We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Reception staff rude and un-helpful” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Causeway 353 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Causeway 353 Hotel
Ranked #83 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Reception staff rude and un-helpful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

Great hotel for its location. The rooms were fantastic, yet the staff were the rudest and most un-helpful i have ever come across. We were refused a late check-out twice, basically with the staff member saying it was 'tough'??!! Too many guests wanted it, so we wasnt allowed, and he didnt really care.
No greeting, or even a 'good morning' or 'hello' when you walked past, politeness goes a long way in my book, even more so when your spending a slight fortune in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelle0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    538
    173
    58
    39
See reviews for
131
461
71
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

We stayed 2 nights over a weekend and had a room on the 7th floor. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, thought being a king size was a bit larger than we needed.
There was a spa bath in the room which was good to have after a hard day's shopping and sightseeing.
The only thing I didn't like was that you couldn't alter the room temperature. It was programmed for 16 deg. which is fine during the day, but a bit cool for the evening and early morning in winter. Also the room felt stuffy as there was no ventilation.
Reception staff were very helpful to us as first time visitors and gave us great information about shopping and how to get around cheaply with day tickets on public transport.
The restaurant in the basement has a nice atmosphere and the food is good.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notagain1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

After using this site for travel advice many times, I'm returning the favour with my first submission.
From Melb Airport we caught Skyway Shuttle bus ($16) to their terminal and then their mini bus to our hotel.
We stayed at Causeway 353 for 4 nights. As others have mentioned, be aware that this hotel's entrance is located in Equitable Place (a laneway between Little Collins & Collins Sts) and is reached only by foot. The hotel's facade is only a few feet wide and is easily missed but look up for their green sign. Also be aware that there are at least 3 Causeway Hotels in Melb CBD but only one '353'.
A $50 amount was taken from our credit card upon check-in but a credit is issued if no charges incurred. Reception staff were friendly and no hold-ups upon arrival.
Our 'King' room was on 2nd floor and whilst room and bathroom was small it was adequate as we were out all day. Good curtains and quiet so I (a light sleeper) found it easy to sleep. Comfortable bed and pillows helped!
Room contained aircon, safe, robes, slippers, hairdryer, complimentary water, microwave, iron and board, complimentary newspaper every day,
Shower (no bath in our room) was hot and toiletries (incl shampoo & conditioner)provided.
I locked my handbag in safe before going to breakfast every morning. One morning a maid entered our room while we were at breakfast despite the 'Privacy Required' notice we had left on our locked door. But I think this was probably due to language problems as housekeeping staff had little english but were very pleasant (plus the maid had noticed us leaving).
Our door had no security chain on the inside which I would have preferred.
Computers & printer on 2nd floor (fee payable) and it was mostly empty, so nice & quiet to use.
Good continental buffet breakfast (catch lift to basement). Food provided was plenty for us but al a carte is available.
Many cafes, restaurants, shops, Flinder's Str Railway Station & small supermarkets in the vicinity.
Easy to access various sites by either free city circle tram (no 35) or free red tourist shuttle. Obtain map of routes from Tourist Info at Bourke Str Mall or Federation Square etc. If you have time (or it's raining), ride the entire route (11/2 hours) on shuttle bus as the commentary is good and audible.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdeg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

Stayed here for 4 days, good location, very clean and tidy, service at the front desk left a little to be desired though, breakfast average. Overall good stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineinNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

Great location, you cant go wrong. Also close to transport and shops on Collins st. And Fed Sq. In a nice quiet laneway.
Excellent spot!
Things we didnt like was the rooms are cramped. Also, as another traveller pointed out its not airy. If you're claustrophobic, you wont like it. Wi-fi didnt work in the hotel room and internet usage was quite expensive.
We may not wanna come back here as there are a lot of other hotels to try.
I Will recommend for a nice, clean, cheap hotel, though.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qartik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gymea, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Stayed here again beginning of September with my friend. Arriving about 10.30 were were able to check in straight away. Love the location, the staff are very friendly and helpful (we had no remote control for the TV and one was brought up to our room within minutes) and the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Included breakfast is a great start to the day, no need to leave the hotel to find somewhere to eat. Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roselilycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Hotel is very clean. Staff is friendly. I managed to have an early check-in to the hotel at 10am. Location is great, very convenient. You can find sushi bar, western food and even Asian cuisine just a stone throw away from this hotel. It is also within walking distance to China Town & Federation Square. Breakfast is simple but it’s fine. I won’t hesitate to stay there again when I am in Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KennATWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#123 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#99 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#89 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#64 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway 353 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway 353 Hotel

Property: Causeway 353 Hotel
Address: 353 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Causeway 353 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular 4 star hotels in Melbourne CBD, Causeway 353 Hotel is ideally located on Little Collins Street. Close to shopping and the corporate offices, the hotel is equally accommodating to both leisure and corporate visitors alike.Positioned amongst an extensive array of international eateries, cafes and quirky shops, Causeway 353 Hotel offers you an opportunity to experience the best of Melbourne's shopping right at your doorstep. Bourke Street Mall is within walking distance offering an assortment of retail icons such as Myer, David Jones and Zara department stores plus much more! The close proximity of public transport makes getting around town or visiting Melbourne's attractions easy, with both trams and trains departing nearby regularly. Entertainment and sporting venues such as The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Etihad Stadium, Crown Casino, Princess Theatre, Regent Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria, Eureka Tower, Melbourne Gaol, and Melbourne Aquarium are all easily accessible on foot, whilst it takes only minutes on a tram or train to visit attractions such Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and the Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit. Shopping destinations such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and the DFO South Wharf shopping centre are just a quick tram ride away.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.Causeway 353 Hotel is contemporary in style, fitted with modern facilities, designed with a rich warm decor with an ambience of comfort. The hotel offers 142 rooms comprising of Deluxe King and Twin Rooms, Spa Rooms and Deluxe Suites. All rooms feature an LCD TV with select Foxtel channels, in-room safe, en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, minibar, ironing facilities, as well as wired and wireless internet access (at a charge). Amongst the other facilities within the Hotel, a fully equipped gym and steam room are available on the 2nd Floor along with a separate business centre with internet access and printing facilities. Causeway 353 Hotel also provides a 24 hour reception and tour desk, as well as a guest laundry. Continental buffet breakfast is served daily from 6.30A.M. to 10.30A.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Causeway 353 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway 353 Melbourne
Hotel Causeway 353

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing