We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stop in Hobart”
Review of Clydesdale Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clydesdale Manor
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Rooms were great and the breakfast was continental. Wayne and Lynne were very helpful and friendly. Location was a little way from Salamanca and the city centre but ok for walking about 10 mins. Closest yacht club was just down the road. Club type but quite nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

We booked the 'Garden Spa with Terrace' for $260 per night for two nights - $520. Disappointingly, we have to comment, the room was quite average with the tarrif at a premium. The en suite with spa bath was well appointed although the spa was very deep and difficult to get in and out of. The bedroom furniture lacked harmony, appearing somewhat eclectic. The terrace was a basic arrangement and not particularly inviting. Whilst the sitting room and entrance areas were beautifully furnished and therefore made a great first impression; the breakfast room, let alone our own personal accommodation, was a considerable let down.Breakfast was not included - the menu was very limited (minimum $20) and the requested fried eggs were grudgingly prepared, arriving at the table with the cook's comment "I have never done fried eggs before!"
We note the number of awards granted to Clydesdale Manor - we find ourselves somewhat bemused.
Value for money? No, we could have done better.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We had 3 nights as the guests of Wayne & Lynne for my wife's 50th birthday. From the moment I contacted them by email, through the booking process, restaurant recommendations pre trip, arrival and then actually staying there all I can say is that the whole experience was exactly what you would hope for - Excellent & Outstanding. Really once you meet them you understand why ... they are sincere and wonderful hosts. The accommodation is great as is the exquisite breakfast but Waybe & Lynne are the big difference. Probably not something that you'll understand until you get there ... but just make sure you do.

Like everything in life it's not the cost but the value ... and this place is outstanding value. We won't look anywhere else when next visiting the beautiful city of Hobart. Thanks so much guys !!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank The_Hills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My wife and I stayed at Clydesdale Manor for 5 nights during our recent visit to Tasmania. We stayed in a ground floor room, which was nicely furnished. The accommodation was a very pleasant 20-30 minute walk from Hobart city centre and the waterfront. Whilst we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we did feel that the accommodation was somewhat pricey when compared with other similar accommodation we stayed at during our stay, particularly as breakfast was not include in the tarrif.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Scorpian87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My partner and I stayed one night at Clydesdale Manor based on recent reviews on Trip Advisor and as it was located conveniently for us between the location of a friend we were visiting and also the centre of Hobart. We opted for a first floor room, which I'm glad we did, as some of the ground floor rooms were located next to reception and alongside the parking. The property is beautiful and tastefully decorated throughout. For the room, the bed was comfortable, television had perfect reception and it was very clean. My only concern was that there was no air-conditioning should it be very hot, however there was a fan available for use. Breakfast was delicious - we had yoghurt with fresh berries and spiced honey syrup, bircher muesli and also took advantage of the other breakfast items such as toast and preserves. It is clear that Lynne and Wayne take a lot of pride in what they do and would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: An upstairs room is best, as all downstairs rooms will be close to reception, drawing room or car pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angiepants83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We chose this charming little hotel because of Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. Comfortable, spotless and attractive rooms. Lovely elegant drawing room for the use of guests. The hosts Wayne and Lynne really go the extra mile to be helpful.

Room Tip: Only saw our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zebracrossingfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

my husband and I stayed at Clydesdale Manor for two nights in February 2013. Wayne and Lyn made us feel very welcome and the room was nicely decorated and in exceptional condition.. The breakfasts were delicious and different from the usual.
Sandy Bay is a beautiful area, close to most attractions , restaurants,banks, supermarkets and
Wrest Point. We would not hesitate recommending this delightful boutique hotel it made our stay in Hobart most memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nan720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.8 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#11 of 47 in Hobart
545 reviews
0.8 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#3 of 47 in Hobart
464 reviews
1.0 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
702 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macquarie Manor
Macquarie Manor
#30 of 47 in Hobart
313 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clydesdale Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clydesdale Manor

Address: 292 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: £103 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clydesdale Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Clydesdale Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clydesdale Manor Hobart, Tasmania
Clydesdale Manor Hotel Hobart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing