We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very enjoyable evening”
Review of Hearth

Hearth
Ranked #30 of 600 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$19
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Casual family friendly eatery serving pizza and small plates. We have a small boutique wine list and craft beers. Open fires and small intimate rooms make this a special place to dine.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very enjoyable evening”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The food excellent, the flavours and textures were extremely impressive and presentation was very appealing which added to the experience. The open fire is a nice touch and the friendly service and pace of service was brilliant. I would highly recommend to anyone

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fanoftassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    95
    31
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Spent our anniversary dinner here and it was simply superb. Lovely old building, atmosphere was warm and inviting. Our waitress was very attentive and helpful with menu choices. The food was beautifully presented and absolutely delicious, had a great night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank franceabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Treasured Gem of a Restaurant”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My girlfriend & I went to Monty's for the first time this week and were very impressed with all aspects of our visit. Welcoming, friendly staff, warm inviting log fire, lovely olde setting with rooms sectioned off giving diners a sense of a private atmosphere.
We shared Pacific Island Oysters-6 for $15 & Cured Ocean Trout $17. Our mains were Roast Blue Eye-$35 & worth every cent as well as Poached Atlantic Salmon-$30 & delicious.
As we are true blue "Foodies", we also had Sides of Roast Kipfler Potatoes, rosemary & flaked sea salt and Roast Cauliflower, toasted almonds & apricots, curry oil at $8 each.
We enjoyed the the night so much, we decided to delay our departure while we shared 3 wonderful cheeses that are offered at $12 for 40g or 6 cheeses for $60. The cheese selection fills an A4 page on its own.
Being locals, we are now scratching our heads as to why it took us so long to venture up off the Salamanca strip to find this Gem!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CindyKage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best evenings out in tasmania”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Well i thought the food was out of this world. Great waiter and waitress. If i return to tasmania would love to go back to this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is a seriously good restaurant!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had a wonderful dining experience at Monty’s. We visited after being recommended by a friend and the restaurant surpassed all our expectations. The service was excellent and the waitress did a wonderful job of looking after us and providing recommendations. The atmosphere in an old building with log fires was really nice. However it was the quality of the cooking and ingredients that really stood out. The food looks amazing on the plate, all the flavours of the dishes work exceptionally well together and it was cooked to perfection. We would certainly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TMOTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hearth also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Hearth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing