We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in Battery Point”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Vue Private Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Perfect location in Battery Point”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

A charming restored mansion with comfortable quality accomodation. Off street parking. Old world charm. Lovely views of river. Late afternoon muffins a little bonus. However wifi internet was not working. Great location and walking distance to Battery Point shops and restaurants. Not cheap by local standards but worth it if you want upmarket standards. Definitely will return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amm1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    29
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
149
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here on our last night in Hobart - the place is a gem! It's a beautiful house both exterior and interior. We stayed in room #7 - beautiful view. Kicked myself for not booking this place during our first few days in Hobart!

Location is perfect - just a short walk to Salamanca Place. There were several small cafes in the neighbourhood which looks good (didn't have time to try out as we arrive late in the evening)

Hosts were helpful and friendly - his wife made us lovely tarts just in time for evening tea!

It was a perfect stay to end our week in Tassie! Will definitely stay here when we return to Hobart next time

Room Tip: Room #7 - beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

This is our second stay here and it's even better than we remembered. Seriously quality accommodation. A beautifully restored old house with fabulous views, in a great location. You would go a long way to find any better quality accommodation than this. We will keep coming back

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

From a friendly greeting on arrival to a charming room with great views over the water to quality furnishing and comfort, my family and I found this a wonderful place to stay. Just a short stroll to the cafes of Battery Point and a quick descent to Salamanca Place, we found it perfectly situated to take in the wonderful, historic ambiance of Battery Point. I am reading other peoples, comments and recalling the lovely muffins provided by our hostess. The lounge/reading room was a delight. I was able to browse through a good selection of "coffee table" books in total comfort and ease.
I loved the Grand Vue and would be back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Driving along quiet Mona Street it's easy to miss the hotel's understated presence. A warm welcome awaits you from friendly proprietors who know they run one of the best hotels in the city and are proud of that too. My large room overlooked the bay and mountains. It has a fine large table and chairs set into a huge bay window. Use the small beautifully designed fitted kitchenette and a self caterer can dine in with probably the best view in town. When you are done the kitchen units hide away behind sliding doors.
The tiled bathroom with a spa bath and wet room style shower is equally well designed and comes with top rate soaps and extras and wonderful fluffy towels. Add to that one of the most comfortable beds you'll ever lie down upon and you are set for a good night's rest.
Battery Point is a mixed community with a large element of well-heeled young professionals. As a result there's money about and the plethora of local eating places, fancy grocers and upmarket pubs bears witness to that. If you are determined not to use the view from your room and eat out nearby then you'll have plenty of choice. A few minutes walk takes you down some steps into the city centre and you can be at the harbour area in 20 minutes on foot.
At $295 for the best room, without breakfast, this is not a budget place at all. But bear in mind that in busy Hobart you can pay that for a bog-standard hotel room by the harbour and the price looks like a real scoop.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shipyardtales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Stay in the turret room (#3) if you can. The view is wonderful. The room is very clean, nicely furnished and even has a small kitchen area. Wifi is free (as it should be). Maybe best of all are the fresh baked muffins delivered to your room in the afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

If your looking for a quiet hotel in a great location with wonderful views then book Grand Vue.
The hotel is well run and the attention to details is faultless. Compared to a standard hotel room this is a much nicer Hobart experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnHolidays247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#9 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.7 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.7 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Vue Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Vue Private Hotel

Property: Grand Vue Private Hotel
Address: 8 Mona St | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Vue Private Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Vue Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Vue Private
Grand Vue Private Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing