We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for a business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good value for a business stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

stayed here for a few nights. the one bedroom apartment was very spacious. The furniture was a bit dated. But it wasn't an issue for me. Location is good. close to CBD, waterfront, and salamanca. more advantages: washer and dryer within the unit, individual air-con, two flat tvs (one in bedroom one in living room) and free magazines in the reception. disadvantages: noisy lift, no on-site restaurant. Booked through departure lounge. so overall it was great value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex_logit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Location and size of the apartments are often a talking point for our guests as the apartments are quite large and we are situated so close to the CBD and the Hobart waterfront.
We are working our way through all of the apartments to have the furniture updated and are in the process of having another one done as we speak.
I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra One Sandy Bay in the near future.

Regards
Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    273
    124
    45
    34
See reviews for
115
294
38
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Upon entering the one bedroom unit, we were happily surprised with the light, space and great facilities offered. Kitchen had every amenity, convention microwave, cooker. dishwasher cutlery, cups plates, bread knife chopping board dish washing liquid sponges etc. Bathroom, huge with washer/dryer big shower. Free foxtell. Excellent location. Easy walk 2-4 mins Franklin wharf and Salimancia on your doorstep.light filled rooms, friendly reception. Bed comfortable, with extra blankets. Best value, and location. Thanks Mantra! Will return. Great Hotel!

Room Tip: We had a room faceing St Davids Parks witch was quiet and comfortable. Not a ..blow ya mind view , a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Its always a pleasure to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay and would happily stay with us again.
The apartments are very large and the team have been doing an outstanding trying to ensure our guests have all one would need to make it a home away from home.
I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra One Sandy Bay in the near future.

Regards
Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Mantra was ideally located, within easy walking distance of the CBD and wharf(for boat trips/tours) and Salamanca district for restaurants, bars and the markets.

Shuttle buses and tours all picked up and dropped off to the door.

The facilities themselves were ideal. Massive room, washer/dryer in the bathroom, fully equipped kitchen, great living room space with two sofas and opening windows! And a great view of the harbour. And perfectly functioning reverse cycle aircon, two tv's and a really comfy warm bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Its always a pleasure to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay and would happily stay with us again.
The 1 Bedroom Executive Apartments are very large and depending what side of the building you are allocated, the views range from city to mountain to St Davids Park and water views.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra One Sandy Bay in the near future.

Regards
Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cronulla, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I recently stayed here and i must say it was extremely central location. The bedroom wall was right on the elevator ABSOLUTELY DREADFUL. It made so much noise with people getting in and out and the clunking. Bed was extremely uncomfortable my partner ended up in major back pain all day where we couldn't do anything. It definitely is a budget hotel. I would not go back.

Room Tip: away from the elevator and unfortunately the beds were rough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 709laurens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
I am truly disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that we weren't able to assist in perhaps moving you to another apartment.
We are currently in the process of replacing one of the elevators and working through when would be the best time for this to happen. This hopefully will reduce all noise from the lift on this side of the building.
I hope you change your mind and do decide to give us another chance and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra One Sandy Bay in the near future.

Regards
Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Mornington, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Can highly recommend this apartment hotel a shot walk from the city and Salamanca Place.
The staff were attentive, book a car parking space beforehand and enjoy your visit on foot.
We were visiting family south of Hobart so, once again, location was important.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbliss330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Its always a pleasure to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay and would happily stay with us again.
Location is so important when on holidays and being so close to the CBD, Salamanca and Waterfront is often a talking point for so many of our guests.
Parking is unfortunately limited so it is a good idea to pre book a car spot particularly if you want to leave your car here during the day on a weekday but parking is still free overnight and on the weekends around the hotel.
I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra One Sandy Bay in the near future.

Regards
Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Mantra One for two nights. The Hotel is in a great location, close to Salamanca, markets, Mona ferry etc. Room was clean and very spacious. I would stay again but ask for a room away from the lift.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Its always a pleasure to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay and would happily stay with us again.
The apartments are very large and the housekeeping team have been doing an outstanding job ensuring the apartments are clean so thank you for mentioning it.
The location is always a talking point with many of our guests as we are so close to the CBD, Salamanca and the waterfront.
I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra One Sandy Bay in the near future.

Regards
Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked a one bed apartment and the size was very comfortable for us and our 2 yr old girl. The layout was good with the sleeping and living quarters separated by a galley kitchen. The room was quite modern, however finished off very cheaply. Some of the kitchen cupboard doors were falling off and the laminate flooring was coming up. The location in proximity to Salamanca Place and the harbour is amazing but the trade off is that you do hear a lot of street noise. We were lucky enough to be on the top floor and loved the views from our (albeit high) windows. The lift is noisy and could be heard from our bed but because there weren't that many rooms on our side of the building it didn't bother us. Parking is available if prebooked but it is pretty tight. If you're after a cozy place to stay in the center of town this one's pretty good. Be prepared that there is no room service or restaurant on location.

Room Tip: Book a room on the top floor. Bring your own foodo or go out to dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarringtonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Its always a pleasure to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay and would happily stay with us again.
All of the apartments are individually owned and we are currently working our way through updating the furniture in the apartments that have not yet completed the soft refurbishment.
We are also currently working through the replacement of one of our lifts and when would be the ideal time to do this which would also reduce the lift noise.
I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra One Sandy Bay in the near future.

Regards
Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#11 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#17 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#4 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#20 of 46 in Hobart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra One Sandy Bay Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra One Sandy Bay Road

Property: Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Address: 1 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra One Sandy Bay Road 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the centre of Hobart, opposite St David's Park, Mantra One Sandy Bay Road provides apartment accommodation within close proximity to the central business district and surrounding areas. Comprising modern self contained studios and one bedroom apartments each has an open plan design to create space and maximise comfort. All studios and apartments are air conditioned and provide urban views over Sandy Bay Road, St David's Park, Mount Wellington and the city of Hobart. The studios and apartments are ideally situated within easy walking distance of government offices and within close proximity of the central business district and associated services. Stroll through beautiful St David's Park to historic Salamanca Place, famous for its weekend markets, nearby Sullivan's Cove and Hobart Dock areas featuring a plethora of restaurants, cafes and attractions all right at your doorstep. Whether visiting Hobart on business or pleasure, our property provides the ideal accommodation, ensuring maximum comfort and a home away from home. It's also the perfect base from which to experience the vibrant cultural lifestyle and all Hobart offers. **Reception hours are: Monday-Friday: 8:00am-6:00pm. Saturday: 8:00am-1:00pm. Sunday: 9:00am-12:00 noon. ** (If you are arriving after these hours please call reception to arange after hours check in) Limited secure under cover parking is available on-site for registered guests,(daily fee $15.00 Applies per parking space). PRE-BOOKING OF PARKING SPACES IS REQUIRED, due to limited facilities all parking spaces are subject to availability and confirmation by the property. Ample street parking in close vicinity to One Sandy Bay Road is available. Mantra One Sandy Bay Road apartments are serviced weekly. Should you be staying with us for 7 nights or more your unit will receive a complimentary mid stay service. For shorter stays which are un-serviced we are happy to offer the opportunity to have a Refresh service provided on the day of your choice during your stay at additional charges. **Car parking is available onsite for an additional cost of $15 per night but MUST be pre-booked in adavance with the property** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra One Sandy Bay Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 1 Sandy Bay Road
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hotel Hobart
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing