We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location,lovely apartment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mantra on the Park
Ranked #72 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location,lovely apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I recently chose this hotel to celebrate my sister's 50th birthday with another sister and my 75 year old mother. The staff (especially KC, Rebecca and Rhiannan) were wonderful in accommodating my request for a room with a lovely outlook over the park and four single beds. My sister loved the room and I felt that the appearance of these rooms exceeded my expectations.They were clean, comfortable and spacious, including a balcony. With four women travelling together, it was great to have two bathrooms and a bit of space to relax in at the end of the day.The location was perfect-very close to the free tram service and Lygon St, a close walk away. The Terrace Restaurant is convenient for light meals, offering the best carrot soup (according to our mother)! You can prebook a hearty buffet breakfast in the hotel for a very reasonable rate. Staff were always pleasant and helpful, even offering a set of scales for luggage after our shopping spree.I will definitely look at staying here again.Thank you KC and the team.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the park on the tenth floor. I could not fault it. It was quiet, clean and had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j9g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hi j9g,

Thanks for your review and rating us a 5 on your recent stay! I am pleased to hear you all had an enjoyable time celebrating your sister's 50th birthday!

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Melbourne - we will keep the scales handy for your next shopping spree!

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    670
    277
    94
    58
See reviews for
741
261
40
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in October. This is the second time we have stayed here. The first was in a two bedroom suite which was big and comfortable with its own kitchen - great for a family stay. This trip was a suite with one bed. It is a very comfortable hotel, quiet and with excellent views over the park. Front of house staff are mixed - some are very friendly and helpful but a couple were far more interested in chatting with each other than providing assistance.

Town, Lygon street, the museum, Melbourne Uni are all within easy walking distance. The hotel has a pull in area for taxis which makes for more comfortable transfer of luggage.

Room Tip: Specify if you need an access room - I don't but got one with no negotiation offered. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalind L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hi Rosalind L,

Many thanks for posting a review of your recent stay, I am pleased to hear you had another enjoyable time. Thanks for your feedback about the front desk team, I will address this with these individuals.

We look forward to seeing you again when next coming across to Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

I read positives and negatives on this hotel prior to booking. I really have no cause for negatives! We originally booked a 1 bedroom apartment with Park view and were offered a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom on the top floor for a reduced rate on check in. We took up the offer. I have nothing but nice things to say. The reception staff have been more than helpful. The restaurant downstairs serves beautiful, well-priced meals and provides a lovely atmosphere. Mum and I enjoyed a 3 course meal each along with a couple glasses of wine each for under $100 combined! The apartment decor has been updated and looks lovely and the facilities in the apartment are great. The only downfall would be the bathrooms. They have been slightly updated, but could use a fair bit more. But most importantly, they are clean.
We r still here until Sunday and overall, really happy with the Hotel. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FallonMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hi FallonMe

Many thanks for your review while inhouse at Mantra on the Park! So pleasing to hear you had an enjoyable time!

We hope to see you again with us soon!

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

very impressed,KC an team thanks very much for a great stay, This hotel is by far the best we have stayed at, the apartment was spacious an well layed out, bathrooms are good maybe a freshen up wont hurt, but in all very pleasing. the balcony was a great place to be, not big but for three, it worked for us,Location for us was great, an every thing we wanted to see an do was easy an handy. thanks very much, looking forward too returning early next year.

Room Tip: for morning sun, park side or evening sun city side. 9th floor or 10th would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 414daveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hi 414daveb,

Many thanks for posting a review of your recent stay, we look forward to welcoming you back early next year!

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Our trip was a birthday surprise for my sister-in-law, Sue, with me flying in from Perth and Sue flying in with her daughter from Newcastle, NSW. With the help of the hotel staff, who were able to organise an early check-in and who did not let slip that I was already there, we managed to surprise Sue when she opened the apartment door!

We found the 2 bedroom apartment clean and neat with a fantastic view and even took photos of the sunrise from our balcony. Our only concern was the lack of an exhaust fan in the bathrooms which made them very misty. The location of the hotel is fantastic, with Chinatown, Queen Victoria Markets and the theatres an easy walk away. Lygon Street was a bit further, but still a reasonable walk. But with the City Circle tram just around the corner, it was very easy to get anywhere!

With the help of the very friendly and efficient staff, we had a fabulous weekend and would come back tomorrow!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hi Barbara L,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay, I am glad to hear the staff were able to assist with your surprise for Sue and make it an enjoyable girls weekend all round!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed in a spacious one bedroom with a lovely view overlooking Carton Gardens which had quality carpets and furnishings. Bathrooms could do with an update. The staff were very helpful with directions and places to eat close by. Dined in the hotel restaurant one night and it was enjoyable. One real complaint with this hotel would be that you cannot control the temperature in the room. It was very hot the first night making it hard to sleep. My suggestion would be that management put fans into these rooms they know have this problem until a major overhaul with the heating/cooling system can be carried out. Trams are out front and a taxi ride from the CBD will set you back $7-10.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joelle43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hi Joelle43,

Many thanks for your review of your stay at Mantra on the Park, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Our air conditioning system is a centrally managed system which can be controlled to either heating or cooling. Unfortunately due to Melbourne's current inconsistant temperatures we are having a few minor issues when there is a sudden change to the ambient temperature, however all of our rooms offer large opening balcony doors to allow in fresh air and we do have fans available for extra comfort.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom, two bathroom suite overlooking the exhibition centre- great view! Room was spacious and clean. Shower was quite low- hard to wash my hair! The room was almost unbearably hot, even when setting the controls to ten degrees Celsius the vent was blowing hot air. Beds very comfortable, service polite and great breakfast in the café downstairs. Car parking at $30 per day seemed expensive, but hotel is perfectly situated to explore queen vic markets, Chinatown, Melbourne museum, old Melbourne gaol, etc.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hi Ali B,

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay, it is pleasing to hear our location suited your needs in Melbourne and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#65 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#79 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#30 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#11 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#90 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Park

Property: Mantra on the Park
Address: 333 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Park is centrally located in Melbourne's CBD. This fantastic Apartment hotel is minutes from theatres, fashionable restaurants and the famous shopping precinct offering spectacular views of the beautiful Carlton Gardens or city skyline. Mantra on the Park is an apartment style property consisting of self-contained one and two bedroom apartments. All rooms are spacious and offer private balconies, spectacular city skyline or scenic garden views, air-conditioning, full kitchen and laundry facilities, and lounge and dining areas. Foxtel is also available in all apartments. Guests of Mantra on the Park can enjoy hotel facilities including a 24 hour reception desk, concierge and porter service, evening room service, valet laundry service and tour desk. Leisure facilities include an indoor heated pool, sauna and gymnasium. Mantra on the Park also offers an onsite dining venue, The Terrace Restaurant Bar and Grill which offers full buffet breakfast daily, a la carte dinner, all day room service, coffee, light meals and snacks. We also offer the convenience of a full minibar in all apartments. Mantra on the Park is an idyllic accommodation choice for travellers who wish to enjoy all Melbourne has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mantra on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Park Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On The Park Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing