We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uninviting rooms but in a good spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Uninviting rooms but in a good spot”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The hotel was in a handy spot but several issues. First the bed and pillows were extremely uncomfortable.
Secondly there is no parking. We couldn't park on the street nearby because it is all metered so we had to park two blocks away in a multi level for $20 dollars a day
Also having to pay for extra towels is a bit steep too.
This place is ok if you spend your whole time out and about but wouldn't stay if you like to spend time in your room

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraSandyBay, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed the location. Thank you for alerting others to the scarcity of our parking - this is something we do try to impress upon guests at the point of reservation that we do have very limited parking available which must be pre-booked in advance. We now have an alternative parking providor located not a 5 minute walk away whose overnight and daily rates are much closer to ours of $10 per day.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    297
    135
    50
    34
See reviews for
131
314
42
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

When we arrived we were a bit confused as to where we could park, as the carpark was full so we had to park in a side street from the hotel.
The receptionist who greeted us was abrupt but informative, however when referring us to a restaraunt to dine out at, grossly underestimated the price ( a seafood restaurant down from Henry Fords) where she claimed a main was $20 when in fact it was $45.
The room had a large lounge area with comparatively very small sleeping area, where they squeezed two single beds.
To access the rooms we had to walk via the carpark with our suitcases.
In our bathroom they gave 1 small bottle of shampoo to share between 2 females over 2 nights, and when we asked for more , we were abruptly given 3 bottles of conditioner. Likewise, they only provided 1 bath towel to share, however they provided us with another on request.
Both issues could have been prevented

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DimityVanderpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraSandyBay, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Thank you for your review. I've taken your comments along to our regular staff meetings, and as a result we have now reviewed and produced a recommended restaurants list which now sits in our compendiums, and I have reiterated to staff the importance of that critical 'First Impression'.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Very well located and reasonably prices. About 2 minute walk to Salamanca Place and Markets. Easy walking distance to centre of city, Battery Point and the waterfront. Clean and modern. Rooms are comfortable. The traffic lights outside the hotel has a beeper walk signal for the blind, and beeps all night. Took a little to get used to, but eventually had a great sleep. Being a Mantra, reception is not manned all the time...if you pre-book it is okay as they will leave the key for collection on your arrival, if outside reception hours. If going stanby, check the reception times online to make sure it is manned, otherwise you may be unable to book a room by just dropping in...alternatively ring ahead during reception hours (note: reception only manned in the morning on Sat and Sun).

Room Tip: Suggest that you get one of the back rooms, away from the traffic light intersection outside the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phb_in_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraSandyBay, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thank you for your review, and positive comments regarding our property. The location is fantastic, everything is an easy walk!
Thank you also for your tips regarding our reception opening hours - we try to make this as easy as possible for late check ins and after hours call outs, but does make it difficult for last minute bookings!
We'll look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra One Sandy Bay Road on your next trip to Hobart.

Warm regards,

Campbell Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

These are quite nice apartments, good amount of space, clean and quiet and are in a handy location to walk around Hobart.

When we arrived on the Saturday afternoon there was no one on reception and we were provided access over the phone. This was all fine except my partner had forgotten to pre arrange a car park for the hire car. There appeared to be a lot of spare parks and there were very few people staying in the apartments. Regardless,the person who answered the phone suggested that we just park on the street as she wasn't sure which parks were available. That night the youth of Hobart decided to rip the rear view mirrors off the car which cost us quite a bit to have repaired. The hire car company told us that this happens all the time around the water front. - some local knowledge that we could have done with via our hotel!

Room Tip: Just make sure you insist on a car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adventuregirl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraSandyBay, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thank you for your review and positive comments regarding our property - it is indeed a fantastic location to explore Hobart from.
I am sorry to hear about your experience with your car. Having only just started here recently, I was unaware of the incident, but encourage you to contact me directly at the Hotel if I can be of any assistance.
Warm regards,

Campbell Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlton
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

My daughter and I stayed at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road this last weekend and had a great time. Location is excellent, just across the road from a lovely little park and Salamanca place.
The room was perfect for our needs, clean and comfortable. Would recommend for a stay in Hobart. Excellent communication from very helpful staff, Thanks

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissKDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraSandyBay, Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, 2 October 2011
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, I am pleased you and your daughter enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,

Koby Eastwood
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Went to Hobart last weekend. I chose to stay at the Mantra for the location - it was spot on! This is a great location if you want to visit the Salamanca markets - its just a 2 min walk accross the park to the top of Salamanca st. - and its quiet! Handy for dinner on Salamanca or anywhere on the waterfront. Handy for doing business in the CBD. Pretty handy for anything.

There is limited secure parking downstairs that you need to reserve and its $10 a day.

We arrived late - you dial a number near the door and you are instructed about how to get in.

The apartment:

Very spacious, I couldnt believe the amount of space.

Very Clean.

Good sized bathroom with shower not bath and also laundry sink and washing machine, they provide some laundry powder and toiletries of nice quality

Lounge room is equipped with TV, DVD player, CD player, a large couch (not a sofa bed), small dining table and 4 chairs. Plenty of room ....

The bedroom was also spacous with a King bed and ample cupboard space and hangers.

The kitchenette was fully equipped - acutally the best Ive seen except there was no hotplate or weirdly no filter coffee pot or plunger so you can make real coffee which is a let down - there is however a ketle, toasted sandwich maker, toaster, fryingpan, various baking dishes, massive knife collection, griller/oven, various kinds of glasses etc... it goes on - strange about the missing coffee equipment...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank fluffybinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraSandyBay, Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, 2 October 2011
The team at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road appreciate your feedback and we are pleased that you enjoyed our great location for your weekend away and our specious apartments.
Kind regards,

Koby Eastwood
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

After reading mixed reviews about Mantra One, I was slightly nervous to see what we where going to end up with.
On arrival, I was greeted by two very friendly staff members who were very helpful and informative. I was given our room key to a (what I thought) was a great sized, clean, modern room with everything you could possibly need for a short stay in Hobart. The location was also perfect and in walking distance to most things you would want to see. (Salamanca Market)
Our room was on the fourth floor facing the city, which gave us an amazing view of Mt Wellington. We did not experience any traffic or lift noise.
We were delighted with our stay and would definitely re-book AND recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 408 was fantastic, with views of Mt Wellington and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraSandyBay, Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, 2 October 2011
We appreciate your feedback and were pleased to hear that your had an enjoyable stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,

Koby Eastwood
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#12 of 48 in Hobart
1,195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#18 of 48 in Hobart
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#19 of 48 in Hobart
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#4 of 48 in Hobart
571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra One Sandy Bay Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra One Sandy Bay Road

Property: Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Address: 1 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra One Sandy Bay Road 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the centre of Hobart, opposite St David's Park, Mantra One Sandy Bay Road provides apartment accommodation within close proximity to the central business district and surrounding areas. Comprising modern self contained studios and one bedroom apartments each has an open plan design to create space and maximise comfort. All studios and apartments are air conditioned and provide urban views over Sandy Bay Road, St David's Park, Mount Wellington and the city of Hobart. The studios and apartments are ideally situated within easy walking distance of government offices and within close proximity of the central business district and associated services. Stroll through beautiful St David's Park to historic Salamanca Place, famous for its weekend markets, nearby Sullivan's Cove and Hobart Dock areas featuring a plethora of restaurants, cafes and attractions all right at your doorstep. Whether visiting Hobart on business or pleasure, our property provides the ideal accommodation, ensuring maximum comfort and a home away from home. It's also the perfect base from which to experience the vibrant cultural lifestyle and all Hobart offers. **Reception hours are: Monday-Friday: 8:00am-6:00pm. Saturday: 8:00am-1:00pm. Sunday: 9:00am-12:00 noon. ** (If you are arriving after these hours please call reception to arange after hours check in) Limited secure under cover parking is available on-site for registered guests,(daily fee $15.00 Applies per parking space). PRE-BOOKING OF PARKING SPACES IS REQUIRED, due to limited facilities all parking spaces are subject to availability and confirmation by the property. Ample street parking in close vicinity to One Sandy Bay Road is available. Mantra One Sandy Bay Road apartments are serviced weekly. Should you be staying with us for 7 nights or more your unit will receive a complimentary mid stay service. For shorter stays which are un-serviced we are happy to offer the opportunity to have a Refresh service provided on the day of your choice during your stay at additional charges. **Car parking is available onsite for an additional cost of $15 per night but MUST be pre-booked in adavance with the property** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra One Sandy Bay Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 1 Sandy Bay Road
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hotel Hobart
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing