We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantra on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra on the Park
Ranked #73 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Family Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Very well situated at the top end of Melbourne with the Italian restaurant meca of Lygon Street a short walk away. Carlton gardens with its relaxed atmosphere and awesome play ground is just across the road.
Tram access just out the door and the IGA supermarket down stairs make the Mantra on the Park an ideal location to base yourself for a visit to Melbourne.
The room layouts are ideal. The pool, Sauna and Gym are an ideal way to relax those weary bones after walking around the city.
We definitely recommend the Mantra and will stay here in the future.

Room Tip: West facing rooms receive the sun for most of the day and have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N1770FAalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi N1770FAalex,

Thanks for your review, it is pleasing to hear you and your family had an enjoyable stay and made the most of your time in Melbourne.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    706
    302
    99
    62
See reviews for
798
281
44
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

What can I say .... Melbourne accommodation is so overpriced for what you get.
I have stayed at mantra on the park on several occasions and have been very happy with my room. But this time I booked though a secret hotel deal and guess I got the lower level room type. You get what you pay for the second bedroom door just cleared the bed and the bathrooms are such a let down at the cheaper rate. No where to put your make up ect on the extra small vanity basin, so you have to place it on the toilet seat which I might add you can plug your hair straighteners directly above. Watch your step when getting out of the shower as the door stop is placed right in your way ,so be careful you could hurt your foot or roll your ankle, kitchen floor was dirty and sticky and bathroom walls moldy. the overpriced tray of hotel nibbles was filthy !!!! Yuk...So I saved some money there. Bed was very comfortable and I like the free city tram just outside the motel door. Will book directly through mantra next time and pay an extremely overpriced amount for what I expect

Room Tip: if you want a walk in shower ask for one,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi Lynette C,

Thanks for your review of your recent stay, it is disappointing to hear this one did not live up to expections of previous stays. While some of our Two Bedroom Apartments do have varying layouts they are all approximately the same size.

If you can remember a room number that you have had previously and enjoyed the layout please request it when making your reservation and we will try our best to allocate that room.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Our family (4) stayed for a week in July. This hotel is located within walking distance of restaurants, shopping....But make sure that you give room service a miss, as breakfast was over an hour late (they forgot ), coffee was ridiculously offensive and no margarine / butter to spread!
Tried the steak burger....again not the best.
The bed was as hard as a rock, not to our liking!
The TV reception was atrocious.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisu04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi Lisu04,

Thanks for submitting a review of your recent stay, it is disappointing to hear you encountered some issues with the restaurant while staying with us. I have passed on your feedback to the operator of the restaurant to address with their team, thanks for letting us know.

We have also recently had an upgrade to our overall TV system which has resolved the intermitant reception issues we were encountering.

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This was a real disappointment for '4 Star' accommodation. Bathrooms were in desperate need of updating, but worse were dirty and even had mould because, apparently, the fans weren't working. Cleanliness of kitchen area wasn't much better.

All hotel information was meant to be via the TV but this didn't work and neither did the movies.

There was no room service menu, but was provided when requested. The little touches you expect like bathrobes, slippers, dvd player, etc just didn't exist.

Staff were generally friendly and tried to assist but the overall experience fell well short of expectations.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi John G,

Thanks for your review, it is disappointing to hear your stay failed to meet expectations. Your feedback has been taken on board and we have been able to address some of the issues raised.

We do hope to see you back again when next coming to Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here with the family for two nights mid week. Great location close to Carlton Gardens, the Museum and Lygon Street and not too far away from the city. Was very reasonably priced as well for a two bedroom apartment so very pleased when we arrived to find the apartment spotless and a good size. Supermarket next door which is handy and a good size indoor pool for this type of accommodation which the kids loved.

Would certainly recommend this property to anyone with a family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWallace2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi JWallace2013,

Many thanks for your review, it is pleasing to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again when next coming to Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Average and well below what you would expect without even taking into consideration to cost.
No cable for the sound system - had to get one brought up to the room (took a couple of calls)
No cutting board in the kitchen - (again had to get one brought up)
The ice tray in the fridge was empty. When yet another call was made to get some we were delivered only a take away coffee cup full.
Main ensuite shower had black mould on the sealant - $600 a night (and a discount at that) and to have to see that us just so bad.
The finishes to the room were very average from a building perspective and it all looked a bit tired and in need of a good tidy up and a bit more attention to housekeeping before it is given to guests would go a long way.
I will definitely be looking elsewhere in Melbourne for accommodation venues and sadly will not be recommending the Mantra when it comes to penthouse choices.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertOldboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi RobertOldboy,

Thanks for your review of your recent stay at Mantra on the Park, it is disappointing to here that your stay in one of penthouses did not meet your expectations.
We are quite proud of our unique three bedroom, double storey penthouses so it is disppointing to learn of the issues you encountered. Thank you for highlighting these though as it has allowed our housekeeping and maintenance teams to undertake a thorough fix up of the issues mentioned.

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Room was lovely. As little noise as is possible in a city motel. The young ladies I spoke to at reception were great but there was a lady in her late 30s that looked very grumpy. Both were free when I arrived but I walked past her because the other lady was smiling and friendly. Would recommend this hotel and would gladly stay here again

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewdeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi AndrewdeG,

Thanks for your review of your recent stay with us, it is pleasing to hear you had an enjoyable time and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#67 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#75 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#30 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#89 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Park

Property: Mantra on the Park
Address: 333 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Park is centrally located in Melbourne's CBD. This fantastic Apartment hotel is minutes from theatres, fashionable restaurants and the famous shopping precinct offering spectacular views of the beautiful Carlton Gardens or city skyline. Mantra on the Park is an apartment style property consisting of self-contained one and two bedroom apartments. All rooms are spacious and offer private balconies, spectacular city skyline or scenic garden views, air-conditioning, full kitchen and laundry facilities, and lounge and dining areas. Foxtel is also available in all apartments. Guests of Mantra on the Park can enjoy hotel facilities including a 24 hour reception desk, concierge and porter service, evening room service, valet laundry service and tour desk. Leisure facilities include an indoor heated pool, sauna and gymnasium. Mantra on the Park also offers an onsite dining venue, The Terrace Restaurant Bar and Grill which offers full buffet breakfast daily, a la carte dinner, all day room service, coffee, light meals and snacks. We also offer the convenience of a full minibar in all apartments. Mantra on the Park is an idyllic accommodation choice for travellers who wish to enjoy all Melbourne has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Park Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On The Park Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing