We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby”
Review of Mantra on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra on the Park
Ranked #71 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We were on the eleventh floor and the view was good.
The room had badly repaired holes in the wall and door. The painted over tiles in the shower were peeling, and there was no doors to the laundry equipment in the main bathroom.
We began to suspect the 'cleaning' being carried out and the towels were not luxurious by any standards.

Not a great experience.

Room Tip: Keep the original towels because if you put them out for cleaning the replacements are thinner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GiaW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,927 - 1,933 of 2,341 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

I recently stayed at Mantra on the Park and would thoroughly recommend staying there. The view across to Carlton gardens is beautiful. The room was clean and comfortable. Location good as city circle tram just outside. There was also an IGA next door and on the other side a good cafe. Also a good Thai restaurant/ takeaway a couple of doors away.

Room Tip: One overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kmiatae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My wife & 2 teenage kids recently went on a holliday to Melbourne. we chose to stay at the "Mantra On The Park", and was happy with the spacious two bedroom room.
the view from our balcony was fantastic, it over looked the Carlton Gardens which was beautiful,
Next door to the Hotel was a convienience store that was licenced to sell take away alcohol.
this little corner shop had just about everything you could need, very handy,!!!
Another great thing about where we were located was the convienience of a free city tram at our doorstep, "No 35 TRAM". But to walk to the centre of the city was only 3 blocks. we had conversations with the reception staff, who were most helpful & friendly. Our holliday was good thanks to Mantra & the service A1. I would reccommend this hotel to stay. Rod E

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed 3 nights with a friend in Jan 2014. Location is great - walking distance from all the importat things in the city centre, all facilities are there and the view is fabulous. However both kitchen and bathroom are somewhat dated, given the price level I expected better.

Also slightly disappointed with the gym - all brand new, but tiny for such a large hotel.

Hotel personnel is helpful and polite.

My personal pet peeeve - no free wifi in room or lobby.

Small plus for those travelling with a car - parking on Sat and Sunday free right in front of the hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank armaninl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Mantra with another couple. We shared a 2 bedroom apartment on the 7th floor overlooking the gardens. It was lovely to have a small balcony & have a view of the park. It was good to have 2 bathrooms, but disappointing that we were unable to open the windows in them or the 2nd bedroom. As mentioned in other reviews there is limited kitchen utensils & saucepans. Whenever we requested something extra for the kitchen it was bought to our apartment without hesitation though. One day the rubbish had not been collected, but after mentioning it to reception it was done the next day. The beds were hard, but comfortable. The location is very central. During our stay we went to see Grease at Her Majesty's Theatre which is less than 10 minutes walk away. We were able to walk to the Museum, Brunswick St. Lygon St, Melbourne Central & QV shopping malls. The tram is just a short walk from the Mantra making it an excellent base for a holiday in Melbourne. I would stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimetogoSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed in Mantra on the Park Melbourne on January 3-7 2014 the apartment is good quiet, located just in front of a very beautiful park free transport city circle right next to the building and IGA shop is conveniently located right in the same building... The Restaurant was Great ordered beef ribs with salad and chips the size of the ribs was soooo enormous it can feed at least 3 person... Just disappointed that the parking is not included in the deal its $30 a day we were in level 7 a 2 bedroom apartment for family of 4 and they have 1 -1 seater & 1- 2 seater lounge so one of us always end up dragging the dinning chair.. Ironing board is totally useless did not bothered asking for a replacement... But all in all ok to stay.. Just a shame can't say the same about the weather ...

Room Tip: Sunday you can park in front of the establishment for free
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2168sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Well when we walked in we were greeted my a lady who was just so friendly, bubbly and smiley. We had a 1 bedroom apartment on the 10th floor, the view was amazing. The apartment was clean and had a microwave, dishwasher, full size fridge in the kitchen. The bathroom had a nice sized bath, shower and behind the big doors was a washer and dryer complete with clothes horse. Hair dryer also under the sink! The bedroom was spacious with a chair near the window, decent bedside lamps and an alarm clock. The living area had a nice flat screen and stereo, comfy lounge and chair and seats at the breakfast bar. Outside balcony had a table and chairs with a nice night view. Free use of the pool and gym, wifi available and a restaurant, cannot comment as we didn't go there to eat, but it was very busy. The staff were fantastic helpful and very friendly and welcoming, will stay here again for sure!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 10th floor or higher facing exhibition street, nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#37 of 161 in Melbourne
2,589 reviews
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#55 of 161 in Melbourne
2,019 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#24 of 161 in Melbourne
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#88 of 161 in Melbourne
2,391 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#51 of 161 in Melbourne
4,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Park

Address: 333 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £93 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Park is centrally located in Melbourne's CBDminutes from theatres, fashionable restaurants and the famous shopping precinct offering spectacular views from private balconies of the beautiful Carlton Gardens or city skyline. Mantra on the Park is an apartment style property consisting of self-contained one and two bedroom apartments. Foxtel is also available in all apartments. Hotel facilities include a 24 hour reception desk, concierge and porter service, evening room service, valet laundry service and tour desk, indoor heated pool, sauna and gymnasium. Mantra on the Park also offers an onsite dining venue, The Terrace Restaurant Bar and Grill which offers full buffet breakfast daily, a la carte dinner, all day room service, coffee, light meals and snacks. We also offer the convenience of a full minibar in all apartments. *Please be advised parking fees will increase to $33 from 1st January, 2018 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Park Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On The Park Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing