We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location between Salamanca and Sandy Bay”
Review of St Ives Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Ives Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
152 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Good location between Salamanca and Sandy Bay”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Functional apartment but what it has going for it is the location. It is on Battery Point and close enough to walk to Salamanca market on Saturdays. It's about a 10 minute walk downhill, and we really appreciated the location when we saw the Saturday crowd and lots of cars struggling to park around Salamanca. Walking in the other direction leads to Sandy Bay with supermarkets, cafes and restaurants.

The room was clean with a small kitchenette, and enough space for 3 persons. The hotel has a large industrial size washer and dryer ($4 each) which was great for us after more than a week's drive round Tasmania. The reception is not manned at night, so you need to bring the room key card to get into the hotel.

There is also an adjoining bottle shop with a large selection, and we could find most of what we wanted to bring home from there. Parking was free but spaces were limited depending on what time it was.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    281
    47
    7
    4
See reviews for
139
291
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Staff are always happy to see their guests. Room is great, it has a small kitchenette, with a stovetop for cooking should you wish to do so. Small fridge to hold the necessities. The $3.50 breakfast pack is a great deal, bread, cereal, a small bottle of fresh milk, butter, jams. There is always an abundance of tea and coffee satchets on hand, and always topped up every day when the room is serviced, there is also small bottles of shampoo, conditioner and moisturiser. It is the little things that make this Apartment, a place to come back to again and again.
Just a short walk down the hill to Salamanca, and the City of Hobart, wharf area as well.
Very close to battery Point, just walk to the street, turn the corner, and Battery Point is ahead of you.

Room Tip: I had a room on the street side which was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuemMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston and Tamar Valley
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed here on Business and found the Deluxe studio very comfortable and clean and had everything I needed. The locality is brilliant close to Salamanca and many different restaurants to choose from. Also Free WIFI and parking - 2 added bonuses. I would highly recommend for both Business and holidays.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed here with my sister last week. The unit we were in was clean and tidy, and quite adequate for two people with two beds and a small "kitchen". The location is very convenient, and the staff we had contact with were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

St ives apartments is located right in the heart of Battery Point, close to various shops, supermarkets and restaurants which made it really convenient.
The 2 bedroom apartment itself was well appointed, however could do with a more clean.
When we arrived the bathroom itself had hair all over the floor which was displeasing to see, however this was a minor fault. The bedrooms itself were great with adequate wardrobes , and comfy beds. The place itself can do with a bit of a make over to give it a more modern look.
Reception staff addressed our needs, but were not too friendly when asked for information.
Overall a good stay at St Ives.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilag14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed here in 2012 and the rooms were very clean and customer service was excellent. Fast forward to 2014 and the beds are not as comfortable, reception don't greet you when you walk through the door plus the rooms are quite dusty.
My major complaint would be the beds as we changed a few rooms (every bed had a dent in the middle and waking up with very sore shoulders and back). Other than that it's quite decent considering location and value for money. For me I won't be returning again...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My sister and I stayed at St Ives Apartments in Hobart and found it to be clean, comfortable and good value for money. We were lucky to have been upgraded when we arrived - a lovely surprise. The staff at reception were all extremely helpful and pleasant. They helped with ideas of where to eat and also with directions to attractions when we were checking out. St Ives is in a terrific location - very close to all the eateries and shops in Sandy Bay Road - all within short walking distance. You can also order some takeaway food to be delivered to the hotel if you like - staff informed us that some places do this. The apartment was very clean with comfortable beds and lounge chairs. Close to Salamanca Place - walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.9 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#4 of 48 in Hobart
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#3 of 48 in Hobart
565 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Ives Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Ives Apartments

Property: St Ives Apartments
Address: 67 St Georges Tce | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St Ives Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and convenient location in historic Battery Point, 500m to Salamanca markets, waterfront and restaurants, 43 fully self-contained studio & 2 brm apartments designated non-smoking. 2brm apartments are on 2levels with separate living and sleeping areas. FREE Foxtel TV, FREE WIFI, FREE off street parking, guest laundry, iron/ironing board, dry cleaning service, AAA-star 4-star. Reception 7.00am-11.00pm with 24 hr phone reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St Ives Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ives Hobart Motel Apartments Hotel Hobart
St Ives Apartments Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing