We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great roomy apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A great roomy apartment”
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Mantra has good sized clean modern rooms with seperate bedroom, lounge, kitchen with all mod cons including your own washing machine. I stayed here for 10 days and can't really fault anything apart from the fact that it would be nice to open the windows but i would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    297
    135
    50
    34
See reviews for
131
314
42
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Capricorn Coast, QLD
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

Mantra is in a great location on the fringe of the CBD (about 5 mins to the Mall). Hotel is located right across the road from St David's Park that leads down to Salamanca Place (shops, pubs, restaurants etc).

Rooms are clean and very spaceious! Beds are comfortable and the kitchenette has everything you need to prepare simple meals.

I would highly reccommend the Mantra to anyone travelling for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheStropp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2009

I selected Mantra One from wotif.com as it was close to my conference venue. The property is very clean and modern, with spacious but quirky accommodation. (The building is a former telephone exchange.) It's just a few minutes walk to the bars, restaurants and market in Salamanca and quite close to downtown Hobart. The room has new mod cons such as microwave, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. One piece of advice: be sure to buy in your breakfast in advance, or you will go hungry as I did!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane-Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

I stayed for a week for work and found this to be an excellent apartment hotel. They do have some strange room configurations as it's been built into an old warehouse or office building. This meant that I had huge windows in my lounge overlooking Mt Wellington but no natural light or windows in my bedroom at all. A bit unfortunate but as I was only sleeping in my room, I didn'y worry too much. Having a full kitchen was great. Bathrrom was also modern, clean and plenty of hot water (as well as a washing machine). I felt like was in an episode from a show on the lifestyle channel as it had very low key, streamlined and modern decor in a posh understated way.

It's close to nearly everything and well within walking distance of the harbour and docks as well as the market at Salamanca Place on Saturday. Leaving our luggae after check out was no trouble. I travel a lot for work and believe me - a hotel like this in another capital city would have cost at least half the price again.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanpiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2009

Spacious luxury apartments. I found this on Wotif and then contacted the apartments directly. We had a two bedroom apartment, which was on two levels and absolutely huge, on the 5th/top floor of the complex at the side and thus had no problems with noise. The apartment was beautiful with microwave, dishwasher and all utensils. The bathroom was big with a washer/drier which was very useful after a fortnight in Tassie! Aircon was provided in the living room and the top bedroom which we did have on as it was warm in Tas. We booked parking under the building for $10 per night which was well worth the money for security and ease. This accomodation was perfect for us as we were out and about all day and wanted to self cater.

  • Liked — very high quality fixtures and fittings
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EnglishAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whiteknight5
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

The apartments are ideally located right opposite David's Park and close to Sullivans Cove. The room we stayed in was luxurious, very clean and provided everything we needed. However our short stay in Hobart was ruined by the excessive noise levels experienced on the three nights that we stayed in the apartments (we were supposed to stay for four, but cancelled the fourth night). Granted we stayed over the holiday season - 29-31 December, but you don't expect your sleep to be disrupted by rowdy guests every single night. On the 29, other guests were shouting and banging doors all night and morning long, playing loud music until 3:30am. We complained to the management, they spoke to the guests making the noise, but this still continued. In the end we had to buy some ear-plugs, and we wore these every night, just so we could get a decent night sleep.

I think it is pot luck with these apartments, if you time it well, it will be quiet, but watch out for the major holiday seasons, as this is when the apartments will be full, and you could be left sleepless in Hobart.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank whiteknight5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2008

Mantra One Sandy Bay is a nice place to stay but not if you don't like the heat and don't like having a wall mounted air conditioner on 24/7! It's a real shame that you can't open windows anywhere in the whole building to let in that lovely fresh Hobart air!

The whole building is very hot and stuffy overall and the rooms facing the afternoon sun must be unbearable in the summer.

We thought we had found the perfect accommodation at last in Hobart for our yearly stays, but the overheated building and rooms have put us off.

You definitely won't want to stay there if you feel the heat and don't want to have your holiday spoiled with the continual drone of an air conditioner sharing your room.

  • Liked — very nice rooms, clean and modern
  • Disliked — not being able to open windows anywhere and having the air conditioner on 24/7
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank birdiegirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#12 of 48 in Hobart
1,195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#18 of 48 in Hobart
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#19 of 48 in Hobart
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#4 of 48 in Hobart
571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra One Sandy Bay Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra One Sandy Bay Road

Property: Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Address: 1 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra One Sandy Bay Road 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the centre of Hobart, opposite St David's Park, Mantra One Sandy Bay Road provides apartment accommodation within close proximity to the central business district and surrounding areas. Comprising modern self contained studios and one bedroom apartments each has an open plan design to create space and maximise comfort. All studios and apartments are air conditioned and provide urban views over Sandy Bay Road, St David's Park, Mount Wellington and the city of Hobart. The studios and apartments are ideally situated within easy walking distance of government offices and within close proximity of the central business district and associated services. Stroll through beautiful St David's Park to historic Salamanca Place, famous for its weekend markets, nearby Sullivan's Cove and Hobart Dock areas featuring a plethora of restaurants, cafes and attractions all right at your doorstep. Whether visiting Hobart on business or pleasure, our property provides the ideal accommodation, ensuring maximum comfort and a home away from home. It's also the perfect base from which to experience the vibrant cultural lifestyle and all Hobart offers. **Reception hours are: Monday-Friday: 8:00am-6:00pm. Saturday: 8:00am-1:00pm. Sunday: 9:00am-12:00 noon. ** (If you are arriving after these hours please call reception to arange after hours check in) Limited secure under cover parking is available on-site for registered guests,(daily fee $15.00 Applies per parking space). PRE-BOOKING OF PARKING SPACES IS REQUIRED, due to limited facilities all parking spaces are subject to availability and confirmation by the property. Ample street parking in close vicinity to One Sandy Bay Road is available. Mantra One Sandy Bay Road apartments are serviced weekly. Should you be staying with us for 7 nights or more your unit will receive a complimentary mid stay service. For shorter stays which are un-serviced we are happy to offer the opportunity to have a Refresh service provided on the day of your choice during your stay at additional charges. **Car parking is available onsite for an additional cost of $15 per night but MUST be pre-booked in adavance with the property** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra One Sandy Bay Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 1 Sandy Bay Road
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hotel Hobart
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing