We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel for the extras provided”
Review of The Pickled Frog

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Pickled Frog
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

The quirkiness of the decor and the tour options available throughout the week make staying here enjoyable. It can be quite loud at night if you have noisy neighbors, but otherwise a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here! Friendly atmosphere, great facilities (induction hotplates), warm cosy fire, little comfy library and the list goes on. 200 characters isn't enough to explain how great this place is! Pickled Frog also offer great free trips like going up Mt Wellington. Additionally every staff member was personable, helpful and polite. Mulled wine was also awesome! Cheers guys, thanks for a warm place for my first new nights in a new city!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I really enjoyed staying at Pickled Frog. It is the second time I have stayed there and both times I had the same experience. The guys there are great hosts, great atmosphere, clean hostel. Mulled wine was really nice to have a sip by the fire. Recommend in Hobart.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank always_Itchy_feet27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

it's like living in a house with a big family. super friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere. the kitchen might be a bit too chaotic, but there were always people around to chat with while cooking. The rooms are functional, probably not the place you want to spend time in, but there for you have the big lobby and living room area downstairs. Free parking in the inner courtyard! A hostel with heart & soul!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sigerl1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

I choose The Pickled Frog because of its quirkiness, but to my surprise I absolutely loved the hostel.

The rooms are clean and are generally quiet. And for the price of $25 a night in Australia tere is not much to complain about.

The location is a short (5 minute) walk into downtown Hobart. Not right in the middle of the city, but close enough to walk.

The best part of The Pickled Frog was the staff. Two specifically stood out to me. Emma and the young man with the black framed glasses (I'm sorry, I never caught your name). Both were very helpful and incredibly friendly.

Overall I enjoyed my stay at The Pickled Frog. Definitely would recommend any backpacker to make a stop here!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittanyanne916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

No frills, a typical tired hostel, staff were helpful, was quiet after 11 which staff ensured, rooms could be freshened up, dark and dingy, ok value, $70 for a double room with shared bathroom. Would stay elsewhere if I were to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hev81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We got into Hobart in the late afternoon/early evening after running all day. The staff on reception was just so friendly and nice. There was six of us staying in a 6 person dorm. And I was surprised at how much space we had. Some Hostels the beds are just crammed in but we had some space to put our bags. Bathrooms were very clean and the kitchen was nice and big with a dinning area just to the front of it. When we checked out in the morning we were greeted like a long lost friend, he was generally interested in our visit to Hobart and our stay with them.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awillis_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hobart
Best Western Hobart
#24 of 47 in Hobart
820 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse
0.4 mi away
Backpackers Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Nook Backpackers
The Nook Backpackers
#8 of 55 in Hobart
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel
0.5 mi away
Hobart Central YHA
Hobart Central YHA
#41 of 55 in Hobart
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pickled Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickled Frog

Address: 281 Liverpool St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: £19 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Pickled Frog 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Pickled Frog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pickled Frog Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing