We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud and dirty”
Review of The Pickled Frog

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pickled Frog
Ranked #11 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loud and dirty”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The room smelt of damp and the plug hole in the sink was completely clogged. The bathrooms also smelt awful and there was hair everywhere. The rooms had windows that opened internally, so you were facing other peoples bedrooms windows less than a metre from your room. Made for a very loud and uncomfortable night's sleep. Good things: location, price, free wifi. However, would rather spend a little bit more and not have my skin crawling...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    72
    38
    12
    13
See reviews for
4
40
106
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Good location for town.
Shuttle bus from airport drops you literally 2 mins away from door.
Free wifi
Felt very homely as soon as you walked in, like an old London pub. Very nice.
Room was clean
Shower and toilet areas were kept clean.
Kitchen was quite small but did the job.
Nice little lounge area where you could watch DVDs.
Liked the graffiti type designs on the walls around the hostel.

Would stay again if I am ever in Hobart

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Keely0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and was really impressed. Has a quirky vibe with weird and wonderful artwork all over! Theres a big comfy lounge, lots of booths and different seating areas to eat / chill out without being on top of the other backpackers. Decent dorms, slightly cramped but beds were comfy. Great DVD collection with deposit system for the discs stops them from getting damaged like ive expereinced in other hostels. the kitchen is fantastically equiped with eveything you could possibly need.. both that and the bathroom were also very clean at any time of the day. Cute dog included too!
I was going to say it feels more like a home than a hostel, but I have to clean the bathroom and kitchen in my own home so it's better than that! I think sometimes when people make negative comments about hostels particularly they loose sight of what service is actually being included in the price. i find generally any gripes i have are with the other people staying in the hostel rather than the place itself, but thankfully the pickled frog seemed to attract a relaxed respectful crowd!
Nice and helpful guys/gals on reception, where you can grab a beer, coffee or snacks. Great location with shops and bars nearby.
Overall brill place to stay, great value for money. Will definitely return if ever in Tassie again :)

Room Tip: Take the free trips to mount wellington and mona
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenMelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

To sum it up in one go

Staff - Excellent!
Entertainment - Good!
Day Trips - Excellent!
Rooms - Clean, Big, Great sleep and i was in an 8 bed room dorm!
The hostel is mint! i was a single backpacker from glasgow scotland ( to staff - my fb is christopher hightower gray ) and i really enjoyed it being there - loved my time and thanks for providing the cheap drink :D !!!
Hobart in general was a good spot if you are there for a day...
would say go to this hostel, i loved it - centre location, everything close by etc...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hightower1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I had 3 nights here and loved it. Crazy art, super friendly staff and a free trip up Mount Wellington. I thought that was good value for $26. It may not be for everyone but its fun, cheap, clean and the coffee is good. That's about all I want in a hostel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilmorton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed at the Pickled Frog for a period of time and found the hostel to be have an excellent vibe. The staff are all real chipper, friendly and helpful. They do free tours up mount wellington, book tours for you and have the best flexibility with accommodation changes that i have come across.

The place feels really homely and the free wifi is a great feature! Too many places these days rip people off to access the internet.

They have foosball and a pool table, fresh coffee and little things like buy 6 nights get the 7th free are all things that make the place that little bit different from other strictly run, clinical vibe hostels.

They know how to run a good hostel!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomnom48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stayed for 2 nights here and found it average, nothing particularly outstanding about this hostel. I guess it's alright if you're only going to be in Hobart for a short while. The rooms were rather small and cramped. It's a good thing we were out for most of the day – don't think I'd appreciate being in the room for long since there's barely any space to move around. The bathrooms were alright, not the cleanest obviously since it's shared by so many people.

But I liked the two receptionists I met on both mornings. They were incredibly friendly and helpful so kudos to them. :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 48 in Hobart
1,207 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.7 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pickled Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickled Frog

Property: The Pickled Frog
Address: 281 Liverpool St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pickled Frog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pickled Frog Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing