We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely historic cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Jane Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hobart, Greater Hobart, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alianne
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely historic cottage”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

As a traveller, Hobart is now a special place for us. A large part of this is due to our stay in the lovely Jane Cottage. Well located for dining/breakfast eateries, well equiped and well presented. We particularly enjoyed the little courtyard which was the perfect spot for a glass of wine and end of day review. Although there was a great bathroom heater and a very comfy and snug double bed we would have liked more heating - maybe it is provided during the winter months. As commented on in previous reviews, there is an oddly small shower. Does the job, but is a little tricky for big people. Perhaps one should consider it as a reminder of what life was like throughout the many decades that have past since the cottage was built in 1855. I loved the sense of history - which is why we chose to stay there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Amazing location. Close to everything you need in Hobart.”
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Very impressed with the location of the cottage, its just a walk away from most of the essentials. Transport is at the end of the road as is some of Hobarts finest eateries. A short 30min walk into the centre of the city or 10 minute bus ride. The only niggle we could find was the shortage of a washing machine, if you were staying longer than a week it could be a problem.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne A
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A magical place”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for the weekend and it was the most amazing and relaxing place, so much character, very charming, comfortable bed, great heating, lots of books to read and so close to the Main Street full of great restaurants

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taricss
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage - close to everything”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We really enjoyed our stay here. The position is perfect, the cottage quaint and welcoming. Aesop toiletries provided a sense of luxury. Shower is tiny but is fine. Owner helpful and accurate with instructions.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude d
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfecct holiday rental”
Reviewed 5 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

everything at the cottage has been prepared for your comfort and pleasure. There are many personal touches added to make you feel welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location as in being in the hub of many eateries and restaurants
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Kaur201...
Mackay, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 12 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Great place to stay whilst in hobart! We were just there for a night and wished we could have stayed for longer.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: warm place to stay
Liked least: probably not ideal for pets for longer stays
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaynoBega
Bega
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 29 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
4
people found this review helpful

My wife and I recently stayed for a week at Jane Cottage and loved it. A stones throw from the vibrant North Hobart restaurant precinct. As seasoned travelers , our usual way is stock up on provisions and cook local produce as we are passionate foodies ( and a few local beers to wash the food down !!). But the array of restaurants basically on our doorstep , swayed us to eat out almost every night. As for Jane Cottage , it was cosy , comfortable and ticked all the boxes. Parking was never a problem with the resident parking label provided. We were most happy using it as our base for day trips. I would recommend to couples who like to park the car , have a few drinks and a nice meal as you have plenty of choices. Also some great coffee options in the morning , and Zum's baguette was my breakfast of choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing