We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good sport by the water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good sport by the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Enjoyed this place, right on the water and only a few mites walk to etihad stadium, would be a great place to stay if you had travelled interstate to watch the footy with friends. Rooms were clean & the view was pretty good!
Not many taxis around so it is best to order one if you need it or if only going to the city there is a free city circle tram one street down.
There is a harbour town shopping centre very close, but not many of the shops are open, it looks a little desolate, so I would say rather than waste your time there, jut go into the city to little bourse street or another one of the little lanes in the city for shopping & food.
Couple of good restaurants down by the water, but again a lot is not open. just go to Chin Chins in the city - that'll make your week if you haven't already been.
We were on the 20th floor & only one lift was working for one of the days so took a little while to get up or down, but other than that they were good!
If working or wanting to be near the city, I would get something a little closer to save the travel time though. About a half hour walk from chin chins to the apartment.
It is also residential throughout the building, so would go there if you wanted to be noisy & party either.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    22
    7
    9
    12
See reviews for
26
11
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Lincoln, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Would not hesitate recommending this apartment. Great location. Could throw a rock into etihad stadium. Walking distance to South Wharf. Tram not far from your door. Fabulous decor. Very clean. Home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margot_N28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Amazing is what we thought of when we stayed here. We booked one of the penthouse apartments for 2 nights and couldn't believe how big and modern our apartment was. It was like our own house in the sky!
Everything was catered for, spa, amazing views of the Harbour and the Melbourne city. We booked at last minute and got a great deal for 2 nights .
We stayed an extra night and even though we had to change buildings, still we had an apartment up high with a huge balcony and was also fantastic!!!
This is the place to stay every time we go to Melbourne from now on!

Room Tip: Get a room on the side of the building that faces the harbor and the marine for better views !!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Would HIGHLY recommend these amazing apartments right in the heart of Melbourne Docklands. ..2 large bedrooms both with views..2 bathrooms. ..a large deck overlooking Docklands and Melbourne. ... stunning apartment with great kitchen and nice to relax in loungeroom enjoying the views. ... highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sus11F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Arriving with a hire car and being shown to our 2nd floor park, we were then walked around the car park to het to a door, then down some stairs to a locked fire door on the first floor which we had to unlock before getting a lift to the 4th floor before proceeding up 2 more flights of stairs to our apartment. Seriously???? This cross country run is enough to NEVER venture back again. Even the lovely view isn't enough. The very basic apartment just sealed the deal. Terrible shower, had to run around for 5 minutes just to get wet. My wife went to a hair salon to get a wash and blow dry rather than attempt to wash her hair under the appalling water pressure. The bed??!! More springs than a circus performer, and noisy from the street below. Some double glazing might have helped. Beautiful view, great location but had to go to a key drop for check out down the street and around the corner. Check out I is BY 10am but their office doesn't open until 10am. Everything about these premises is difficult.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Vern0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Canberra
Level Contributor
110 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife and I stayed in Apartment 504 (1 bedroom) in the Sant Elia building for 6 nights. When we first walked into the apartment we were very impressed with the spectacular view of the City and also the water.

There are many positives about this apartment (self catering and no daily cleaning) which include the view plus also the fact that you are only a 2 minute walk from the tram which includes the free one!! There are many restaurants and cafes within walking distance even though there are many empty shops sites in Docklands. It is also very close to the Melbourne Star - definitely worth a ride!

The negatives include the noise at night particularly on Friday and Saturday nights. The bar downstairs is open till very late and so the noise drifts up to the apartment. Also the shower was hopeless - no water pressure and no hot water on 2 mornings.

But despite the negatives, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend these apartments - but maybe not 504!!

Room Tip: Try and get an apartment that is not too close to the bars!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I booked this apartment for a week which included New Years Eve. We arrived late in the afternoon and were charged a $20 fee for out of hours check in. Even though it took 10 minutes. The lady who showed us to our apartment didn't seem happy at all, and just wanted to get back to whatever she was doing I think!! We were initially pleased with the apartment, it was clean and had great views over the docklands and Etihad Stadium. We thought it would be great to see the fireworks on New Years Eve from the balcony. But no, we could hardly see them as they were up the other end of the Docklands Esplanade, and the sky was blocked by the next apartments balcony!! We had to peer through their balcony pillars to see them. Total let down!!

It was an easy place to travel around from though, the free City Circle tram was just a short walk down the road. Harbour Town has loads of shops and was just behind the apartment. There is an IGA around the corner (just a tad expensive) but still good for groceries if you want to cook in the apartment. The appliances were good - gas stove, dishwasher, microwave, large fridge, plenty of utensils, crockery, etc.

There were a couple of points I didn't think much of - the hot water in the shower was impossible to control! -kept going extremely hot and cold - and the water pressure was just about non existent!! I like to have a nice hot shower at the end of the day - and this was like showering under a drip!! Also the noise carried from the Esplanade into the bedroom at night - slightly annoying.

Overall, it was OK, a bit overpriced I thought. Next time I would probably stay closer to the City.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosyblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
#55 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Docklands
Four Points By Sheraton Melbourne Docklands
Docklands
Accommodation Corporate Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Docklands Private Collection of Apartments
Docklands
Accent Accommodation at Docklands
Docklands
Apartments Melbourne Domain Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne

Property: Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne
Address: 7 Caravel Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing