We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome night in Hobart”
Review of Brunswick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brunswick Hotel
Ranked #46 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed one night in a 4-bed room on a Saturday night, and we had a great time. The room is super basic (4 beds, that's it), but we didn't need more. We had dinner at the pub downstairs, the food was delicious and they have good beers as well. An awesome pub experience in Hobart! The private courtyard with couches and mushrooms heaters is also great. I would definitely stay back there, the only negative comment I could make is about the shared bathrooms: not clean.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoPetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed 3 nights and was very good. I arrived at 7pm without a booking (the other hostel that I booked was closed) and I asked if there was a bed available. I was lucky!
This accomodation what the best that I could find. Cheap with free wi fi, sheet and doona included. It is a good place to meet other people if like me I travel alone. The staff are friendly, nice and very very helpful!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The room was small and very cold, the windows were broken and stayed open all the night whereas it was freezing outside. We told about it to the reception but they didn't pay attention at our complain. The mattress were very bad quality!
Even the halls, kitchen and bathrooms were cold as well!
We booked for two nights but when we saw the place, we changed our mind for the second one...
Drugs people screamed loudly for 3 hours, but no staff was here so we had to see by ourselve to stop the noise...
We were very desapointed and told about to the reception when we left.
Don't stay there, the value is terrible.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed here about 4months while studying. I can say this is a very well run place and makes other backpacker accommodation in Hobart seem 2nd rate. Staff were just great, Beautiful courtyard and common areas that have ample heating (despite what other say). For once a backpackers that uses fresh laundered hotel grade linen on their beds instead of the usual rags that adorn bunks in all the others, and yes I know this through hard experience at all the other shows in town. Right in the heart of Hobart - across from Woolie - prices are quite reasonable and are often better than the others. Aside from the backpacker stuff, the Brunswick offers private rooms at a very affordable rate. Top marks for this place, highly recommended. (Dave F)

Room Tip: If your a backpacker, pay the extra couple of dollars and get a 4 bed dorm - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Liked: Staff were very helpful. Location was great - short walk to most places you'd want to go to.
Many bathrooms scattered throughout so you could have privacy. Live music on Saturday night, plus a nice beer garden to relax in. Great chill-out area out the back of hostel. Our room was basic - 2 sets of bunk beds, 2 chairs and a bin and heater. Lovely foyer area with wood fire. Would recommend for people on a budget.


Disliked: It has a slightly run-down feel to it (I actually quite liked this aspect, but others may see it as a negative.) Also, it reminded me of the Jack Nicholson film, 'The Shining' and I kind of expected to see the two creepy twin girls down one of the always-empty corridors leading to the rooms. Kitchen was an okay size but the table is positioned so close to the sink/stove top that its hard to have more than one person preparing a meal at the same time. If they moved the table away, this would resolve the problem.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ziggy461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a private room and had everything we required inc a fridge, basin and heater! Couldn't ask for more. The pub beneath has great food/drinks and local music talent. Did get cold at night but its Hobart its going to be cold!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

No parking, power shorted out had to move rooms no apology and no help from staff to move at 9.30 pm in our pyjamas. Next room directly above entertainment, which when I booked I mentioned the need for a quiet room after reading previous reviews that noise in some rooms was excessive.
No sleep due to noise from cover band.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lainielynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.7 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#36 of 47 in Hobart
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Nook Backpackers
The Nook Backpackers
#7 of 55 in Hobart
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Backpackers Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel
0.5 mi away
The Waratah Hotel
The Waratah Hotel
#25 of 28 in Hobart
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Argyle Accommodation
Argyle Accommodation
#15 of 55 in Hobart
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunswick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunswick Hotel

Address: 67 Liverpool St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: £46 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brunswick Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brunswick Hotel is one of the last remaining hotels that once graced Liverpool Street. Established in 1827, twenty years after the settlement of Hobart, the hotel represents an important part of this country’s social history. The Brunswick Hotel bar boosts eight different beers on tap that includes Cascade Brewery’s finest beers (the oldest brewery in Australia), an evolving section of some of Tasmanian’s premium red and white wines both by the glass and bottle. The Brunswick Hotel also provides very fairly priced Hotel rooms that are the perfect choice for a centrally located Hobart stay. Our en-suite rooms come equipped with a fridge, tea & coffee and a flat screen TV. Our restaurant headed up by one of Hobart’s premium chefs, Tony Gamble, who has produced a menu that exemplifies locally sourced produce, meat, seafood and cheeses. These dishes leads themselves to be shared between friends or indulge on some of our pub classics, such as Marrawah Steak sandwich, our own Brunswick Lamb Burger, grilled calamari and our own hand cut fries. The Brunswick Hotel is the perfect place for a casual every day lunch and dinner catch-up or unwind. Not to mention a ‘Hobart Getaway’ for the weekend. With the longest chesterfield in Tassie (second longest in the world), comfy leather booths or tradition "sit at the bar" seating, we are ready for you at Hobart’s newest friendly local hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Brunswick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunswick Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing