We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Causeway 353 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Causeway 353 Hotel
Ranked #84 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Switzerland
Level Contributor
244 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Go for the location”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

The strong point of the hotel is its central location.
It’s fairly characterless, but chose it for clean, comfortable, spacious reasons.
Breakfast is very good with nice Continental selection.
There was a mix up with our room (we were given a smoking room), but the reception handled the situation easily and politely – that is always the mark of well trained staff.
There were a couple of maintenance issues (spa bath short circuited electricity), which I informed them of and I hope they have addressed.
Excellent value for money.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    545
    173
    60
    40
See reviews for
134
468
72
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Arrived at hotel early, room was ready, staff friendly and knowledgeable, room clean and airy.
As others have said, beds are not "king" but 2 singles pushed together and the sheets are too small. there were a lot of people in the hotel,but we didn't notice any noise. at weekends Equitable lane is a dingy little thoroughfare between Bourke and Little Bourke Sts, but during the week it is a thriving lane full of cafes and coffee shops. Having breakfast included in price (booked through Hotel Club and quite cheap) was fantastic, cereal, fruit, youghurts, pastry and toast a good start to the day - without spending an extra $30 a couple on breakfast!
The location of this hotel is fantastic, so close to everything - trams, railway, federation square, shops....... Will be staying here again!

Room Tip: we were on 3rd floor and there was a bit of outside noise, but not any that worried us, we looked ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny6102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

A friend and I stayed here for 1 night only. It was meant to be a just a "rest stop" as we were in Melbourne to participate in "Run Melbourne", then go shopping and dining in the CBD.
The staff were efficient enough during check in and check out. The room was clean and comfortable, and was of a level to be expected for the low price we paid.

The Continental Breakfast was a big disappointment. The only floor staff did not greet or acknowledge me when I entered, even when we were face to face in the hallway, no smiles at all! There was no hot water for my tea, and when I alerted a staff member, she very rudely instructed me on how to operate the urn. I know how to operate urns and kettles! There was simply no water in it. She did not believe me, until she tried to operate it herself. She then brought out some hot water in a jug, and placed it on the counter, without even looking at me No apologies, no acknowledgement of her abruptness and rudeness. So that ruined my breakfast.

The Night Receptionist was kind to start with, but ended up very rude at the end. I asked for a complimentary bottle of water, and he kindly gave me one in the evening. When I asked for another one in the morning, he very rudely said, "No, you already had a bottle, you are not getting another one!" in a very condescending tone, in front of other staff and other guests, which embarrassed me. So that ruined my morning.

The only good thing I have to say about this hotel is that the room was cheap, but there are many other cheap hotels with tactful, courteous staff. Therefore, I would not go back to this hotel and I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Pick a room in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mango_Villa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
893 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 675 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The East Coast is expensive these days and getting that quality hotel for a good price is difficult in the high season.

This hotel has its charms located close to the center of the city. The Yarra river, Casino, Federation Square, shopping, and night life are all within walking distance.
The hotel is located in an alley that has many coffee shops to sit outside or catch a breakfast.
I recommend you skip the free continental breakfast and just eat in the alleyway. The breakfast is great if you are a penny pincher but the coffee shops serve great food.

The hotel rooms are grey blocks with not much of a view on most of the windows expect office space. This is part of the price of the hotel. If you want river views you have to pay for river views. The hotel lobby is modern in and the rooms are modern looking too. There is a full bath located in the rooms.

There is really no air flow in the room. You could not dry any clothing if you tried.
There is guest laundry and wireless available in the hotel. The restaurant/lounge is decent but there is much more to explore in the city.

This is a decent hotel if you are not claustrophobic. You get what you pay for. When the Great Ocean Road beckons you really only need a quiet, clean, place, with a comfortable bed in a reasonable location.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room with a view on the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Some of the staff were not really with it. The room was not made up on our second day, water and milk were not replenished after the first night of three. The rooms are modern and with big comfortable beds but the sheets are too small for the beds.Bizarrre. The bathrooms are nice, clean and modern. The internet is wireless but comes and goes - ok for the odd mail home but that is all. It is well placed for eating areas and tourist attractions. The rooms have absolutely no view you are 10 feet away from the office block across the alley.The air con is unobtrusive but you long to open a window. The breakfast is not great. Sliced toast, a bit of fruit and some cereal. Sliced, processed cheese and processed ham.

Room Tip: I think the are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank old_anselmian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I stayed here in 2010 with my partner, it was the first time we've had a holiday together as a couple, i picked this hotel based on location and thought it looked nice from the pictures.

The hotel exerior and interior is nice, enjoyed our stay although there is only 1 thing that i think need improvement.. Room service- They advised us to leave our plates outside of the room by our door when we've finished and they will come collect it, (i rang to let them know) the person said that they will send someone 'now' BUT it was still there the next morning!! so i rang again and got excuses.. The hotel was quiet, so i dont know why it took them so long..

Apart from that i enjoyed it, i love the alley way and cafes leading to the hotel foyer, and the tram being right outside of the hotel to the right..

Room Tip: Get a room with a view otherwised you will be looking right out to the other buildingl
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in February 2012. The hotel is modern and built to a high standard. The rooms are smart if slightly severe, with white walls and dark brown furnishings. Our room was clean and everything worked. The location is excellent, just a couple of minutes walk from the shopping arcades, and quiet, on a lane between Collins Street and Little Collins Street. We didn't use the hotel restaurant/coffee shop which is in the basement and slightly gloomy, but there is no need to since there is a great choice of wonderful places to eat nearby. The staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful and reception was manned at 3am when we arrived from the airport. The fitted wardrobe in our room was remarkably (and unneccessarily) small, so we couldn't unpack properly and lived partly out of our suitcases. The bed was comfortable. I would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#125 of 158 in Melbourne
339 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#103 of 158 in Melbourne
593 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#89 of 158 in Melbourne
594 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway 353 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway 353 Hotel

Property: Causeway 353 Hotel
Address: 353 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Causeway 353 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular 4 star hotels in Melbourne CBD, Causeway 353 Hotel is ideally located on Little Collins Street. Close to shopping and the corporate offices, the hotel is equally accommodating to both leisure and corporate visitors alike.Positioned amongst an extensive array of international eateries, cafes and quirky shops, Causeway 353 Hotel offers you an opportunity to experience the best of Melbourne's shopping right at your doorstep. Bourke Street Mall is within walking distance offering an assortment of retail icons such as Myer, David Jones and Zara department stores plus much more! The close proximity of public transport makes getting around town or visiting Melbourne's attractions easy, with both trams and trains departing nearby regularly. Entertainment and sporting venues such as The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Etihad Stadium, Crown Casino, Princess Theatre, Regent Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria, Eureka Tower, Melbourne Gaol, and Melbourne Aquarium are all easily accessible on foot, whilst it takes only minutes on a tram or train to visit attractions such Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and the Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit. Shopping destinations such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and the DFO South Wharf shopping centre are just a quick tram ride away.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.Causeway 353 Hotel is contemporary in style, fitted with modern facilities, designed with a rich warm decor with an ambience of comfort. The hotel offers 142 rooms comprising of Deluxe King and Twin Rooms, Spa Rooms and Deluxe Suites. All rooms feature an LCD TV with select Foxtel channels, in-room safe, en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, minibar, ironing facilities, as well as wired and wireless internet access (at a charge). Amongst the other facilities within the Hotel, a fully equipped gym and steam room are available on the 2nd Floor along with a separate business centre with internet access and printing facilities. Causeway 353 Hotel also provides a 24 hour reception and tour desk, as well as a guest laundry. Continental buffet breakfast is served daily from 6.30A.M. to 10.30A.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Causeway 353 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway 353 Melbourne
Hotel Causeway 353

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing