We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay in Hobart”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of St Ives Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Ives Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Hobart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed here with my sister last week. The unit we were in was clean and tidy, and quite adequate for two people with two beds and a small "kitchen". The location is very convenient, and the staff we had contact with were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    273
    47
    7
    3
See reviews for
135
285
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

St ives apartments is located right in the heart of Battery Point, close to various shops, supermarkets and restaurants which made it really convenient.
The 2 bedroom apartment itself was well appointed, however could do with a more clean.
When we arrived the bathroom itself had hair all over the floor which was displeasing to see, however this was a minor fault. The bedrooms itself were great with adequate wardrobes , and comfy beds. The place itself can do with a bit of a make over to give it a more modern look.
Reception staff addressed our needs, but were not too friendly when asked for information.
Overall a good stay at St Ives.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilag14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed here in 2012 and the rooms were very clean and customer service was excellent. Fast forward to 2014 and the beds are not as comfortable, reception don't greet you when you walk through the door plus the rooms are quite dusty.
My major complaint would be the beds as we changed a few rooms (every bed had a dent in the middle and waking up with very sore shoulders and back). Other than that it's quite decent considering location and value for money. For me I won't be returning again...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

My sister and I stayed at St Ives Apartments in Hobart and found it to be clean, comfortable and good value for money. We were lucky to have been upgraded when we arrived - a lovely surprise. The staff at reception were all extremely helpful and pleasant. They helped with ideas of where to eat and also with directions to attractions when we were checking out. St Ives is in a terrific location - very close to all the eateries and shops in Sandy Bay Road - all within short walking distance. You can also order some takeaway food to be delivered to the hotel if you like - staff informed us that some places do this. The apartment was very clean with comfortable beds and lounge chairs. Close to Salamanca Place - walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were well welcomed at these functional, clean but externally unattractive apartments. The rooms were well appointed and the kitchen more than adequate for our needs. The corridors were rather noisy particularly when a large party of Chinese guests were shouting across between rooms. The biggest disappointment was the lack of attention to servicing the room. Beds were left unmade and clean towels were rather dumped on the toilet seat. We are not untidy travellers but would have appreciated just a little more care in this aspect of our stay.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the city are quieter but more pricey
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
183 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Rooms were large comfortable enough. The location was good and wasn't too far away from the main attractions Hobart has to offer. We stayed in winter and the rooms kept us warm and cosy. Anyone wanting an average place for decent value this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at St. Ives Apartments with a group of friends (6 couples alltogether) and were originally booked in for 7 nights, our apartments and the location were great. Unfortunately after 3 days, I became ill with a high fever (caught some bug that had been going around Hobart) and had to see a Doctor. I was put on a course of antibiotics and had to stay in bed until we got the fever under control. We were supposed to check out on the 23rd but I was too unwell. The Reception Manager was great, she juggled bookings around so that we could stay an extra 2 nights and didn't have to change apartments. The Cleaning Ladies were wonderful too, changing my bed every day due to sweating from the fever - in fact, we have never come across such caring people in all our travels. St. Ives checks all the right boxes and and Management should be very proud of their wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Our group were on different floors and we were all very happy with our apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fletch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.9 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#4 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#11 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Ives Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Ives Apartments

Property: St Ives Apartments
Address: 67 St Georges Tce | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St Ives Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and convenient location in historic Battery Point, 500m to Salamanca markets, waterfront and restaurants, 43 fully self-contained studio & 2 brm apartments designated non-smoking. 2brm apartments are on 2levels with separate living and sleeping areas. FREE Foxtel TV, FREE WIFI, FREE off street parking, guest laundry, iron/ironing board, dry cleaning service, AAA-star 4-star. Reception 7.00am-11.00pm with 24 hr phone reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Ives Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ives Hobart Motel Apartments Hotel Hobart
St Ives Apartments Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing