We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Location...So very glad we decided to...”

Review of 55 Davey

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Hobart, Greater Hobart, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Josephinx
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Location...So very glad we decided to stay here!”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We had a large group come stay at 55 Davey so that we would have a home base for the Mona Festival in Jan. We organised to stay in both the upstairs and downstairs townhouses. Nick was a fantastic host. He gave directions on how to access the properties and was very prompt in replying when we contacted him during our stay. He went out of his way to make sure we had a stress-free stay at 55 Davey and we really appreciate the efforts he went to.

The place itself is fantastic. The is very fun and colorful, yet homely and welcoming at the same time. We had a variety of families in our group, some with infants, some with small children. There were so many spaces between the two houses, that it worked really well. And because it is so central, we were able to simply walk down to the wharf to catch the ferry for the festival and/or meet up at a restaurant for dinner. Thank you so much Nick!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personality of the townhouses. Awesome.
Liked least: I didn't mind it, but the stairs are a little steep if you have difficulty walking.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
218shaz
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL, GREAT ACCOMODATION, GREAT AREA.”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Be prepared to pay...but you get exceptional accommodation in a top location, in an old
home. We had twelve in our group, there was room for all.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoSkie...
Siem Reap, Cambodia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hobart Townhouse”
Reviewed 20 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great, clean townhouse with everything you could want. Comfy beds, good kitchen, heating and cooling and spacious. It had lots of nice touches like Tas coffee, fresh milk, board games, videos and nice towels.
The service was very friendly and really efficient.
The location was great, nice park across the road, close to everything.
We'd stay again for sure.
Downsides - wifi was slow and the ipod speakers were pretty average.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: slow wifi
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shani B
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy,comfortable,welcoming and location!”
Reviewed 19 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A gorgeous place to stay right in strolling distance from Salamanca and the waterfront. Quirky, welcoming and creative, 55Davey gives you a taste of what it must be like to live in one of the gorgeous historic homes that dot Hobarts streets. We loved the teacups, original floorboards, quaint views from original Windows and cozy lamp lit bedrooms with super comfy beds. Impeccably clean but oh so cozy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and attention to detail.
Liked least: Stair access possibly difficult for some.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela R
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Perfect spot for a long weekend stay”
Reviewed 16 December 2015 for a stay in July 2015

55 Davey was the perfect choice for our extended weekend in Hobart. We had 7 people stay and every room was perfectly appointed with enough towels and seats for everyone, even milk in the fridge and tea and coffee in the cupboards. We came to Hobart to celebrate a 60th and because 55 Davey is so close to the middle of Hobart it made it so easy to get everywhere. Nick was so accomodating. Even when we had to call him late on the Thursday night because we muddled the keys he answered immediately and helped us fix the problem. The apartment itself was beautiful and very true to the pictures shown. I honestly wouldn't change anything and staying here really made the weekend special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The properties quirky personality
Liked least: The back stairs to the apartment
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing