We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to get out of this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flinders Backpackers
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Overall first impression was ok until I made it to my floor (5); by the smell of it I am guessing that the "No Smoking" rule is optional. The smoke smell in this place is horrendous, even in the shower you cam smell a disgusting mixture of cigarette and pot smoke.

The rooms look nothing like the pictures posted online, they are poorly lit and dirty and the noise from inside the hostel is worse than the noise from the street below.

I have only been here for 3 hours and will be looking for another place to stay tomorrow. Do not waste your money on this place, spend the extra few dollars and stay somewhere that is not completly disgusting. Out of several hostels I have stayed in, this is by far the worst.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissN_R2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed here in April in a double room. Was the cheapest hostel I could find in the city. The room was clean, as was all the communal areas I used, kitchen and toilet/showers were cleaned on a regular daily basis. There was evidence that there has been some issues within the hostel (as other reviews show) but the hostel was being refirbed in these areas :) Perfect, cheap central accom for Melb! Would reccomend

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyG19925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed here for around 2 weeks and was lucky to be placed in a 4-bed female dorm with nice solo travellers. They are usually young people from other regions of australia/ other countries, e.g. Sydney, Taiwan, France, Switzerland etc, here to do part-time work & travel or those on RTW trips. Most of them spent 1-3 nights in this place.

The toilet on the level that I was staying at had no hot water, so went down to another level for shower. Shared toilet cleanliness was ok.

There's a shared kitchen, and a common room with sofas etc at the check-in counter level. A few of my friends spent the night on the couches after coming back from a late night event cuz there was no trams/ trains runnning. Free cereal with milk/ toast with jam breakfast daily as well, if you wake up in time. Cheap set meals in the evenings at the bar downstairs too, but I didn't try.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wallflower69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in a private room with ensuite at Flinders for 3 nights. The place it self is clean, spacious and tidy but the walls don't hold out any sound and it's almost impossible to sleep on a Friday/ Saturday night. The bar on the 2nd floor(?) and the one in the next building over is extremely loud and we could hear the bass till the very early hours of the morning, not to mention every door opening and closing on the entire floor.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miniminmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

It was clean, but not very special. Nice to have a bar downstairs. Staff not really helpful.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

this place was unbelievably disgusting, stuff stolen, horrible staff, bed bugs, filthy kitchen and toilets. any complaints to management were met with "s***happens get over it" such a horrid place. don't GO there

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Maybe I caught them at the wrong time, but this really was an awful experience. Messy, unorganized. Average staff. Noisy, and dirty facilities. Apart from its prime location (close to fast food, public transport, southbank etc.), The Joint bar was probably the most enjoyable part, and even that was better before the backpackers hooked onto it. Stay as last resort, like I did. Oh, and I can't stress enough, secure your belongings. People where in and out all hours of the night/early morning, and I had my phone stolen, of charge, right next too me...

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bawdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 147 in Melbourne
623 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#31 of 147 in Melbourne
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#19 of 147 in Melbourne
421 reviews
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#107 of 147 in Melbourne
151 reviews
Central Business District
Discovery Melbourne
Discovery Melbourne
#110 of 147 in Melbourne
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flinders Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flinders Backpackers

Address: 35 Elizabeth St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 147 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: £18 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flinders Backpackers is located in the heart of Melbourne CBD, which makes it the perfect location for every traveller! Every guest gets a FREE breakfast with make your own PANCAKES every morning to start his or her day off right. We have a HUGE common area for guest to enjoy with a NEW Movie room with a 70" TV and endless movie selection, FREE pool table and ping-pong table and a fully equipped kitchen with walk-in cool room. Staying with us will have you living amongst Melbourne's funky cafe and shopping district while only being a few minutes walk away from Flinders Station, South Bank and Federation Square. We offer great value accommodation across seven floors with 2, 3 and 4 bed dormitory rooms, twin and doubles private rooms all with shared bathroom facilities. After a day of exploring what Melbourne has to offer come home to some great events including bingo with great prizes, trivia, movie night with free popcorn and free meal nights. No free Wi-Fi but some of the cheapest Internet around. Our rooms: Every dorm room has individual security lockers, fan, secure card entry, linen, pillows and blankets provided. Towels are also available for hire. Please take note before booking: All guests must have international government issued photo ID in the form of a driver's license or passport and a credit card at time of check in All guests must be 18 years or older. Sorry no children. Flinders Backpackers is in the heart of the busy CBD. As such, guests may be disturbed by noise due to trams, traffic, and people on the busy streets surrounding the hostel. Friday and Saturday night's guests may also be disturbed by noise from the bar in the basement level ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flinders Station Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing