We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Executive Lounge to savour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #19 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Executive Lounge to savour”
Reviewed 16 April 2011

First review, but a regular trip report writer on a number of FF bulletin boards.

I have been a regular at this property since it opened, as it is a short walk into the botton of Collins Street where most of my client work.

As a Hilton Honors Gold member, I had booked a King Deluxe Room (Cost: $280, less 20% Hilton Premium Club discount). Upon logging into my room the day before to check-in online, was delighted to see that I had received my Gold benefit (upgrade), but not just to the expected King Executive room, but a Relaxation Suite, with access to the Executive Lounge on Level 4 for pre-dinner canapés and drinks, plus breakfast.

This was the first time I'd been upgraded to the Relaxation Suite, one below the Yarra Suite (top of the line for rooms at this property, excluding the apartments).

Entering the room (1702), the lounge room is straight ahead, with an angled corner at left behind a suitable round (work) table, nice space and a TV with a channel changer you don't have to jump on to get working! Bif flat screen TV, 2 sofas and a single chair.

The bathroom is entered off the loune (as well as bedroom), with a walk in shower (from both sides) - very nice! Two types of shower head - rainfall or standard, with separate twist on/off taps - easy to adjust for flow and water heat/cold. There is a separate toilet off the built in robe area.

Great sized bedroom - King bed with 6 pillows of all descriptions on the bed. Brilliant view across to the City.

The service was brilliant in the Exec Lounge - Claire at night, Dolphin in the morning (the Lounge Manager). To me, this is the best Hilton property in Australia. Everything worked - didn't have to ring about anything.

Room Tip: Nice easy 10 minute walk into lower end of CBD
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank QFWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,161
    1,060
    255
    86
    37
See reviews for
467
1,295
205
1,236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (859)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Absolutely fantastic, These guys are doing something right! Great rooms, great prices (online of course), and the staff were exceptional!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collywobbles1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We travelled to Melbourne for an AFL game on a Friday night. We were greeted at check in by a very friendly staff member who gave us the key to our King room with a Yarra View. He was also very helpful when explaining the breakfast and other features of the hotel.

Once we arrived at the room we were met with a fantastic view straight down the Yarra towards the MCG (which we walked to in around 30mins). The electric blockout blinds were barely down all weekend as the view was great day and night.

The interior of the room was fantastic and we loved the open bathroom but also the privacy of sliding doors on both the bathroom and internal toilet entrance. Other features that we enjoyed were the walk in shower and of course the pillow menu and beautiful HIGH bed.

The buffett breakfast was delicious with everything anyone could want. The Saturday morning was a little busy however as there was a large reserved section, but the staff were very helfpul finding a spot for us to sit.

Although the location can seem somewhat isolated it really is no more than a 15 minute walk to most popular tourist areas and the CBD and a 5 min stroll to tram stops. The Hilton South Wharf is a fantastic hotel and will be the hotel of choice for all future trips to Melbourne.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EM023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Gambier, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Recently travelled to Melbourne and stayed at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf in a King Yarra Suite. The staff throughout all areas of the hotel could not have been more accommodating and pleasant. From check-in to the Executive Lounge to the "Magic" service, every request was met with promptness and efficiency.

We were there at a very busy time, the Melbourne F1 Grand Prix, but this did not cause any delay or disruption to any requests or requirements.

This hotel has all the 5 star services you could require, and is in a brilliant location with so much of the city being within a short walk.

Loved the hotel and will definately be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJC71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Attended the SALON MELBOURNE BEAUTY EXPO so the Hilton South Wharf was a natural choice. Hotel is literally 2 mins walk next door. No pool which is usually a pre requisite for me BUT great fitness centre on offer. Room was comfy GIANT plush king size bed (by request at time of booking) modern decor but warm stone floor and vanity stocked with Crabtree & Evelyn bath products vanity complete with an italian designed MAKE UP MIRROR= amazing ! Room service yummy and nothing is too much trouble for the Hilton staff! Did I mention the feather quilt.and truckloads of pillows? The view from my room was the river and near by concrete jungle however it was viewed thru a wall of sheer glass! Your own private observation deck with automated blind. Good size bath.for.soaking those tired.tootsies.after a convention or.decent shopping spree next door. Loved it will be back! Travld alone but do have a 4 year old this hotel very kid friendly will bring my family back to stay and shop!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGorgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2011

During the weekend away with my best girlfriend, we decided to stay at the Hilton South Wharf - due to the great comments on Trip Advisor. We were not let down. It started off questionable when we approached the front desk only to be greated with a condescending tone from a young girl named Rish (if my memory serves me right) which was later recitified by the other staff who were quite friendly with us.

We opted for the Executive Room which provides an amazing view of the City and fantastic staff who were more than happy to go out of their way for us. The exciting part would have to be the pre dinner drinks, with a selection nibbles alongside a selection of wine and sparkling which got our evening started. The staff who were working that evening were extremely friendly and were generally interested in our trip to Melbourne - thank you Claire and Steven. My friend has a number of allergies and is always nervous when eating buffet food, however Quintin who was looking after the buffet was exceptionally helpful and made this a less worrying time for my friend. Whlst breakfast was busy, the staff took the time to stop and greet us as soon as they notcied that we had just arrived. Thank you Teryn.

We will be back for another fantastic time with you.

Room Tip: book an executive room the staff were FANTASTIC!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diamond_Princess9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

We stayed at the Hilton for a conference and the service and staff was excellent. The head conceirge Jarrad went out of his way to help me find my Nokia phone changer. The mattress and pillows were to die for..... BUT do not eat at the Spanish restaurant downstairs..........HORRIBLE . The food was drenshed in oil , the Paella had nothing to do with Paella. The wine list prices are total rip off.....

Room Tip: stay in Hotel do not eat in restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveladdict1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,415 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,261 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#24 of 159 in Melbourne
3,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,124 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
7,725 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#25 of 159 in Melbourne
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing