We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend”
Review of St Ives Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Ives Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Recommend”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Only stayed one night to attend the Salamanca Markets which were in walking distance. We were given a free unsolicited upgrade to a Superior Room which was lovely. It was so well appointed and comfortable. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready but we could leave our car in the onsite car park, we could also leave it there while we shopped after we checked out the next morning. Would recommend this spotless hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The Superior room is spacious with comfortable arm chairs, desk, microwave, equipped kitchen etc. Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disillusioned82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    284
    47
    7
    4
See reviews for
146
293
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed 2 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment on the top floor (3rd floor) with 2 adults and a toddler. Hired a portacot for $10 a night which fit in the 2nd bedroom and we could just close the bedroom door (very snug fit(. Should have bought along my cot linen as only a single sheet was supplied which was a tad tricky to place on the portacot mattress. Clean and tidy with modern bathroom and elevator. Great location close to restaurants, bakeries with great coffee and the walk up the hill (pushing the pram) at the end of the day really gave us a workout! I didn't mind being a few blocks away from the action as it was beautifully quiet in the evenings and mornings. And the view from our balcony of the bridge was just beautiful - especially during the evening rain. Thought the $ was reasonable given the amenities.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilmore35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Well situated , comfortable - we had 2 bedrooms, kitchen & sitting area.The bedrooms have little storage space, & could do with some hooks to hang things on, & a drawer or two..
We were grateful for the wifi plus the terminal at reception - staff were always most helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GwenCOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

I'm currently staying here with my mum and brother,we r in a two bedroom apartment.the room is clean and really nice,we have a beautiful view looking over hobart.The beds are really comfortable,less than ten minute walk down to Salamanca.We have got a cab back up the hill twice.The $3.50 brekkie is a bargain.The staff are friendly.Its very quiet here at night,we haven't had a problem sleeping.We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank colleen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hotel is in Battery Point but on the opposite side to Salamanca Place, where many of the restaurants are. In my opinion, it is a bit too far to walk, especially as it is up a steep hill on the return trip. However, the hotel is fairly close by car to the centre of Hobart and it has free parking.

Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious, although the bathroom could do with re-grouting. There was a balcony but it had no table or chairs of any kind and it overlooked the car park. There were tiny halogen reading lights in the room which were not sufficient to read by so we had to have the bright overhead lights on at all times to read.

It has a small kitchenette with a toaster, jug and microwave.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: A room on the car park side on the 2nd floor would probably have harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Only 5 minutes to Salamanca Square and the waterfront, St Ives offers and clean convenient place to stay in Hobart. This is a second time stay. The rooms are clean and well outfitted, free wifi (a necessity these days) and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The free offstreet parking is a real bonus if you have a car. The price was reasonable given we were there in peak Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race / New Year period.

Room Tip: The car park side is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed at St Ives five years ago on a trip around Tasmania and decided to return there again for a night on our recent holiday, for the convenient location, decent price and free parking. Not much seems to have changed at St Ive's in that time, however it still has spotless rooms and great service, and offers good value.

St Ives is only a short walk from Salamanca Place and the markets, as well as a bunch of great places to eat in Battery Point. Most of them are on Hampden Road - highly recommend the Jackman & McRoss bakery.

We stayed in a deluxe studio room, which was comfortable and roomy and had everything we needed. It could be a bit small if you were considering self catering for dinner, however for whipping up some breakfast or snacks it's perfectly fine. And speaking of breakfast, St Ive's offers continental breakfast packs for a grand total of $3.50, about five times cheaper than what you often have to pay for a similar spread!

We arrived at the hotel very early, however the staff were fine with us leaving our car there while we went to explore the markets. Unfortunately we weren't able to get reception in our room for the free wi-fi - although it wasn't a problem for us as we had good mobile service.

St Ive's is a solid choice in Hobart, we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a room away from the lift area. We could hear the lifts during the day, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyepilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.9 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
1,217 reviews
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 48 in Hobart
572 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Ives Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Ives Apartments

Property: St Ives Apartments
Address: 67 St Georges Tce | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St Ives Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and convenient location in historic Battery Point, 500m to Salamanca markets, waterfront and restaurants, 43 fully self-contained studio & 2 brm apartments designated non-smoking. 2brm apartments are on 2levels with separate living and sleeping areas. FREE Foxtel TV, FREE WIFI, FREE off street parking, guest laundry, iron/ironing board, dry cleaning service, AAA-star 4-star. Reception 7.00am-11.00pm with 24 hr phone reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St Ives Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ives Hobart Motel Apartments Hotel Hobart
St Ives Apartments Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing