We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Quest Docklands(Melbourne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Fitness centre
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Sophia(Melbourne)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
31
25
7
10
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
25
7
10
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssub penthousesmall packetapartment complexthree bedroomcoffee makersecond bedroomcheck in was easychecking infantastic locationwalking distancedocklandstramcityluggageensuitefridgestove
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in the Nolan building, which was right on the waterfront and overlooked the water from every room. Our country family of five found the apartment extremely comfortable. The location is fantastic, so close to the city but far enough away not to feel overwhelmed. There is an abundance of restaurants in the immediate vicinity all of which were happy to accommodate children. The apartment had everything that we needed, it was very spacious and clean. We enjoyed the use of the gym also. When we return to Melbourne we will definitely stay at the docklands and look forward to staying at Docklands Prestige Apartments again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3kidsandahusband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Clean like a child did it! Dirt and dust blamed on building construction?..Previous tenants put a smilie face on windows that only get washed once a month and cleaning staff reluctant to do again...it would take them an hour...it would take me 15mins! They left and the dirty windows remained for the whole of Easter!
Dishwasher with putrid water in bottom..what dishes came out of that? No tea towels! No where to put luggage or put clothes away in drawers...no drawers. Not enough hangers for wet towels. Dirty couches, dirty cupboards...enough to make our skin crawl. I get sick of paying good money for substandard...these businesses need to be answerable. Oh and thank god i didnt have small children...the wiring on show behind the Tv appalling and the TV shut off every hour!
And to top it off my son left his watch behind..!
My recommendation...is never stay here...I went back in to look for watch and nothing changed no quality control of cleanliness and oh did I mention the laundry...appalling....spray and wipe doesnt clean everything! How bout a mop and moving it to clean It!
And who is the lucky owner of 1201 Boyd...maybe you should do the hotel inspector thing!
Rip off...we would have moved if we hadnt paid prior!
I would be happy to supply photos! To back up my opinion...

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jk27164551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanda R, Manager at Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

We are sorry your experience was not how you would of expected we did try to contact you. Our cleaners when to the apartment several time and were sent away .our apartments are clean and our price are equvelate to other providers. It is disappointing to us we could not get these issue sorted for you. Our apartments web site show genuine photos of our apartments. When things are left behind such as watches and wallets they are posted back. If they are here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed in the sub penthouse on 21 floor. The views were spectacular to say the least, the furnishing was clean and modern, and the breakfast downstairs in the cafe outside was brilliant. Ok there was the odd bit of maintenance that needed sorting out, but that was about it. I don't know where the other reviewers stayed but I think it was somewhere different. The staff, including Wanda who seems to get bad press, were very obliging. The only problem when we arrived was that the internet was not working properly, but the following morning Wanda had the computer guy there sorting it out. Would I go there again - Yes for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanda R, Owner at Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Thank you for your feedback very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over the Christmas period in a 2 bedroom apartment and they upgraded us to a 3 bedroom without asking. We had a view of the docklands and our apartment was exceptional. We really loved our stay - we were close to shops and we had a huge variety of restaurants just on our door stop. Upon arrival I simply phones the lady for directions who met me outside the apartments and helped with the luggage - she was a lovely helpful lady! The apartment was spacious and well furnished. The only thing I would fault is no air conditioning in bedrooms and only in living room. Will recommend prestige to all my friends and family and will certainly be back if I decide to return to Melbourne.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neemmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanda R, Owner at Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you very much we really appreciate the great feed back you have sent us/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I'm serious....! the smell in the 1st bedroom to the right was very bad. When we four girls first entered, we were assailed by Domestos fumes, we decided to have a cuppa before choosing rooms. By this stage the smell was not too bad as any sense of smell had been destroyed by the Domestos, it was only after we had been out and returned that it became apparent that this deathly smell was all pervasive. We did not complain because after all what could they have done? The two very friendly women in the office were tucked up cozily with their glass of red wine at two in the arvo, go figure? It was a freezing cold day, the only heater that worked was in main bedroom, the other two were broken. The main bathroom door lock was broken, a clumsy attempt had been made to fix it by stuffing tape into the lock so that you couldn't lock yourself in. The over mirror light switch in the main bathroom is an accident waiting to happen, electrical zinging when an attempt was made to turn them on. No shower cap or body lotion in either bathroom and only 1spare roll of toilet paper was provided for the four of us. The apartment was very clean, though basic furnishing, no luxury here. So glad it wasn't raining because the office was a 2 block walk from apts. With no cover! Take this into account if you are disabled in any way. SECURITY ALERT! We misplaced a set of keys for which we were charged $80.50 to replace. If you think about it, this is a Serious Security breach, note, they didn't change the locks, just replaced that key! How many people has this happened to? and how many people are walking around with a key to your apt? No security on front doors, nothing to stop anyone just
using their lost? Keys to head up in the lift and rob you? I have notified the Police about this and am waiting to here if there is a record of robberies in the building. Twice during our stay we had people, using keys, trying to enter our apartment on separate occasions, that really put the wind up us. Please email me if you have also had an experience of lost or stolen keys during your stay. We were going to tell the girls in the office when we left at 9.15am but it was unattended. Please don't be put off The Docklands area, the outlet shopping is fantastic! but I really recommend you do your homework before booking somewhere. The address of the so called Docklands Prestige apartments is 425 Docklands Drive, location perfect! so choose somewhere close but newer & better managed. As the Apartments are all privately owned its just the luck of the draw as to which apt you are allotted, that's why some people have given the place such high ratings, they copped a 'goodun! The free City Circle tram is only a few hundred metres, but we enjoyed a lovely meal at The Steakhouse, down along the waterfront.


Please reviewers take note

Room Tip: Room 1205, on the twelfth floor was right next to the lift. It was a reasonable size for a 2bedroom. It faced the Harbour & in warmer weather & with all the problems fixed it would have been nice. However you could never call these apartments luxury. The decor depends on who owns the individual apt.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank itscaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanda R, Owner at Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Office hours are on all confirmations and on door of office 10.00am to 6.00pm and key slot for return of keys and also lwe provide luggage storage.
If you let us know about any problems such as a smell from the drain can be attended to immediately. No wine is consumed at office, glasses contained Coca Cola.
The heating is reverse cycle and it is in perfect working order if there was any doubt we could have come and showed you how to work it. Starter packs are Shampoo, condtitioner, Body Wash and soap. Toilet paper is in both bathrooms with a spare one in both bathroom drawers.
Key and swipe. If keys lost swipe is deactivated so no one can enter Buidling . Barrells on the door locks are changed also at our expense.
We are very disappointed that none of this brought to our attention and could have easily been attended to make your stay more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews