We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Incredibly peaceful, uber stylish, & simply the...”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Luxurious shower room
Press a button to shower in the morning sun!
Steeped in history, tucked away in the gardens is Monty's Hideaway
Steeped in history
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hobart, Greater Hobart, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tracey S
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredibly peaceful, uber stylish, & simply the BEST location!”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This is the perfect place to base yourself in Hobart. The Hideaway itself is beautifully appointed, incredibly private and ideal for a two person stay. Close to the city centre, shops, restaurants and cafes - you'll be spoilt for choice with lots of options close by. The only downside was having to leave ... we'll definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2017
Thanks for your great review! Glad you enjoyed your time in Hobart.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrippyTra...
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Under the Stars........Perfect Accommodation!”
Reviewed 18 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Monty's Hideaway is one of the four seperate apartments located within this one property and they were all of outstanding quality. As a large group we occupied all the apartments and they were all at the same high standard.

The youngest couple, in their 20's, had the privilege of Montys and slept every night with the retracting roof partially open which they could not rave enough about. Monty's is slightly set back in a corner of the property offering complete privacy from other apartments, which they personally loved.

Beds - All mattresses were comfortable with hotel grade luxury sheet/bedding. Beds can be configured into singles in some rooms with murphy beds also available in some apartment rooms.

Bathrooms - Sukin Organic Body wash, Shampoo and Conditioner were supplied in all bathrooms. There was underfloor heating and hotel grade towels which sit on a heated towel railing, perfect for the cooler evenings.

Kitchen/Living Areas - All kitchenettes contained milk, orange juice, tea/coffee/sugar, packet of biscuits, bottle of wine and chocolate......this gesture was gratefully welcomed and added that extra touch of personalised service to our stay.

All rooms are controlled by thermostat heating and was lovely on the chilly nights we needed it. All apartments were spotless clean and the gardens well maintained. In an outhouse there is a communal washing machine and dryer.

This property is located within a 5 - 10 minute walk to supermarket and chemist, pub/hotels and restaurants/fast food take away and being centrally located easy walking to Salamanca Markets, Docks and various delicious cafes and restaurants.

Do not miss visiting MONA (Muesum of Old and New Art) and take the ferry there it's a beautiful, fast, non rocky ride. Port Arthur is a hotpot of history and life in a penal town......and don't miss a breakfast at Harbour Lights.

Not one of our 12 person party had any negatives to say, only glowing comments and with promises to stay again....plus the people of Tassie were exceptionally friendly :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend!”
Reviewed 2 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We loved our stay at Rebecca's hideaway! It was exactly what we wanted - central but secluded and very comfortable. Being able to lie in bed and watch the stars through the open roof above was a real treat. Any communication we had with Rebecca was always clear, very prompt and easy. The place has some really cool touches like the underfloor heating, opening bathroom and bedroom roofs and sound system. In a great location in Hobart with easy walk to Salamanca markets area etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Thanks Rebecca for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed watching the stars from bed!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikita S
1 review
“Great value - Amazing Location & Spectacular Views”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Such a warm and accommodating host! Greeted and shown around the place. Access to wifi and tablet allowed surround sound while we lay under the stars.
Underfloor heating kept us cosy during the wintery Hobart weather.
Standing on your private patio you have spectacular views of Hobart Wharf & Mount Wellington.
Near by restaurants, supermarket, pharmacy, pubs, fast food & fuel stations.
Everything you need for a short comfortable stay in Hobart.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Thanks for your lovely review Nikita. We look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Amazing! Truly unique experience.”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My partner and I absolutely loved our stay at Monty's Hideaway! Definitely recommend. We would love to stay there again :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Dear Catherine, thanks for staying with us and for your kind words. Perhaps we'll see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree D
1 review
“We'll be returning!!”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

When we arrived at the Old Bishop's Quarters, the view immediately took my breath away. Rebecca's clear and easy instructions had us finding the Hideaway easily. They fantastic restaurant recommendations had us walking all over Salamanca Place and King St (Solo Italian restaurant was particularly good and Doctor Syntax had wholesome food and a quiet atmosphere). The Hideaway itself was an architect's dream. Smart use of material, great underfloor heating and fantastic quirks such as the retractable roof. We will definitely be returning to the Hideaway when we return to Tasmania. What a treat!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Thanks for your great review. Glad you enjoyed your time here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacypay
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Incredible Value”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This was one of the coolest (if not coolest) places I have ever stayed and I travel about 300 days a year. The quality in construction and design of this converted shipping container is mind-blowing. It's complete with a contractable roof over the bed and an insanely modern bathroom. It puts most Tiny Houses on HGTV to shame.

The owner was incredible sweet checking in on me multiple times prior to arrival so that she would be at the property when I showed up. The internet was not working for maybe 1 minute. . . . her husband and son fixed it promptly. There is a secluded outdoor patio space right outside the sliding glass door that has a gorgeous view of the city below. The container gets a lot of natural light which I enjoyed.

The unit is on the grounds of a very historic home that the owner lives in. Even though you are sharing the garden and grounds with the family, I did feel as if I had my "own space" and was not bothered by the proximity. The home is located in a well off area- a residential tree lined street which is easily walkable to Salmanaca Market and the area with lots of restaurants.

If you can't tell, I LOVED THIS PLACE. Hobart is a charming town and I would not hesitate to stay here again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
Thanks for your lovely words. Glad you enjoyed staying in Monty's Hideaway.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing