We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cuisine, but slow service.”

The Point Revolving Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 604 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Seventeen floors above the River Derwent, The Point Revolving restaurant at Wrest Point radiates 'special occasion.' When the doors open and the view unfolds, you'll understand why The Point has been a backdrop of memorable dining for over 40 years. This new refurbished Hobart restaurant is committed to people, produce and place. Our French inspired menu weaves some of Tasmania's finest ingredients into a dining experience punctuated with theatre and flair. Like the sound of Crepe Suzette cooked at your table with flair by our waiter staff? We love to put on a show at Wrest Point Tasmania, and this extends to dining. What's more, beyond the table entertainment, rolling views of Hobart's city, Tasman Bridge and Mount Wellington are priceless. If you want to celebrate, spoil those close and mark a new memory, let us set you a table at the top.
Mackay Qld
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cuisine, but slow service.”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Beautiful cuisine, and professional, courteous wait staff. However, my husband and I didn't expect to arrive at 6:40pm and not leave till 9:10pm after a full day of sight seeing. Two and a half hours to serve an entree, two mains and dessert is a ridiculous amount of time to wait between courses, especially being it wasn't a busy night.
I gave a rating of 4 for the produce my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed while admiring the view, and took one for the lengthy time of wait between meals, and lengthy time it took to pay a simple bill we were willing to get up and go pay for ourselves, instead of being waited on at the table.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    58
    26
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Retro Paradise”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

For many years my wife and I have dined at The Point, before it was named as such too. It's a great place if you want a great piece of beef or a steak with all the trimmings; a fantastic bottle of red from one of the biggest wine lists I've ever seen and a retro regular for us has always been the Crepe Suzette. Not many places even know what this dessert is these days but it's always been special at The Point. The table d'hote service is excellent, as is their old fashioned 'silver-service'. The staff are polite; attentive without being over the top and it's really good to get away from the 'MasterChef' mentality of many restaurants and just have good food that has stood the test of time. Of course they do the big white plate with squirts of sauces stuff to, I guess they have to; but The Point is a reliable venue where one can have a quite, excellent meal and literally watch the world go by.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank halliwellmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food, Wine, Service and View”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Everything is great about the Point Revolving Restaurant. The Food and Wine list were excellent. The staff were excellent. I highly recommend the restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing meal”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I had one of the most amazing meals at The Point. I savoured every mouthful and the entire experience was wonderful. The dish was so well assembled with all the ingredients complementing each other so well. Views were stunning and the service wonderful. Would fly there just to eat in the restaurant again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect place to eat at sunset!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This revolving restaurant has the best views of Hobart at sunset.
Thoroughly enjoyed the chefs 5 course special menu and the staff were very attentive.
Great views and great food, what more could you ask for!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol0217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Point Revolving Restaurant also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to The Point Revolving Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing