We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our visit to Mackenzie Water fall”

Grampians National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$103.89*
and up
Grampians National Park Day Trip from Melbourne Including MacKenzie Falls
More Info
US$108.72*
and up
Small-Group Grampians Day Trip from Melbourne
More Info
US$104.69*
and up
Grampians National Park Small-Group Eco Tour from Melbourne
Ranked #144 of 2,913 things to do in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The park is a great destination for walking, sightseeing, camping, rock climbing, scenic drives and spending time in nature. Native animals abound, so keep an eye out for kangaroos and emus, especially while driving. The Grampians are rich in Aboriginal culture and provide an insight into the Jardwadjali and Djab Wurrung people who have walked and lived in these ranges they have called Gariwerd for thousands of years. For further Park information, walking brochures and detailed maps call into Brambuk - The National Park and Cultural Centre, 2.5km south of Halls Gap. The Grampians National Park is famous for its variety of bushwalking experiences; from a leisurely stroll to a more challenging overnight hike, there is something to suit every level of walker. Discover grand views from rocky mountain peaks, marvel at impressive waterfalls, encounter wildlife in forest environments and learn about fascinating Aboriginal and European heritage. Aside from bushwalking, other popular activities include four wheel driving, camping and picnics.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Our visit to Mackenzie Water fall”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We were excited to visit waterfall and hence decided to take a walk down to Mackenzie water fall to see the magnificent view. The walk towards the waterfall greeted us with slopes and numerous narrow staircase. The view was worth it!

However, when we were returning to the starting base, it took a toll on me personally. The walk up was harder than it appears to be.

Just a word of caution for those of you who have knee issues or may feel unfit, may want to consider taking it slow when you visit the waterfall!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dgoh359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    51
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pack your walking boots”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Visited in Nov 2013 with my wife and three kids. Spent the entire time walking the tracks and enjoying nature. There are so many good walks and places to see. If you love geography and nature, this is a must see place. Depending your fitness levels and the heat, you might be able to squeeze two walks a day, but one long walk is ample. Of course, there is no better way to finish a walk than with an ice cream in halls gap, simply the best. My three you kids loved the walks, with the youngest at 4 really living climbing the rocks. It's a wonderful thing to see kids excited at the beauty of nature, and the grampians certainly offers that

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lots Lookout around the National Park with Nice Scenery”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

long journey from Melbourne to Grampians National Park ... but worth visit as its cover lots of the nice natural scenary with mountain view. you will need to explore all the lookouts for all the different view from different angle of Grampians National Park.

Be prepare with energy, comfortable shoe, water n camera ... walk slowly at the trails if u have more time so that you can really enjoy the scenery.

Jaw of the death are my target but i was not able to reach there as im too tired after walking up from Mackenzie fall. and friend who managed to walk there said it was blocked and unable to walk in as shown in the broucher :(

but other lookouts still have very nice scenary ...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank celine_sp0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grampians getaway relaxation”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Each year 5-6 families go to the Grampians to walk, talk and have a week together. We stay at Grampians getaway and have done since we started going. Ros and Bill are wonderful hosts and ensure your stay there is fun and enjoyable.
The accommodation is clean and well equipped with the most wonderful dam and surrounding grounds where the kids ride their bikes around all day long if they wish. They have canoes for the dam and our kids have spent endless days paddling and swimming there once we have returned from a long day out walking.
We love sitting around the dam to have a drink and talk about our days adventures.
We will be going there till our kids are sick of it... which is probably when they finish Secondary school.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kath m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Totally lost driving through the park...even with a map”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Very beautiful, but the lack of and poor directional signage made it a frustrating drive. We were trying to get to McKenzie Falls. There were brown signs at first, but then at a very critical junction, the signs stopped. We ended up at Boroka lookout which was beautiful; but upon leaving ended up at a fork in the road. No signage to say which way to McKenzie Falls. We picked the left turn which was wrong. After driving and driving we got so lost we ended up back in Halls Gap and stopped at the Information Center. They told us “Oh, you should have followed the signs to Horsham” like we should automatically have known that was the way to get to McKenzie Falls. We found signage throughout all our time driving in Victoria including the Great Ocean Road to be very, very well marked. The Grampians should take a lesson; it was exceptionally confusing. We never did get to McKenzie Falls. The black and white map they hand out at the Information Center is not well done (even to an experienced map reader) and neither is the brochure with the paths.

TIP: Ask for very clear directions from the Information Staff or you'll end up driving in circles like we did.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Rose h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grampians National Park also viewed

Halls Gap, Grampians
Halls Gap, Grampians
 
Victoria, Australia
Grampians, Victoria
 

Been to Grampians National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing