We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hostel and helpful staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pickled Frog

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pickled Frog
Ranked #10 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hostel and helpful staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Myself and 3 friends stayed here recently and we just wanted to say how nice the hostel is and recommend it to anyone travelling to Hobart. The dorm was really clean and there are good showers. Jimmy, one of the staff, gave us lots of good advice of things to do around Hobart and Tassie in general and drove us to the top of Mt. Wellington to hike down. He also has an amazing dog called Baloo who is just the cutest! The location is central and they have a handy little shop at reception that sells everything from toothpaste to beer - perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    70
    37
    12
    13
See reviews for
4
39
106
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here for about 4 nights in May, and had a great time! Probably one of the better hostels I stayed in socially, its great for meeting people! Has a whole floor for the common area as well, including a bar. This is where you should stay in Hobart!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGoggs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

The reception smells like toilet. Stayed for 1 night in August in Pickled Frog. While it's 1C outside they didn't provide any heater for the room even when I asked for one. Won't stay here again most def and advice everyone to stay away from this here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VahidY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

The quirkiness of the decor and the tour options available throughout the week make staying here enjoyable. It can be quite loud at night if you have noisy neighbors, but otherwise a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here! Friendly atmosphere, great facilities (induction hotplates), warm cosy fire, little comfy library and the list goes on. 200 characters isn't enough to explain how great this place is! Pickled Frog also offer great free trips like going up Mt Wellington. Additionally every staff member was personable, helpful and polite. Mulled wine was also awesome! Cheers guys, thanks for a warm place for my first new nights in a new city!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

I really enjoyed staying at Pickled Frog. It is the second time I have stayed there and both times I had the same experience. The guys there are great hosts, great atmosphere, clean hostel. Mulled wine was really nice to have a sip by the fire. Recommend in Hobart.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank always_Itchy_feet27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

it's like living in a house with a big family. super friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere. the kitchen might be a bit too chaotic, but there were always people around to chat with while cooking. The rooms are functional, probably not the place you want to spend time in, but there for you have the big lobby and living room area downstairs. Free parking in the inner courtyard! A hostel with heart & soul!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sigerl1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.7 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#4 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pickled Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickled Frog

Property: The Pickled Frog
Address: 281 Liverpool St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your The Pickled Frog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pickled Frog Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing