I was working. My expectations were met.

It's not a terrible hotel but it's just generally a bit grungy and unloved. There are many better options in Hobart for a similar price.

WiFi is not included in the room tariff but you can get it for free if you sign up to the Quality chain's mailing list, which you can do at the front desk. I wouldn't bother though - I couldn't connect to it at all while I was there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pumbelchook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights, the place was clean and adequate. I was with an elderly lady and she had a single bed and I had the double both were warm and comfortable.
The room clean up was not wonderful they basically threw the covers over on the bed, didnt refill the tea and coffee and the bathroom towels were not replaced.
It was well positioned and an easy walk to everywhere in Hobart, a great pub across the road for dinner.

Room Tip: The hotel is quite close to the traffic lights and the corner, so a room on higher floors would be b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Right in the city so you can basically walk anywhere. Salamanca is a 15min walk away. Basic rooms but the price was good and it was all we needed. Breakfast downstairs was good and the waitress was lovely!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leiblokker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Hobart
Central Hotel Hobart
#36 of 48 in Hobart
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#18 of 48 in Hobart
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hobart
Best Western Hobart
#22 of 48 in Hobart
746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#6 of 48 in Hobart
1,216 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Rydges Hotel Hobart
#33 of 48 in Hobart
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity

Property: Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
Address: Cnr. Elizabeth & Bathurst Streets, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing