We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a great pub-style venue”
Review of Lamaro's Hotel

Lamaro's Hotel
Reserve with
Lamaro's Hotel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,044 of 4,023 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$76
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Welcome to Lamaro's Hotel, South Melbourne's favourite pub. We're all about classic dishes done just right with the best of local produce. Gather your friends and family and come in to see us! We're always glad to see you.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food in a great pub-style venue”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We had a private dining room function for about 20 people and the food and service were both excellent. The menu had a great selection, as did the wine list. Not overly priced either... it was good value for great food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    19
    11
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Food - Best Waygu Ever”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Food was awesome and I highly recommend the Waygu. Melts in your mouth. Also the deserts were to die for.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DAYRlDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We ate here last night 5 of us, I made the booking through Dimmi got a confirmation email, unfortunately Dimmi didnt advise the venue of our booking so in essence on my husbands birthday we didnt have a booking, HOWEVER Lamaros were wonderful thank you Stella, they fitted us in and made us feel so welcome the food was sublime, the service from all was terrific friendly, imformative without intruding a perfect birthday dinner and evening. I would without doubt eat here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ParisMatch_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“So pleased with our choice...”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We chose to celebrate my 50th birthday at Lamaro's a couple of weeks back and were so pleased we made this choice. We wanted a fairly small, intimate dinner so booked the Wine Room which held our 23 guests comfortably. Although we come from Melbourne originally we live in Sydney now so needed to make all the arrangements remotely and just trust it would be ok on the night. However, having been to Lamaro's previously I wasn't worried and had no need to be as the room was perfect and only required us to provide our own flowers to add a personal touch otherwise we were more than happy with the room as it was. The staff were fantastic, particularly the person assigned to look after us on the night whose name I never got I'm afraid but would like to thank her for her attention and service. She looked after everyone so well! The food was amazing with all our guests commenting on the menu choices and standard. The staff were also happy to accommodate our requirement of pre dinner drinks served in a roped off area of the bar before we sat down for dinner. Basically nothing was too much trouble either during the booking/preparation stage or during the night itself. Thanks to all - I will definitely be back for my 60th!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great venue”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This is Melbourne's best "gastro pub" , 5 star food, extensive wine list, great atmosphere and friendly owners & staff.. A bit of an institution that has stood the test of time. Can be a bit of a pick up joint on Friday nights but not intrusive.. A bit of a menu change soon would be good though guys.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boppojr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lamaro's Hotel also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Lamaro's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing