We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central location”
Review of Causeway 353 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Causeway 353 Hotel
Ranked #93 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Have just spent a night at this centally located hotel. Just off little Collin street close to all that is great in Melbourne. Close to all the shopping you could want, so many eating spots from coffee shops to fine dining. The hotel reception is efficient. The rooms clean, beds comfortable and the room even had a microwave if you wanted to heat food in your room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank arawes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

573 - 579 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

I am an ex-Melbournian and know the city well but had never heard of this particular hotel. Travelling for work I typically I stay in some of the better known 4 or 5 star hotels but I had trouble finding something available (a number of conferences were on) in that particular area. So I thought I would try Causeway 353 as it was well situated and had received good reviews. Upon arrival I was very pleasantly surprised. The reception was very modern and professional and the staff were extremely warm, welcoming and helpful.
I was staying only one night mid-week but managed to get a really good last minute deal for a king deluxe room. The staff had upgraded me to a spa suite which was another very nice surprise. This suite is a corner room with lots of space and a king size bed. The views are nothing to speak of (as they look out either over the lane or other buildings) but I wasn't there for the views. The bathroom with the spa bath was large and very modern.
Overall I thought it was as good as the many other mainstream hotels I've stayed in.
The only slightly questionable aspect is that the hotel entrance is situated in a laneway off Little Collins Street. During the day this laneway is filled with little cafes and is bustling. Of an evening however, all (except one little pizza place) are closed and it is quite daunting as a single female walking down there. In addition, I requested an early morning wake up call which never came - luckily I had set my iphone alarm so I didn't oversleep.
But I would definitely recommend it and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend the spa suites as they are situated in the corner and are very roomy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yiannaki-and-PP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Basic room but comfortable and clean but was bit stuffy and bathroom basin in awkward position. Staff were very friendly and helpful. In a good location. Very quiet which was great. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is in a fabulous location close to shopping,trams and restaurants. We walked to the Art Gallery and Queen Victoria Markets. The bed was comfy and our spa bath was fabulous. The thing that troubles me still...they serviced our rooms late at around 3pm and we had been out and wanted to rest as it was winter, so that was really annoying. The cleaner cleaned our cups and glasses in the bathroom sink!!!!.... and i didnt see him with a tea towel so im not sure what he dried them with. The next day i told the girl we'd do it ourself but we needed a tea towel to dry them...she gave me 2 facewashers...kind of ruined the experience and im not sure this practise is even allowed. yucky.

Room Tip: Apart from the dishes thing, the hotel was good. Breakfast average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is in a great spot,just around the corner from the Bourke St.Mall.The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful with any queries we had.Short stroll to tram stop.The interior could do with carpet cleaning an a lick of paint.The breakfast was very enjoyable with any amount of things to eat.Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueboy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel has a great location only a short walk to Emporium and eateries. It was very clean with basic facilities. I was very happy with my stay even though the room was small I was grateful for the cleanliness and location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassidy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The service level from staff ranged from nonchalant to down right rude, the shower was so mouldy you couldn't see the grout anymore and a maintenance item (in the name of a blown light globe in the bathroom) that delayed our check in for 7 hours still wasn't fixed when we checked out 5 days later. I have emailed the hotel to try to give them feedback about our stay and keeping with the level of service we received whilst staying at the hotel, we have not had a response. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#112 of 161 in Melbourne
657 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#137 of 161 in Melbourne
368 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#72 of 161 in Melbourne
5,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#75 of 161 in Melbourne
1,126 reviews
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway 353 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway 353 Hotel

Address: 353 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £74 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Causeway 353 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular 4 star hotels in Melbourne CBD, Causeway 353 Hotel is ideally located on Little Collins Street. Close to shopping and the corporate offices, the hotel is equally accommodating to both leisure and corporate visitors alike.Positioned amongst an extensive array of international eateries, cafes and quirky shops, Causeway 353 Hotel offers you an opportunity to experience the best of Melbourne's shopping right at your doorstep. Bourke Street Mall is within walking distance offering an assortment of retail icons such as Myer, David Jones and Zara department stores plus much more! The close proximity of public transport makes getting around town or visiting Melbourne's attractions easy, with both trams and trains departing nearby regularly. Entertainment and sporting venues such as The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Etihad Stadium, Crown Casino, Princess Theatre, Regent Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria, Eureka Tower, Melbourne Gaol, and Melbourne Aquarium are all easily accessible on foot, whilst it takes only minutes on a tram or train to visit attractions such Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and the Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit. Shopping destinations such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and the DFO South Wharf shopping centre are just a quick tram ride away.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.Causeway 353 Hotel is contemporary in style, fitted with modern facilities, designed with a rich warm decor with an ambience of comfort. The hotel offers 142 rooms comprising of Deluxe King and Twin Rooms, Spa Rooms and Deluxe Suites. All rooms feature an LCD TV with select Foxtel channels, in-room safe, en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, minibar, ironing facilities, as well as wired and wireless internet access (at a charge). Amongst the other facilities within the Hotel, a fully equipped gym and steam room are available on the 2nd Floor along with a separate business centre with internet access and printing facilities. Causeway 353 Hotel also provides a 24 hour reception and tour desk, as well as a guest laundry. Continental buffet breakfast is served daily from 6.30A.M. to 10.30A.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Causeway 353 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway 353 Melbourne
Hotel Causeway 353

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing