We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location poor facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
King Street Backpackers
Ranked #108 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm, the sheets were stained, broken blinds, dust everywhere and rooms were not cleaned at all and we were there for 3 nights! Showers were also very dirty. On the other hand, the staff were helpful and friendly and the hostel is in a good location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

I stayed one month in a 16 beds dorm. It was very quiet, free breakfast every morning, big breackfast and thuesday with fruits bacon and beens, and free pasta on wensday. Free wifi working everywhere in the hostel. Very good location in the heart of the CBD. Sometimes a little bit dirty and bathroom a little bit small. A good backpack at all for the price!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I've stayed at backpackers all through Europe and Australia, and this one doesn't even compare. It is dirty, noisy and full of ferrells. The next night we stayed in a backpackers at port Campbell, it was the same price, but we had our own bathroom and tv IN our room, was clean and tidy, and a pleasure. King street backpackers would be fine if you wanted to be in the middle of the nightclub district, and all you wanted to do was party.... But don't expect anything like the backpackers in Europe

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Drew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I stayed at King Street backpackers for 2 weeks in a 16 bed dorm. I was flat hunting at the time and wasnt sure how long I needed to stay there and they said they could extend me if I needed which was pretty fabulous and took a huge weight off my shoulders. The staff were good for the most part. One lady receptionist however never seemed impressed when she was working, a smile goes a long way in customer service or actually acknowledge guest at reception when you're standing there is also good. Hint. The two guys who work there often were good.
Pancakes on Sunday were actually some of the most amazing pancakes I have ever had, topnotch!

Issues I had with the place- The Air con was broken. When it's 37 degrees and at night you just cant sleep. The only way I could sleep when it was that hot was to have a cold flannel on my forehead. It was just horrible. The bathrooms had mould on the shower walls. The cleaning was just not up to scratch. The soap dispenser in the bathroom was constantly empty. There was a male housekeeper who never knocked (or maybe about twice?) while I was there to come into a female only dorm. It's female only! Knock first dont just stroll right in. He was a nice guy but at least knock first. The kitchen is pretty damn small as well and there are no lifts :(

So this place really had it's ups and downs. It is a good place to meet people however which is really great. The location isnt too bad however it's surrounded by strip clubs and brothels so do be careful at night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chowdy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Just your typical backpacker cheap accommodation. Free Internet, tea, coffee and breakfast, plus free pancakes on Sunday and a free pasta night, all very appreciated for the money you're paying, but doesn't take away the fact youre in the red light district which can be quite rough, reception guy from Belgium is really good at his job, but the hostel itself can be quite depressing, poor shower, over crowded rooms, loud music next door, tv room might aswell not exist.
All in all, there are better hostels for the same price or a few bucks more.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liambancroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

There is no elevator in this hostel so make sure you stay at lower floor. Although only 1/2 hour free internet provided, you gotta queue to use the computer.Toilet and bathroom at second floor are small and look dirty, please see the photo attached. I like the location as it's very near to southern cross station but quite a walking distance to CBD and the shopping area. Recommend for short stay. Receptionists are very friendly.

Room Tip: stay at lower floor if you have big and heavy luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolCCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

i was in a female 4 share the rubbish bin was overflowing with rubbish the floor was dirty. only 1dirty toilet as other toilet had a broken toilet seat and no toilet paper. the guy on the reception at night was very rude. the only good thing is the staff will carry your bags up the stairs as there is no lift

Room Tip: only stay at this backpackers as a last resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 225romer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Discovery Melbourne
Discovery Melbourne
#114 of 153 in Melbourne
491 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#17 of 153 in Melbourne
424 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#31 of 153 in Melbourne
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#14 of 153 in Melbourne
816 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 153 in Melbourne
640 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#51 of 153 in Melbourne
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Street Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Street Backpackers

Address: 197-199 King St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: £16 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — King Street Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your King Street Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Street Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing