We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IGNORE ALL GOOD REVIEWS - DO NOT GO HERE!”
Review of YTI Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YTI Garden Hotel
Ranked #142 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 29 July 2013

As soon as my partner and i walked into our room the first thing we did was look online for another hotel. Unfortunately all hotels were booked out and we had to stay in this horrible room. The only good thing about the City Garden Hotel was the location, there were no positives about the hotel itself. It was run down, dirty, noisy and questionable.
I did not even want to walk bare foot on the floor because i thought i would catch a disease. The bathroom was mouldy, the bed spread had small blood stains and the sheets had hair all over it.
Will never stay here again, it was the worst hotel i have ever stayed in my life. They are kidding themselves saying that rooms are worth $250+ a night. What a joke!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

Booked online at Booking.com as photos represented a clean, modern studio apartment. What a shock! The walls were grotty and the the room smelt of cigarettes. The modern bathroom looked like it had not been cleaned for ages, the tiles were grotty and don't think it had ever been mopped. TV was tiny and remote did not work. Don't bother going there, there are heaps of other cleaner hotels!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Shim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

The location is great. There it ends. The hotel has a lot of problems. Hard beds, dirty bathrooms, TV doesn'nt work. And very unwilling and unfriendly staff who cannot solve your problem. Even the manager of the hotel is not able to solve a customer's problem. Avoid if possible.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReviewTijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

we stayed here in may/june with inlaws...both rooms were noisey,dirty,uncomfortable beds, complained that photos on net do not match rooms. they don,t care. we got moved to another room because our bed was rock hard and very squeaky everytime we moved. outside noise is unbelievable with trucks emptying rubbish, street sweepers, all night long noise. location is fine for city, but there is no way in hell I would return here.

Room Tip: don't waste a good holiday staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buglesChchNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Thankfully we were only staying one night. The location was great - central to anything in the CBD, with nice restaurants in nearby Hardware Lane. However, the shower was cold and the television was not tuned for digital. The elevator was rickety and it stank.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed in 2 studio apartments over the weekend for a girls trip away. The staff were more than helpful and the location is perfect for a city getaway. We didn't have any problems with noise. The rooms were comfortable and served the purpose of a place to sleep, shower and store our shopping.

If you are looking for a room in a great location and at a reasonable price, I would recommend. It is not 5 star, however is good solid basic accommodation.

We will definately come back and stay again.

Room Tip: The studios we stayed in were numbers 414 and 415 and were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huddette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed in a Deluxe Studio Apartment May 7-10, and would definitely come here again. This is a solid 3 1/2 star property, the rooms although could do with a touch up of paint, the staff couldn't have been more cheerful and helpful, The location was not noisy, and slept with the window open throughout our stay. If you want good budget accommodation in the CBD don't overlook this property. Also great dinning options for all just steps away..

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dor15z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#113 of 161 in Melbourne
1,213 reviews
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#135 of 161 in Melbourne
649 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#150 of 161 in Melbourne
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#133 of 161 in Melbourne
1,391 reviews
Central Business District
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
#105 of 161 in Melbourne
501 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YTI Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YTI Garden Hotel

Address: 378 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly City Garden Hotel)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: £52 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — YTI Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, giving you easy access to all that Melbourne City has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your YTI Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing