We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great house right next to the pub and off the main road”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tooborac Hotel & Brewery
Ranked #444 of 1,601 Speciality Lodging in Victoria
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Some friends and I stayed in the larger house on a cycling trip around the Ballarat/Pyrenees/Castlemaine region. The house was fantastic - beautiful views over the neighbouring paddocks and hills, a log fire, 2 bathrooms, 5 beds plus 2 pull out beds. Not to mention the convenient proximity to the pub!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank jamesr1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Spent the day driving from Melbourne to Moama seeing some customers and noticed this pub on the way up and made a note that I should pop in for a beer on the way back to Melbourne. What a great idea as it is a great old country pub but with some great beer that they brew their own. I'll be back for sure this time for a long lunch

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We were a group of 5 staying at 3 bedroom cottage. It's a little way from Heathcote town and definitely need a car to get around but it was the only place I could find that could accommodate our size of group on a self catering basis rather than 3 rooms at a B&B. Our wine tour picked up another group of 5 from another cottage in the area and similarly that was quite remote too so we preferred our place because at least there was the pub!

We enjoyed the pub and the friendly crew there. We had dinner there one night and found it pretty good. We also enjoyed its famous rabbit pie and took some home with us. We requested another sharper knife as there was only a small paring knife which was blunt at the cottage and the landlord supplied that willingly giving us the impression that if there is anything missing, they would provide.

There was plenty of hot water and the water pressure in both bathrooms was excellent. We loved the fire and all the logs ready for us to burn through. We had, except for the knife, adequate kitchen equipment and breakfast provisions were adequate. The biggest downfall was that although the fire was great, it only really kept the living area warm and the bedrooms and rest of the house was very very cold. We rearranged the sofas to encircle the fire so we had a place to gather in the warmth and also warmed our doonas and pyjamas before heading to bed! There were plenty of blankets and the doonas were great so once in bed it was fine but certainly getting up in the morning or in the middle of the night for the bathroom was very chilly. There was an A/C and heating unit on the wall in the living room but it wasn't great at heating beyond the living area and once we had the fire going didn't really add anything.

We really enjoyed our stay and wish we'd been better prepared. My friend would have brought a portable heater and maybe we would have brought more clothes but I guess we 5 Brits just underestimated how cold country Victoria can get in Winter and also that Australian houses don't have central heating! I think if we were to visit Heathcote again and in such a sized group I would certainly stay here again but bring my own heating!

Room Tip: Bring your own heater for the Winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fondofgoodtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We went away for a girls weekend and had a ball. The house was perfect for us. 2 bathrooms is genius. The staff at the hotel are so friendly, I felt like I was staying with friends. Food at the hotel was yummy as was the wine and the pale ale. Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

As a suprise birthday treat (on a budget) for my husband, I booked the Cottage beside the pub for a night and what a great choice I made! Having planned to spend the day wine tasting in the Heathcote winery region, I thought that he'd appreciate a few beers and a good pub meal to finish the day and I wouldn't have to worry about driving home. So we checked in late in the afternoon after finishing at McIvor winery just down the road. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Yep, the trucks on the road outside are a little noisey at 6am but we got back to sleep once we got used to them. The breakfast basket was huge and tasty although a little difficult to cook in one small frypan and we shared cups of tea out of the one teacup! The resident ginger tomcat was welcome, friendly and polite company when we ate breakfast outside.

At the pub the night before we had the tasting flight of beers to start, then some more of our favourites followed by a lovely pub meal and a good Heathcote red. Rabbit pie for me and the beef pie for him! All in all a great experience - thanks TH&B!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StrayKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

What a wonderful surprise in the middle of nowhere. We had a lovely Sunday lunch at this hotel. Warmly greeted at the door by hostess/waitress and taken to our seats in one of there small intimate rooms complete with open fire place. Meals were brought out fast and of good size. Battered snapper was hot and crisp, curried prawns were served with a bed of rice, plenty of prawns very yummy. Chicken Parma served with fresh salad and chips and spinach and ricotta ravioli was equally tasty. As a bonus you can tour their boutique brewery and purchase different styles of beer. All in all a great day out we will diffently visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank raylene11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The old Cobb and Co pub is a delight. Rustic in atmosphere and traditional throughout - no poker machines here. Fabulous food, be sure to try the rabbit pie, washed down with the locally made brew. Val and James offer genuine country hospitality. The atmosphere is laid back and caters well for kids. Accommodation is an option of a small cottage right next to the pub but is on the main road so a bit noisy with truck traffic at night. Better is the house out the back. A recently built 3 bedroom house is a bargain. 3 large bedrooms plus 2 double sofa beds in a spacious living area. With 8 people in here we were more than comfortable. 2 full bathrooms also makes a group stay easy. The house is very well equipped, and comes with generous supplies for a cook-it-yourself country breakfast. The house is surrounded by a large balcony which is bathed in afternoon sunshine which overlooks a paddock and bushland. Be sure to ask about the small tour of the micro-brewery which is complimented by interesting history about the buildings. While not luxurious, this place has everything you need for a relaxing and casual weekend just 10 minutes from some fabulous Australian wineries.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kat_traveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
72.8 mi away
Rose City Motor Inn
Rose City Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Benalla
112 reviews
129.5 mi away
Arlberg Mt Hotham
Arlberg Mt Hotham
#2 of 2 in Mount Hotham
83 reviews
112.7 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#3 of 9 in Lorne
3,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
137.8 mi away
QT Falls Creek
QT Falls Creek
#2 of 3 in Falls Creek
236 reviews
122.4 mi away
Cascade Motel
Cascade Motel
#2 of 4 in Camperdown
28 reviews
93.7 mi away
RACV Torquay Resort
RACV Torquay Resort
#1 of 5 in Torquay
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tooborac Hotel & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tooborac Hotel & Brewery

Address: 5115 Northern Highway | Tooborac, Victoria 3522, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #444 of 1,601 Speciality Lodging in Victoria
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing