We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Basic hotel but great location”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This hotel is in a very central location if you are visiting Hobart and want to be in close vicinity of attractions like the Salamanca Market, the wharf & restaurants. The hotel is quite basic and not well thought out in its structure, as we had to enter through the lobby then across an enclosed car park to another lift tower to get to our rooms. The rooms are quite large for the price you pay - containing a kitchenette and living area. If you aren't looking for any extras then this hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessyGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Great to read that you enjoyed the central location and the actual rooms of the hotel. I agree that it is a slightly odd structure having to cross a small under cover carpark to gain access to half the hotel rooms but the upside is we have parking and it is undercover.
Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra One Sandy Bay.

Regards
Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    297
    135
    50
    34
See reviews for
131
314
42
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Just spent the night here in a twin room. The young lady on the front desk was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room is modern and very big. It contains 2 TV's, kitchen, washer and dryer and fairy comfy beds and lounges. It is pretty new inside and is close to the CBD...in fact, a 5 minute walk to Salamanca Markets and all the popular pubs and restaurants. A great stay for a very good price. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tbate54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Great to read that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra One Sandy Bay on your next visit to Hobart.

Regards
Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My daughter, her 4month old baby and I recently stayed for 3 nights in a front room on the 4th floor. A superb view, clean spacious room and a well catered for baby! A short stroll through a delightful park and we were in Salamanca, across two roads and we were in a unique shopping area and a most fascinating waltz up and around Battery Point. All most worthy of a great review. One slight funny aspect is the small Reception area then a tricky access via the underground car park to the actual rooms. After the first day we discovered a much less complicated room access.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jt2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
It was great to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra One Sandy Bay on your next visit to Hobart.

Regards
Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I have stayed here 3 times and the location of this hotel is close to Salamanca and all of its restaurants. The rooms of this apartment hotel are oversized due to the conversion of this old building. The furniture is functional but not overly comfortable especially the beds which are like sleeping on a board.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for sending your feedback through as this enables us to see and hear what is important to our guests and allows us to continue to improve on what we are already doing. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future so you can see for yourself the improvements we are constantly making.

regards
Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The location is good and they do offer underground parking for a fee. Clean enough but the rooms are oddly laid out, applicances are not the most reliable, staff forgetful and basicly don't care. Spent a week in Tasmania and this was the worst place we stayed in by far. I have stayed in a fair few of these new type of hotel/apartment type places and these failed in a lot of ways. The location is good but I would look elsewhere. It wasnt cheap either!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ulankford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback through. I am very disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay and will definately be speaking with the team to ensure they are aware of our guests perceptions of our levels of service.
I look forward to the opportunity of looking after you again in the near future so you can see for yourself the ongoing improvements we are making.

regards
Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights during Mid Feb with a friend. We booked a 1 bedroom studio which was very spacious. 1 Queen bed and also a lounge room, small kitchen facility, laundry facility, shower.
Definately a great location and only walking distance to Salamanca Market and cafes/restaurants.
Parking onsite the hotel was available for additional $10 per day (which is reasonable but would had been a treat if it was complimentary).
The staff were friendly and helpful also. I would recommend staying here as it's a great location and also room for the rental car which you don't have to worry about.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cowieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

Warm welcome and efficient check in process. Room was large and clean, though the couch could do with replacing/recovering. Good location with easy access to city, Salamanca and the wharf area. A full size ironing board would be an improvement.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank cangau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#12 of 48 in Hobart
1,195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#18 of 48 in Hobart
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#19 of 48 in Hobart
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#4 of 48 in Hobart
571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra One Sandy Bay Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra One Sandy Bay Road

Property: Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Address: 1 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra One Sandy Bay Road 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the centre of Hobart, opposite St David's Park, Mantra One Sandy Bay Road provides apartment accommodation within close proximity to the central business district and surrounding areas. Comprising modern self contained studios and one bedroom apartments each has an open plan design to create space and maximise comfort. All studios and apartments are air conditioned and provide urban views over Sandy Bay Road, St David's Park, Mount Wellington and the city of Hobart. The studios and apartments are ideally situated within easy walking distance of government offices and within close proximity of the central business district and associated services. Stroll through beautiful St David's Park to historic Salamanca Place, famous for its weekend markets, nearby Sullivan's Cove and Hobart Dock areas featuring a plethora of restaurants, cafes and attractions all right at your doorstep. Whether visiting Hobart on business or pleasure, our property provides the ideal accommodation, ensuring maximum comfort and a home away from home. It's also the perfect base from which to experience the vibrant cultural lifestyle and all Hobart offers. **Reception hours are: Monday-Friday: 8:00am-6:00pm. Saturday: 8:00am-1:00pm. Sunday: 9:00am-12:00 noon. ** (If you are arriving after these hours please call reception to arange after hours check in) Limited secure under cover parking is available on-site for registered guests,(daily fee $15.00 Applies per parking space). PRE-BOOKING OF PARKING SPACES IS REQUIRED, due to limited facilities all parking spaces are subject to availability and confirmation by the property. Ample street parking in close vicinity to One Sandy Bay Road is available. Mantra One Sandy Bay Road apartments are serviced weekly. Should you be staying with us for 7 nights or more your unit will receive a complimentary mid stay service. For shorter stays which are un-serviced we are happy to offer the opportunity to have a Refresh service provided on the day of your choice during your stay at additional charges. **Car parking is available onsite for an additional cost of $15 per night but MUST be pre-booked in adavance with the property** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra One Sandy Bay Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 1 Sandy Bay Road
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hotel Hobart
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing