We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality, Class and Style” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astor Grill

Astor Grill
Ranked #51 of 591 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$39
Cuisines: Grill, Contemporary, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quality, Class and Style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

When the lines were too long at Dark Mofo Winter Feast, we went here with friends and had a fabulous night. The quality of the food and wine were outstanding, service was very good (there was a mixup with one meal but it was corrected with sincere apologies from our waitress), and the ambience was great. Looking forward to going again.

Helpful?
Thank monsterinthesnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    58
    14
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Went back the next night and just as good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The food was beautifully presented, flavoursome but not overwhelmed by any one ingredient. A varied menu and help with choosing an excellent local wine

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gillianmarcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Misses and I seldom eat meat but when we do we like it to be grass fed and preferably local. We also like a nice class of red, preferably by the glass. We found ourselves on holiday in Tasmania in March with a fillet steak red wine craving. We were staying at the Astor Private hotel ( upstairs from the grill )and popped in around 6.30 ish without a booking. Our steaks were Perfect , the meat had been rested after cooking to allow the juices to settle, the accompanying blue cheese sauce was surprisingly light, vegetables were crisp and vibrant and the cab sav delightful. The restaurant reminded me of a 70's european, mood lighting bistro; old fashioned but pleasant. We also found the price good value, as you do when you're from WA .

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sticky d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I have been to the Astor a few times this year and each time it amazes me. The attention to detail, impeccable service, attentive staff and fabulous chefs.
The steaks are always cooked to perfection and so is the seafood.
If you want to have a great night alone, with your partner or family and friends I would definitely recommend The Astor Grill.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
109 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

The Astor is upscale in an old-fashioned, clubby way - suede wallpaper, white napery, carpets, waiters in black and white. Steaks are the specialty but the options are quite broad.

Starters arrived not promptly but without undue delay. What we ar=te has been forgotten in the unhappy events to follow.

An hour and forty minutes after arriving we had still not seen our main meal. When it arrived after repeated requests and as I we were on the point of walking out my medium-rare steak was barely singed - completely uncooked and, for me, inedible. Back it went to the kitchen, more delay.

To be fair, the staff tried to make things right, but it was too late. I truly regret wasting an evening here.

Oh, and the steak was ordinary and the accompanying lightly singed vegetables a joke. The Astor can do much better - so can you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dwdavidwatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Astor Grill also viewed

 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Astor Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing