We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oriental Restaurant

Oriental Restaurant
Ranked #334 of 591 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

So nice to see a chinese restaurant that can cater for my no msg request, and be able to provide soda water, and help with other dietary issues - so I was delighted that I was able to be catered for. The rest of our group (the other 11 people) had a banquet which they thoroughly enjoyed it. it was very reasonably priced, and the staff were so friendly and obliging.
there was just one downside, the airconditioning system leaves a dreadful draught - and I was unfortunately in the way of it. we did ask three times for it to be turned down, but it wasnt until ten minutes before we were leaving that the draught was turned off. I suggest you stick to the edges of the dining room should you visit this restaurant, out of the way of the draught. it doesnt matter if a restaurant is hot or cold, but you cant sit in a draught. But otherwise, well done to the Oriental Restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Taj940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“No fried ice cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

My third visit here in 12 years. Each time food has been great and good service. Nice plain but typical decor. Chinese tea great,( as some places give you green tea bag) . To my dissapointment
they ran out of fried ice cream. Otherwise a good feed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Chinese just outside the CBD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

This little Chinese restaurant on the corner in Sandy Bay opposite United Service Station is a great small restaurant who have a great menu and wine list and service. The service is great, and we felt well looked after all evening, the meals are a perfect size, and flavoursome.

The decor is not bad, and this restaurant has a nice relaxed feel.
The chilli plum duck is a signiture dish, which is absolutly delicious, another favourite is the Garlic and Cracked Pepper Beef.

I have eaten here regularly and intend to return soon again. A great place to meet friends for a dinner or even a romantic evening.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jetpilotsimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Sorell, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“MSG lets down this family favourite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Think typical Chinese restaurant - decor, food and service. This old family favourite has lost favour due to the msg in almost everything. You can order without, but unfortunately it's in most of the marinades also so hard to avoid those racing hearts, thirst and lack of sleep after !

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank camstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic cuisine and great value restaraunt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

This restaraunt serves a range of great quality dishes. The range of noodle soups are quite exceptional with authentic flavours and are good value for your dollar, try the roast duck noodle soup you won't be disappointed !
A full range of simple but tasty stir fries are available including favorites like chicken and cashews are well presented and flavoursome. Service is quick and friendly or you can linger over your meal without hurrying, and the food comes from an exceptionally very clean kitchen, I know because I have been in there a number of times to thank the chef for his dishes. Table service in terms of cleaning away the used plates etc could be much better, this place is worth a try for anyone seeking quality and value food.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clement135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oriental Restaurant also viewed

 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Oriental Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing