We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good as the first time”
Review of Causeway 353 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Causeway 353 Hotel
Ranked #84 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Gymea, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Just as good as the first time”
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Stayed here again beginning of September with my friend. Arriving about 10.30 were were able to check in straight away. Love the location, the staff are very friendly and helpful (we had no remote control for the TV and one was brought up to our room within minutes) and the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Included breakfast is a great start to the day, no need to leave the hotel to find somewhere to eat. Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roselilycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    554
    175
    62
    41
See reviews for
139
476
73
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Hotel is very clean. Staff is friendly. I managed to have an early check-in to the hotel at 10am. Location is great, very convenient. You can find sushi bar, western food and even Asian cuisine just a stone throw away from this hotel. It is also within walking distance to China Town & Federation Square. Breakfast is simple but it’s fine. I won’t hesitate to stay there again when I am in Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennATWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2010

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Stay away asthmatics or those who are revolted by passive smoking.

The rooms are tiny with poor ventilation and windows that don't open. And guess what.. they allow you to smoke! We were greeted into our 6th floor hotel room by a haze of smoke and a dirty looking ashtray. I can't believe that in this day and age where you can't smoke in bars or clubs, you can smoke in a poorly ventilated shoe box like this one.

The staff were not helpful. Advising me that the default room is a smoking room and that they couldn't give us another room.

Rolling around in bed felt like rolling around in an ashtray. The pillows were riddled with day old cigarette smoke. We tried everything to get the smoke out of the room, but the thermostat on 15 degrees, jarred the front door open, but as it turned out, it got smokier as the ventilation system was just pumping smoke from nearby rooms into ours.

Judging by the noises we heard, the cliental are there for an all nighter root. The walls are paper thin. Avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saunder I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

found this hotel great,,clean friendly super comfy bed,s great breaky hotel was lovely & warm,,super close to everything u need,we stayed 4 nts would totaly do it again ,,top little spot

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodylee2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Excellent hotel...Great staff ..Even when we arrived to find our internet booking with booking.com had not gone through, nothing was a hassle and for the mild panic that caused we were instantly upgraded with no questions and no hassles. The rooms were neat and very tidy and the beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. I would come back to this location again and again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank synapsecreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Had a 4 day stay in Melbourne with son to see the sights, watch AFL and relax.
Hotel is located so central that food, entertainment are all in walking distance.
The hotel is in a little side lane off Little Collins St but is well sign posted so easy to find . Room was well presented and all the basics are there. Free breakfast as part of package but limited and dont be too late as first day not much to choose from. Found great little cafe up Little Collins St on other side of Elizabeth, Cafe Segovia(Block Place). Live music and great food made this a night to be remembered.
Used hotel as just a base as Melbourne has so much to do and see
Staff helpful for a late check out as 8 pm flight home

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brendoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winmalee, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We booked this hotel due to other tripadvisor reviews. The location is good, the rooms are fair, and the price is fairly reasonable for city accommodation.

It is really important to note that the entrance is in Equitable Pl, especially if you are seeking it at night.

We had a few incidents that made our stay less than ideal, but these could be rectified fairly simply if the management decided to take action and introduce some quality improvement processes.

CHECKING IN
We arrived late on the Friday night and were very tired since our flight had been cancelled and we had been in transit for a very long time. We waited a long time to be served, despite other staff being available, we were ignored whilst one staff member dealt with a lengthy guest complaint. I think this situation could be improved by training staff to monitor guest arrival more closely, especially when they are expected.

We were advised on check in that our credit card would have a hold put on it, but we were not informed that the hold would take 5-7 days to be released AFTER checking out. We only found this out when we went to use our card after our visit and telephoned to enquire why the hold was still on in. This coule be improved by making other arrangements with their bank or financial institution, or by informing guests of the system.

OUR SUITE
We were slightly disappointed by the deluxe spa suite, as this was our anniversary weekend away, however we had noted other reviewers comments about the bath with the jets not being the type of spa we would normally expect, so we took that as a given. However, the bath was dirty, with a dead silverfish and some pubic hairs. So that was disappointing. The next day, it was clean. The two of us could just fit in the bath, but my husband had to take care not to sit too close to the wall end. I would have appreciate some bath salts or bath stuff to put in the water. The jets did not work at first, but we persisted and finally got the spa to do its spa bubbling thing.

The bed was really comfortable, which is a very important point for us.

Our room (870) was very dark with the blockout curtains drawn, so if you need to rise early I would suggest opening them up to get a bit of light. Even with the curtains opened in the morning it is still rather glum.

There was a very loud humming noise each morning, which we found disturbing. It may have been an electrical noise outside the building but it was quite intrusive. We identified that it was NOT the refrigerator in the room, as we first suspected.

I found the hair dryer after a lot of hunting around. It was located in the top drawer of the closet.

The television provides only the free to air stations.

BREAKFAST
the breakfast was very basic. There are 3 choices of cereal; sultana bran, nutrigrain and plain bran flakes. There is yoghurt, fruit, pastries and toast. If you want a hot breakfast it costs extra.

POINT TO NOTE, the basement is only accessible by 2 of the lifts. We were not told this when we checked in, so found out the hard way. This could be improved by training staff to inform guests when they check in.

FALSE EVACUATION ALARMS
At 8am on the Saturday morning we were disturbed from our bed with an alarm informing us to evacuate the building. We entered the hallway and saw all the other guests' heads poked out the door and we all wondered together what the problem was.

FIRE STAIRS BLOCKED
Without hesitation I headed straight for the closest fire doors and we both proceeded to move down the stairs to the ground. However, we were stopped at either the 3rd or 2nd floor, as the stairwell was barricaded by a steel grate carefully attached to the walls, so we could not get out. Our only option was to re-enter the building from that floor (we were very relieved that the fire door was not locked from the inside of the stairwell) and walk down the long hallway seeking other stairs. We found the other stairs and were able to successfully get out to the street.

We were informed by another guest that it was a false alarm, so we entered the building and used the lift. Another guest in the lift informed us that a fellow guest told them that this was a regular occurrence. We wondered why.

ANOTHER FALSE ALARM
On the Sunday evening, after a long day sight seeing, I showered and got into bed and took a nap. I was awakened by the evacuation alarm again. I waited this time, for it to stop, but it continued for a long time, so I thought it best to get dressed and evacuate. This time I used the stairs at the other end of the building. Many other guests were travelling down these stairs INCLUDING two elderly frail ladies; one with a walking stick. I felt very sorry for them believing that this too would be a false alarm.

Many guests were assembled in the lane way and many were very unhappy. It was again a false alarm.

The reception staff were bombarded with guest complaints and we did overhear the explanation from staff that the alarm is often triggered by guests showering with the bathroom door open; the steam triggering the alarm.

My improvement suggestion for this is to 1. place a sign on each bathroom door to advise guests that the door should be shut or alarm may be triggered or 2. to install exhaust fans in the bathrooms, or 3. to fix the alarm system so it is triggered by smoke instead of steam or smoke (not sure if this is possible).

However, the BIGGEST issue for me is the blocking of the fire stairs. I did ask the reception staff upon checking out why the stairs were blocked and the reply I got was "I didn't know they were".

CUSTOMER SERVICE
Another very minor issue for us was that we ordered takeaway on the Sunday night after our evacuation adventures. The food was delivered, but unfortunately we did not get any cutlery. We phoned the reception desk to ask if there was anywhere we could obtain cutlery for our take away dinner and it took a long time for any one to answer, Finally someone answered and abruptly informed me I must telephone extension 317. I did this, and nobody answered, despite me waiting for 5 minutes. Meanwhile my husband went to the basement where the breakfast room was and obtained some. By the time he returned and I was still waiting for extn 317 to answer, I hung up, very disappointed that the reception person could not have suggested we collect some from the basement.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyleetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#128 of 159 in Melbourne
346 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#105 of 159 in Melbourne
603 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#93 of 159 in Melbourne
694 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#65 of 159 in Melbourne
4,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway 353 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway 353 Hotel

Property: Causeway 353 Hotel
Address: 353 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Causeway 353 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular 4 star hotels in Melbourne CBD, Causeway 353 Hotel is ideally located on Little Collins Street. Close to shopping and the corporate offices, the hotel is equally accommodating to both leisure and corporate visitors alike.Positioned amongst an extensive array of international eateries, cafes and quirky shops, Causeway 353 Hotel offers you an opportunity to experience the best of Melbourne's shopping right at your doorstep. Bourke Street Mall is within walking distance offering an assortment of retail icons such as Myer, David Jones and Zara department stores plus much more! The close proximity of public transport makes getting around town or visiting Melbourne's attractions easy, with both trams and trains departing nearby regularly. Entertainment and sporting venues such as The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Etihad Stadium, Crown Casino, Princess Theatre, Regent Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria, Eureka Tower, Melbourne Gaol, and Melbourne Aquarium are all easily accessible on foot, whilst it takes only minutes on a tram or train to visit attractions such Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and the Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit. Shopping destinations such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and the DFO South Wharf shopping centre are just a quick tram ride away.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.Causeway 353 Hotel is contemporary in style, fitted with modern facilities, designed with a rich warm decor with an ambience of comfort. The hotel offers 142 rooms comprising of Deluxe King and Twin Rooms, Spa Rooms and Deluxe Suites. All rooms feature an LCD TV with select Foxtel channels, in-room safe, en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, minibar, ironing facilities, as well as wired and wireless internet access (at a charge). Amongst the other facilities within the Hotel, a fully equipped gym and steam room are available on the 2nd Floor along with a separate business centre with internet access and printing facilities. Causeway 353 Hotel also provides a 24 hour reception and tour desk, as well as a guest laundry. Continental buffet breakfast is served daily from 6.30A.M. to 10.30A.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Causeway 353 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway 353 Melbourne
Hotel Causeway 353

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing