We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jackie B
Matarangi, New Zealand

Oldie but goodie

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Apr 2023
Older motel which could do with refurbishment. Quiet location but within driving distance of waterfront. Good views of Mt Wellington and the ocean. Good for parking and good location for exploring the city
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£109
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    £109
1.0 miles from Mayfair on Cavell
Pool
Restaurant
Executive Twin Studio photo 1
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £54
  • Priceline
    £67
0.7 miles from Mayfair on Cavell
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £85
  • VibeHotels.com
    £89
0.8 miles from Mayfair on Cavell
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    £95
  • Algotels
1.1 miles from Mayfair on Cavell
Free Wifi
Free parking
£97
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £91
  • Hotels.com
0.8 miles from Mayfair on Cavell
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    £142
  • Expedia.com
    £156
1.1 miles from Mayfair on Cavell
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £81
  • Algotels
1.0 miles from Mayfair on Cavell
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    £68
  • Algotels
0.8 miles from Mayfair on Cavell
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £77
  • Booking.com
1.6 miles from Mayfair on Cavell
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £73
  • Priceline
    £76
0.5 miles from Mayfair on Cavell
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Hobart
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
43
67
30
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
43
67
30
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet location motel wallpaper parking laundry mt waterfront
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2023

Accommodation was basic but clean. Living space was well sized and the kitchen had everything we needed. We couldn't quite figure out the opening hours for reception as it was often closed when we went to either to check something or get the key to use the laundry. In a good location with a handy corner store nearby.

Date of stay: December 2022
Thank J6517DBstevenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2023

Decor and furniture dated from before my parents were born with an old, musty smell throughout room. Obviously in need of maintenance with water damaged in the cupboards and showing on the ceilings, wallpaper peeling all amongst other things. Price did not reflect the condition of the room and amenities provided.

Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DayTrip54264300826
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 December 2022

Very sad, outdated room . Looked like nothing had changed since 1970 … or perhaps since 1960? 1950? Not particularly clean. The carpet needed vacuuming and bathroom tile grouting dirty .
However, friendly service at reception and the room was large.

Room tip: Located in a hilly area on outskirts of Hobart CBD, so if walking it can be onerous.
Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 September 2022

It use to be run by 2 lovely old ladies and was such a grand building.Now the carpet is black from dirt wall paper falling of walls and a owner who wants zero interaction with the guests.(Covid)
Basically money needs to be spend on the rooms and good clean up would help.Location is excellent, walking distance to the city Centre.
Several Restaurants and watering holes near by.

Room tip: you will need to physically inspect the room and see if it is to your standards. Very difficult when you have already paid for the room.
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank frank l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2022 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times, it is very good value, the rooms I have stayed in are a little dated, the carpet is old, a little peeling on the wallpaper, but it is still a pleasant enough stay. The bed is quite comfortable, no air con but still warm.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 804brentw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews