We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never saw staff smile and Unfriendly. Go elsewhere.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Causeway 353 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Causeway 353 Hotel
Ranked #85 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never saw staff smile and Unfriendly. Go elsewhere.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

Hello ! I just feel compelled to let you know about this hotel. I have been to melb before and stayed at some nice hotels there, always wanting to try something different I stayed at the 353.

Our room was a King Superior which were two beds pushed together. We could not cuddle in the middle otherwise we would fall down the crack. Very Uncomfortable to be in the middle. Our room was along a hall way, about 4 doors down from the lift, however if someone from the 16 rooms on our floor was to use it, the lift was so loud it would wake you from your sleep!

If you wanted to hear a "hello" Or "have a nice day" or "I hope you enjoyed your stay" or any sort of greeting I would advise not to come here. Front desk staff were not friendly or even crack a smile. I made it a game to try to get someone to smile. My score was Me 1 smile them 9 non smiles :).

Breakfast was included. Toast and cereal. Nothing to write home about.

The good thing about this hotel was its location. In the heart of everything. The view from my window was concrete.

I would also recommend anyone going to Melb to use the sky bus. To book a skybus back to the airport you need to book through the reception. I did that. They booked it but didn't tell me where it would pick us up from. So I asked on another day who told me it was on the corner, another person told me it was on the corer but across the road!!! I had to ask around 5 people to get one straight answer.

I have not written a review before and have been to a fair few places. I am not unfriendly and I don't expect the best. I do expect something around for what I paid for. I felt I was at a hostel more than a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geeky_ninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    546
    173
    60
    40
See reviews for
134
469
72
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

I was very impressed with this hotel. The service was good. The room & bathroom were exactly as advertised. The room came with a hairdryer, iron, bar fridge, tea/coffee making facilities & a microwave. The king size bed is great & has good quality linen. The complimentary breakfast is more than sufficient. The best part is the location which is within walking distance to so many fabulous shops & restaurants as well as most of the city's attractions including the Arts Centre, the Aquarium, the Yarra River, Federation Square & Flinders Street Station. It's also nice and quiet making it easy to get a good night's sleep. The only downside is that there was only 1 window which didn't open so it can get a bit stuffy but there is air-con which was great. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capetownjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

My husband and I were on our honeymoon and Melbourne was our first stop. The hotel is in a small alley (Melbourne has a lot of small alley filled with shops and cafes). The lobby is small but it does its job. We really liked the location of the hotel since it's VERY centralized to the main areas. Flinders Station, Federation Square, Chinatown, Elizabeth Street, CircleTram are all within a few blocks. Right outside of the hotel are cafes and shops that you can get food from if you don't know where you are going yet.

The room is not big or well decorated but it does its job. Our view outside of the window was the next door bldg, which we didn't mind since we didn't stay at the hotel that long during the day. The bathroom was pretty big with a glass wall as the shower door (no curtains). They do come in and change the linens each day with no hassle and everything was cleaned and neat. Limited channels on TV but we weren't there to watch TV anyway.

Overall, I liked it a lot just because of it's convenient location.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nobodyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

No signs, really hard to find, even with a GPS - The entrance is down a dingy alley way. Check in service was really bad and unfriendly. We had to park across the road in a public garage that was only open during the day, and there was no offer to even help us with our bags. Breakfast is in the lowest part of the Hotel, a basement with no windows or character, and only cereals and toast. Overall very unimpressed, the hotel is nothing like it looks on the website

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glynnrieckhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

I stayed at this hotel for four nights on business. The location was sensational. It's literally in the heart of Melbourne's CBD and if you like shopping, like me, it was great. I was so delighted that my room was really quiet and consequently I got a perfect sleep! That is not usual for CBD hotels in Melbourne. The hotel is really modern, just two years old and all amenities are like new. The breakfast was completely adequate and the pastries were delicious. The only criticism of this hotel is that the rooms/furnishings are quite dark, but for the money, comfort and locale, it was fine. I have stayed in quite a few other hotels nearby and this one is right up there in terms of style, comfort and value. I would highly recommend it as great place to stay for a shopping trip with the girls! I will be back and will tell all my friends!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisehod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Causeway for 4 nights on a one month vacation in Australia. We found the hotel staff friendly and efficient. The room was clean and VERY quiet. The breakfast, which came with the room, was good and certainly met our needs. Finding the hotel is not as easy as one might hope and if you are looking for a view, forget this one but we were out wandering every day and enjoyed the quiet of this hotel. The location of the hotel is fabulous. Shopping, restaurants, transportation all right there.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albertameev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

Great hotel for its location. The rooms were fantastic, yet the staff were the rudest and most un-helpful i have ever come across. We were refused a late check-out twice, basically with the staff member saying it was 'tough'??!! Too many guests wanted it, so we wasnt allowed, and he didnt really care.
No greeting, or even a 'good morning' or 'hello' when you walked past, politeness goes a long way in my book, even more so when your spending a slight fortune in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelle0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#126 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#102 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#89 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway 353 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway 353 Hotel

Property: Causeway 353 Hotel
Address: 353 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Causeway 353 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular 4 star hotels in Melbourne CBD, Causeway 353 Hotel is ideally located on Little Collins Street. Close to shopping and the corporate offices, the hotel is equally accommodating to both leisure and corporate visitors alike.Positioned amongst an extensive array of international eateries, cafes and quirky shops, Causeway 353 Hotel offers you an opportunity to experience the best of Melbourne's shopping right at your doorstep. Bourke Street Mall is within walking distance offering an assortment of retail icons such as Myer, David Jones and Zara department stores plus much more! The close proximity of public transport makes getting around town or visiting Melbourne's attractions easy, with both trams and trains departing nearby regularly. Entertainment and sporting venues such as The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Etihad Stadium, Crown Casino, Princess Theatre, Regent Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria, Eureka Tower, Melbourne Gaol, and Melbourne Aquarium are all easily accessible on foot, whilst it takes only minutes on a tram or train to visit attractions such Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and the Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit. Shopping destinations such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and the DFO South Wharf shopping centre are just a quick tram ride away.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.Causeway 353 Hotel is contemporary in style, fitted with modern facilities, designed with a rich warm decor with an ambience of comfort. The hotel offers 142 rooms comprising of Deluxe King and Twin Rooms, Spa Rooms and Deluxe Suites. All rooms feature an LCD TV with select Foxtel channels, in-room safe, en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, minibar, ironing facilities, as well as wired and wireless internet access (at a charge). Amongst the other facilities within the Hotel, a fully equipped gym and steam room are available on the 2nd Floor along with a separate business centre with internet access and printing facilities. Causeway 353 Hotel also provides a 24 hour reception and tour desk, as well as a guest laundry. Continental buffet breakfast is served daily from 6.30A.M. to 10.30A.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Causeway 353 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway 353 Melbourne
Hotel Causeway 353

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing