We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A winter 3 day stay”
Review of Clydesdale Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clydesdale Manor
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A winter 3 day stay”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We spent 3 enjoyable nights. The fire in the drawing room was especially welcome. The room was large and the bed comfortable. A nice bathroom with heated floor. Breakfasts were great and the hospitality was warm and freely given.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henkandcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    47
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
192
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I'll keep it simple.
No need to look anywhere else .... this is the perfect place to stay in Hobart.
Spacious room, great facilities, incomparable breakfasts and perhaps the best element is the wonderful, welcoming embrace from our hosts Lynne and Wayne. They made our stay so much more enjoyable with great recommendations on restaurants and sight seeing. Great views of Mount Wellington from our bedroom, convenient position only a few minutes drive from town centre and a few hundred metres from Wrest Point. On site parking with plenty of room and a choice of exits and a lovely quiet garden. A grand historic building with high ceilings, large rooms, gracious ensuite and tastefully decorated. It is a unique property and a wonderful experience. Thank you for everything. James & Denise, Hunter Valley NSW.

Room Tip: Front ground floor room 'Wellington View 2' provides views to Mt Wellington (oddly enough).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadenlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

From the moment we checked in until the our leave 48 hours later, our stay at Clydesdale was nothing less than excellent. The room was warm clean & exceedingly comfortable. The breakfasts were healthy and delicious and the hosts warm, welcoming and knowledgeable. We will return.

Room Tip: Secluded room # 5 has indeed the best bath I have bathed in, in many years.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The accommodation is lovely and Wayne's breakfasts are a treat! We had a lovely stay over a winter weekend. The lounge is cosy and our bedroom was very nicely presented. The heated bathroom floor made getting up much easier. Lynne and Wayne are excellent hosts.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This is the perfect place to stay if you are visiting Hobart. This is a small, friendly hotel run by Lynne and Wayne who are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are very cosy, and clean, the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was amazing, something different everyday and a menu to choose from the night before. The heating was put on ready for us in our room everyday, which we appreciated as it was a little chilly out in the evenings. Also we had fresh milk in our small fridge each day which was much nicer than the packs of milk.
There was a log fire burning in the sitting room, very relaxing, with music playing in the background, what more can we say but it made our holiday perfect. We will definitely be going back.
If you need rest and relaxation, this is the right place for you.
Sue and Neil

Room Tip: Room 7 looked out onto Mount Wellington
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
551 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Lovely room with all mod cons. Nice and warm which was needed as there was snow on Mt Wellington! Didn't end up spending any time in the rest of the house as we were out and about each day but it looked pleasant.

Handy location - we chose to walk in to town for dinner a couple of times which wasnt too far.

Avoid the chinese restaurant up Sandy Bay Road towards town - rubbish place. Sat there for 20 minutes or so without anyone coming near us and we got up and walked away without a boo from anyone. Too busy chatting to some friends who had dropped in. Pretty grubby too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn&MarkfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Our stay at Clydesdale Manor was a very enjoyable experience. We were impressed by the very warm welcome given to us by Wayne and Lynne, who were both exceptional hosts. The cleanliness of the well appointed rooms and the more than adequate heating throughout the lovely renovated period home made our stay one which we would, without hesitation, want to experience again soon. The made to order breakfasts were an absolute delight, with plenty on offer in the breakfast room which is surrounded by lovely views overlooking the garden. A lovely restful place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant and Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.8 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
515 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 48 in Hobart
671 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macquarie Manor
Macquarie Manor
#30 of 48 in Hobart
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.8 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#6 of 48 in Hobart
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clydesdale Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clydesdale Manor

Property: Clydesdale Manor
Address: 292 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clydesdale Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Clydesdale Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clydesdale Manor Hobart, Tasmania
Clydesdale Manor Hotel Hobart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing