We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay in Hobart”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Mantra is in a handy spot, the room was good with the lounge area huge. Parking at this hotel is limited so you must book it early, don't expect to turn up and arrange it then. The room while well fitted out did have an uncomfortable bed.
Two tv's both with Foxtel.
I would go back again & recommend using various websites to secure a good deal.
The paid Wifi was expensive so beware.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank COLIN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

It's always such a pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed the location of the hotel and size of the apartment. Parking is limited and prebooking is recommended but after 6pm and on weekends it is free around the hotel.
WIFI is currently supplied by a third party but and prices can still be a tad steep. I was dissapointed to read that you found the bed to be uncomfortable as this is not a common piece of feedback which I receive.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra One Sandy Bay in the near future.

Regards
Danny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

A friend and I stayed here for a night, and I wish it could have been longer!
The room was generously sized, had all the facilities you could possibly need, the beds are comfy and I couldn't hear any lift noise.

You can book parking, we didn't bother there is plenty of street parking. Some people have mentioned the lack of an restaurant, this is a silly complaint because you're a 5 minute walk to several beautiful options!

Will be back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Piers M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

It's always such a pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. The location is so good and close to Salamanca that the restaurant options are vast, be it for breakfast,lunch or dinner.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra One Sandy Bay in the near future.

Regards
Danny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in an executive room. Everything about our stay was of a high standard. The room was certainly spacious but the air con meant it was not cold. The bed was one of the best we have had. It was a bonus having a washing machine although the drier took 2 hours and because of the way it worked the clothes needed drying in the vicinity of the aircon as they came out damp. The location again was perfect, just a short walk to Salamanca for meals, the ferry to Mona, a must see, and close to the city. We prebooked parking having read previous reviews and were pleased we did. Mantra was certainly value for money and an excellent place to stay. I would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank JaneG546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

It's always such a pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. I feel that if the location is good and the team are friendly we are half way to ensuring our guests enjoy their stay with us and everything Hobart has to offer.

The washer/dryer is a bonus, particularly for those longer staying guests even though the drying time can be longer than expected.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra One Sandy Bay in the near future.

Regards
Danny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at Mantra July 2014 had a room on the 3rd floor overlooking Davey Street,
the room was an executive suite, very large lounge room about 8 meters by 4 very clean bathroom and kitchen area, the bed for me was a little firm but fine for my wife, there is no cook top so you will need to heat everything in the convection oven, overall we were very happy and would stay again,

Room Tip: we had 308 was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrUlsterFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Its always a pleasure to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay and would happily stay with us again.
The 1 Bedroom Executive Apartments are very large and the housekeeping team have been doing an outstanding job ensuring the apartments are clean so thank you for mentioning it.
I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra One Sandy Bay in the near future.

Regards
Danny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

stayed here for a few nights. the one bedroom apartment was very spacious. The furniture was a bit dated. But it wasn't an issue for me. Location is good. close to CBD, waterfront, and salamanca. more advantages: washer and dryer within the unit, individual air-con, two flat tvs (one in bedroom one in living room) and free magazines in the reception. disadvantages: noisy lift, no on-site restaurant. Booked through departure lounge. so overall it was great value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex_logit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Location and size of the apartments are often a talking point for our guests as the apartments are quite large and we are situated so close to the CBD and the Hobart waterfront.
We are working our way through all of the apartments to have the furniture updated and are in the process of having another one done as we speak.
I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra One Sandy Bay in the near future.

Regards
Danny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Upon entering the one bedroom unit, we were happily surprised with the light, space and great facilities offered. Kitchen had every amenity, convention microwave, cooker. dishwasher cutlery, cups plates, bread knife chopping board dish washing liquid sponges etc. Bathroom, huge with washer/dryer big shower. Free foxtell. Excellent location. Easy walk 2-4 mins Franklin wharf and Salimancia on your doorstep.light filled rooms, friendly reception. Bed comfortable, with extra blankets. Best value, and location. Thanks Mantra! Will return. Great Hotel!

Room Tip: We had a room faceing St Davids Parks witch was quiet and comfortable. Not a ..blow ya mind view , a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Its always a pleasure to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay and would happily stay with us again.
The apartments are very large and the team have been doing an outstanding trying to ensure our guests have all one would need to make it a home away from home.
I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra One Sandy Bay in the near future.

Regards
Danny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Mantra was ideally located, within easy walking distance of the CBD and wharf(for boat trips/tours) and Salamanca district for restaurants, bars and the markets.

Shuttle buses and tours all picked up and dropped off to the door.

The facilities themselves were ideal. Massive room, washer/dryer in the bathroom, fully equipped kitchen, great living room space with two sofas and opening windows! And a great view of the harbour. And perfectly functioning reverse cycle aircon, two tv's and a really comfy warm bed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny V, General Manager at Mantra One Sandy Bay Road, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Its always a pleasure to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay and would happily stay with us again.
The 1 Bedroom Executive Apartments are very large and depending what side of the building you are allocated, the views range from city to mountain to St Davids Park and water views.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra One Sandy Bay in the near future.

Regards
Danny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#12 of 47 in Hobart
1,264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#16 of 47 in Hobart
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#18 of 47 in Hobart
396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 47 in Hobart
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 47 in Hobart
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra One Sandy Bay Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra One Sandy Bay Road

Address: 1 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: £83 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra One Sandy Bay Road 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the heritage and culture of Tasmania's capital from one of Hobart's most charming hotels, Mantra One Sandy Bay Road. Located just minutes from the CBD, Salamanca Market, and world-famous Museum of Old and New Art (MONA), Mantra One Sandy Bay Road hotel offers comfort and convenience at a great price. Our spacious Studio, One Bedroom Executive and One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments offer internet access, Foxtel, air-conditioning and kitchens. Restaurants, cafes, pubs and bars are a stroll away from Mantra One Sandy Bay Road. Discover Tasmania's best food and wine at Salamanca, Battery Point, Sandy Bay and Hobart's CBD. *Reception hours are: Monday-Friday: 8:00am-6:00pm. Saturday: 8:00am-1:00pm. Sunday: 9:00am-12:00 noon. (If you are arriving after these hours please call reception to arrange after hours check in). **Car parking is available onsite for an additional cost of $20 per night but MUST be pre-booked in advance with the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra One Sandy Bay Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 1 Sandy Bay Road
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hotel Hobart
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing