We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation for Business”
Review of RACV City Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RACV City Club
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation for Business”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

If you need to stay in Melbourne for business you cant go wrong with the RACV. Its very central to Melbourne CBD. The service is excellent. Rooms are large and comfortable. Very good restaurant available. Check if your automobile club membership will allow you in ( eg. AA).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LegItAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    59
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
47
68
8
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Great facilities and hotel. Fabulous gym and pool. Very friendly and helpful front desk. Top location. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenJenSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

CBD event at the Club, so stayed overnight. Huge suite, almost needed a map tofind the exit. Very comfortable. Club members and guests only.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
164 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Spacious rooms which are well set out with mod cons. Breakfast and valet parking is included in the price. You are also spoiled for choice activities which are part of the club. You have access to a pool, gym, library, and billiard Rooms. It is now our preferred accommodation if we ever visit Melbourne.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Les101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We stayed here for the Grand Prix as a last resort as all the other hotels we would normally stay at in Melbourne were aksing for ridiculous rates ($800 and upwards for 1 night). My husband and I had our nephew staying and wanted a connecting room which was great. As members our room was $225 a night and the connecting room $265 a night. The rooms are very spacious, bathrooms are also very spacious with all the mod cons you need. We were very suprised and enjoyed this hotel right down to the excellent buffet breakfast that was included in the rate. We will be staying here everytime we return to Melbourne, absolutley fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chief1tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Stayed here for one night as part of a conference. Although the hotel looked like an office block from the outside, it had character.

The rooms are indeed big, with a walk-in closet and bath and rain shower. Unfortunately my room faced another office block and I was unable to change or doing anything with the curtains open. It had a huge comfortable king-size bed, and a large flat screen t.v. I was almost in heaven.

The breakfast was above average, with nice shot glasses of yoghurt and smoothies. The coffee/tea service was a bit slow even though there were several wait persons walking around. I had to hail them every time one of my parties sat down or needed a refill.

The checking was smooth and professional. The concierge looked after our bags before and after with much courtesy. The older chap sitting across the reception (I later realised it was a membership desk was a bit of a snob when I asked him some questions. “Ask the concierge” was his reply to everything.

It was a bit expensive for me at $265 per night with breakfast. Members get cheaper rates.

Overall it was a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love_Life_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Huge rooms, staff friendly, great facilities including gym, pool, business centre, quiet, comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
7,747 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#65 of 159 in Melbourne
4,705 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,416 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
1,500 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RACV City Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RACV City Club

Property: RACV City Club
Address: Racv Club Members Only | 501 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RACV City Club is one of two outstanding RACV Club properties and is conveniently positioned in the heart of Melbourne's CBD at 501 Bourke Street. For an overnight stay, a weekend away, a short break or a holiday, the City Club has a range of accommodation options to suit your needs. There are 136 large and spacious rooms including suites, family suites, doubles, twins and interconnecting rooms for families. A full buffet breakfast, free internet and valet car parking is included in room rates. The impressive RACV City Club caters for the social, leisure and business needs of all Club members. A range of stylish dining venues and entertainment options make the City Club the perfect place to celebrate a special occasion or to enjoy a coffee, social drink, business lunch or intimate dinner. Membership of the private RACV Club is separate to other types of RACV membership, which can include RACV Emergency Roadside Assistance and RACV Insurance. Only members of the private RACV Club can book accommodation at the RACV City or Healesville properties. RACV Club members pay an annual membership fee which enables members to book accommodation for themselves, their family, friends and guests at both RACV Club locations and to access a range of other Club dining, lifestyle and recreation facilities. RACV Club membership is available to anyone through a nomination process and full details about how to become an RACV Club member are available on the RACV website. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Racv City Club Hotel Melbourne
Racv City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing