We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some disappointing experiences in an otherwise good property” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mantra on the Park
Ranked #73 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Some disappointing experiences in an otherwise good property”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

The Mantra is a building of apartments. We were there for three nights with three children in a two bedroom apartment. The rooms were large and the beds comfortable. However, there were problems. In the main bathroom shower the flooring had broken and was sticking up with dangerously jagged edges. The room should have been taken off line till this was fixed. When we raised this at reception it was fixed with tape.The king bed was fine but only one side had a bedside lamp which was annoying. The bathroom exhaust fan ran all night and despite asking for this to be fixed nothing was done. The noise was so great we had to shut the door. Roof top noise from machinery was also annoying.
The worst for us was the breakfast for which we had paid as part of our package. Each morning it was very clear that the staff could not cope despite it being obvious that the hotel was quite full and they knew how many to expect. Food was seriously depleted and at various times there was no milk, no bread, no pastries and no fruit. Not just temporarily - just plain none. But, when we asked for some of the extras from the menu card the staff were quickly obliging with the bill but the food itself took a long time to arrive. No embarrassment about that but no explanation for running out of food for which there was no compensation offered until we complained.
The hotel is well positioned, parking is in the building and the staff were good. Pity about the breakfast and other annoying experiences. Better housekeeping and maintenance would easily avoid all of those problems.

Room Tip: Stay away from the top floor - level 17. Whatever machinery is on the roof, maybe air conditioning o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    667
    277
    94
    57
See reviews for
738
259
40
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We had an extremely positive experience during our long stay at the Mantra. The General Manager (Michael) and Reservations Supervisor (Haylee) really went the extra mile to ensure every aspect of our stay was covered. It made a good stay - great. The room (2 bedroom suite) was spacious and well appointed - ideal for our 3 week stay. We will be returning during our next trip to Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussies-in-Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Disappointed - an old bathroom is one thing but cleanliness is another! Mould in grout on tiles, water floods bathroom when showering. Stains on bed linen & bathroom door only opens up half way because the bed is too big for the room. I felt frustrated when having to use anything related to the bathroom amenities. Was also a giant hair stuck on the support bar in the bathroom (which looks like its going to fall off the wall).

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beano0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We were on the eleventh floor and the view was good.
The room had badly repaired holes in the wall and door. The painted over tiles in the shower were peeling, and there was no doors to the laundry equipment in the main bathroom.
We began to suspect the 'cleaning' being carried out and the towels were not luxurious by any standards.

Not a great experience.

Room Tip: Keep the original towels because if you put them out for cleaning the replacements are thinner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GiaW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

I recently stayed at Mantra on the Park and would thoroughly recommend staying there. The view across to Carlton gardens is beautiful. The room was clean and comfortable. Location good as city circle tram just outside. There was also an IGA next door and on the other side a good cafe. Also a good Thai restaurant/ takeaway a couple of doors away.

Room Tip: One overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmiatae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

My wife & 2 teenage kids recently went on a holliday to Melbourne. we chose to stay at the "Mantra On The Park", and was happy with the spacious two bedroom room.
the view from our balcony was fantastic, it over looked the Carlton Gardens which was beautiful,
Next door to the Hotel was a convienience store that was licenced to sell take away alcohol.
this little corner shop had just about everything you could need, very handy,!!!
Another great thing about where we were located was the convienience of a free city tram at our doorstep, "No 35 TRAM". But to walk to the centre of the city was only 3 blocks. we had conversations with the reception staff, who were most helpful & friendly. Our holliday was good thanks to Mantra & the service A1. I would reccommend this hotel to stay. Rod E

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed 3 nights with a friend in Jan 2014. Location is great - walking distance from all the importat things in the city centre, all facilities are there and the view is fabulous. However both kitchen and bathroom are somewhat dated, given the price level I expected better.

Also slightly disappointed with the gym - all brand new, but tiny for such a large hotel.

Hotel personnel is helpful and polite.

My personal pet peeeve - no free wifi in room or lobby.

Small plus for those travelling with a car - parking on Sat and Sunday free right in front of the hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank armaninl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#78 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#65 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#49 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#27 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Park

Property: Mantra on the Park
Address: 333 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Park is centrally located in Melbourne's CBD. This fantastic Apartment hotel is minutes from theatres, fashionable restaurants and the famous shopping precinct offering spectacular views of the beautiful Carlton Gardens or city skyline. Mantra on the Park is an apartment style property consisting of self-contained one and two bedroom apartments. All rooms are spacious and offer private balconies, spectacular city skyline or scenic garden views, air-conditioning, full kitchen and laundry facilities, and lounge and dining areas. Foxtel is also available in all apartments. Guests of Mantra on the Park can enjoy hotel facilities including a 24 hour reception desk, concierge and porter service, evening room service, valet laundry service and tour desk. Leisure facilities include an indoor heated pool, sauna and gymnasium. Mantra on the Park also offers an onsite dining venue, The Terrace Restaurant Bar and Grill which offers full buffet breakfast daily, a la carte dinner, all day room service, coffee, light meals and snacks. We also offer the convenience of a full minibar in all apartments. Mantra on the Park is an idyllic accommodation choice for travellers who wish to enjoy all Melbourne has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mantra on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Park Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On The Park Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing